We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beware the steep drive up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Relais Al Convento
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vezzano Ligure
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville,Ontario Can
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“beware the steep drive up”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed here for three nights. Our room was not as pleasant looking as others however you can tell that a talented decorator has been at work in the hotel. The bed was not at all comfortable and the mattresses need replacement. The shower stall is tiny. The climb up the hill is for confident drivers only and was stressful. Parking is at a nearby lot for free and the pizza across the street was fantastic! The town itself is really quirky and one should definatley go for a wander down the tiny alleys and streets at night. It feels other wordly and is silent! The staff were generally very helpful, breakfast was fine as was dinner. I don't think my friend and I would stay here again if going to Cinque Terra as it required taking the train back and forth and there were limited times for the return train meaning you had to come back when you might not wish to. Exploring the towns of Cinque Terra was great although we saw no hotels we'd prefer to stay at. The hiking is superb.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santafefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    106
    37
    5
    2
See reviews for
29
199
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mo i Rana, Norway
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We were 3 families staying in 3 different rooms one Friday night in June. This hotel is a fantastic gem, lying on a hill close to La Spezia. We traveled around Italy for two weeks and this was the most memorable place we stayed in. The hotel itself is plain and simple, but very original with high quality rooms. All the rooms are differently furnished and shaped. The restaurant on the ground floor is great. We ate a quality dinner in the lovely back garden. After dinner we joined the locals out on the piazza next to the church with a great view over the neighboring allies. The adult’s enjoyed a local beer and the kids were playing ball under the flood light. The hotel can serve as an excellent base for exploring the Cinque Terre national park. There leaves a train from the local train station Vezzano Ligure, 10 minutes away by car, every hour for CT.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingT63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
418 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

I like historical hotels and often book one. Vezzano is a lovely place. But:
1. It is some 25 minutes drive to the center of La Spezia. Or, as we did, 10 min. drive to the train station and then 15 min. to La Spezia
2. We payed 100 Euro p/night in April, which is out of season, the hotel was nearly empty. The breakfast was modest. On my opinion, for 3* it is overpriced
Beware the pizzeria opposite! Both the pizza and vine there are not good.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zeituni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

My family of four (including my 9 and 11 year old daughters) stayed at this converted nunnery for 2 nights.

ROOMS
Large and very clean. Good size bathroom. We had the choice of two rooms and both were very different in appearance but very nice.

SERVICE
The hotel staff could speak enough English to allow basic communication as well as providing advice on visiting local attractions such as getting a train from La Spezia to Cinque Terra rather than driving. Made the trip much easier!

BREAKFAST
Basic but very high quality food and coffee. Beautiful fresh fruit and I will always remember waking up to the smell of the pastries as they were baking in the mornings.

MEALS
We ate in the hotel restaurant both nights. The selection of food is basic but once again the quality very high and the prices very reasonable. 60 eruo for the four of us for mains and desserts.

GETTING THERE
Use your gps. It takes about 10pm minutes to drive from
La Spazia. The main road is twisty but fine. Unfortunately on one trip my gps sent me up a track (not the main road) that was suitable only for a midget on a cross country uni-cycle, I nearly donated my car mirrors to several walls and became adept at reversing at speed on a steep gradient pursued by several descending locals! My wife aged several years on that trip. Do t let this put you off but be aware, main road only!!

VALUE
140 euro and night including breakfast = bargain. Best value on our trip so far!!

NEGATIVE
The room we stayed in only had a very thin cloth curtain that didn't stop much light getting in the room. You may need sleeping masks or drink extra vino.


OVERALL
We will return and could not recommend this hotel enough, great food and atmosphere, quiet and great value. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halide69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We loved this hotel - it took a little while to find it as you have to climb up the mountain which made for some fun driving! When you arrive you can hardly believe that a hotel would be in this little village up this mountain! The views were wonderful, room was very clean and traditional. The local's were nice people and there is a local bar about a minuted walk away were you can sit a watch over the mountain and down on the town of La Spezia. Would love to go back to this hotel - the restaurants food was delicious, just mind out for the grappa! The village/town had it's annual festival on whilst we were there and it was lovely to watch live music and people dancing in the moonlight!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fivercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Such a wonderfully pleasant place to stay. We were there for two nights and the weather was cold and pouring rain. Our room was still bright, warm and cozy. The decor is great - everything is newly renovated with blond wood. The rooms are bright with roomy baths. The staff was very pleasant. You can eat off the floor, it's so clean. And we had a real queen-size bed - it was not two twins pushed together. You can park for free in the town's parking lot, which is right above the hotel. There is not a whole lot to do in Varese Ligure, but it's a nice jumping-off point for other little towns around La Spezia.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VespaGirlNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
340 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We were in the Cinque Terre region for two days and decided to stay in La Spezia area since hotels and BBs in the CT were overpriced. We made a great choice.

Hotel Relais Al Convento is located in Vezzano Ligure, a little village at the end of a two-lane road that leads to the top of a hill. It is close to the CT, Portovenere, La Spezia, and other places on the Ligurian coast. Thee is not much in the village itself, however.

The hotel was spotless and beautiful. Each of the 20 rooms has a different decor and layout. I noticed that some were more spacious than others, but we didn't have a problem at all. Our room had a small balcony with outdoor seating overlooking their garden.

The bed was rather hard (common in Italy), and there were only two pillows. The two chairs in the room were made of wood and not comfortable for relaxing, but that was okay since we were only there at night.

There was a mini refrigerator, which was great, as well as a TV and safe. I don't remember any English channels, but if they had any, it would have been the BBC.

The staff was fantastic and polite. One of the gals carried my suitcase upstairs (There is no lift.) and, at my protest said, "Don't worry, signora. I am strong." What a sweetheart!

The breakfast was okay, and the offerings were not the best. Most of the stuff was pre-packaged or pre-made. However, they did make a good cappuccino.

The one big thing I would add to rate this hotel 5 stars is free wi-fi internet.

By the way. . . . There is one restaurant and one pizza place in Vezzano. The restaurant was attached to Al Convento and is very good.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vezzano Ligure
6.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Portovenere
Grand Hotel Portovenere
#1 of 7 in Porto Venere
387 reviews
3.9 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 22 in La Spezia
1,032 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Florida Lerici
Hotel Florida Lerici
#1 of 18 in Lerici
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia
4.9 mi away
Doria Park Hotel
Doria Park Hotel
#2 of 18 in Lerici
583 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Trigola
La Trigola
#1 of 1 in Santo Stefano di Magra
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Al Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Al Convento

Property: Hotel Relais Al Convento
Address: Vezzano Basso Piazza Regina Margherita 1, 19020 Vezzano Ligure, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > Vezzano Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vezzano Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Relais Al Convento 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Relais Al Convento is situated in the medieval village of Vezzano Ligure, on the hills at the back of the Cinque Terre, only few kilometres away from the wonderful maritime villages of Lerici, San Terenzo and Portovenere, pearls of the Gulf of the Poets. Before the accurate restoration the hotel was an ancient cloister dating back to the XVI century. Today it keeps unchanged the charm and the mysticism of its origins. It has 18 rooms where guests can spend unique and exclusive stays at only 8 km from the sea.It has a check-in area, a private garden, Wi-Fi connection in a common area and restaurant with large choice of Ligurian typical dishes from both land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Relais Al Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Al Convento Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing