We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Relais Al Convento
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vezzano Ligure
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Nice looking hotel. Very good restaurant attached to it. Some of the staff looks really bored, others are nice. What really is horrible is the noise from the churchbells next to the hotel, and the cars and motorbikes driving around. So try to avoid a room with streetview as we did.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank karin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica P, Direttore at Hotel Relais Al Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Sir / Madame,
Thank you for your review and for your appreciation about hotel and restaurant. I am sorry you find the sound of bells annoying … but the country life includes also this. The traffic inside the village is limited but I am sorry if you find it noisy. For city dwellers Vezzano Ligure is even too quiet, but I understand that for people who live in silent areas it could be bothersome to hear cars driving, even if they are few.
Thank you for having been our welcome guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Found this hotel on the internet. It is located in a small village, on a mountain top, and can be seen for miles around. A Winding road leads uphill until you reach the village (and don't follow your GPS when it wants you to turn into the very narrow Mercato lane, continue on the main road to stay sane). The hotel now has added 8 parking spots, where you need a permit. Great!! The house is a former convent and is located behind the church (and Church bell tower) and contains a restaurant (good quality, separate review), a small spa and the hotel with close to 20 rooms and a terrace for coffee or breakfast. Breakfast is small, Italian style. Service is very efficient and friendly. All are very helpful in making reservations or giving information. Since we stayed for a full week, we got a Three beds room, which was perfect since we had a lot of luggage. Room is charming! Bathroom reasonably big and very clean, as all the premises. We ate several times in the village, and used the hotel as a base for our excursions around Liguria, all the way down to the northern part of Toscana, via Lerici, La Spezia, Portovenere, Riomaggiore/Cinque terre and Rapallo/Portofino and the surrounding Mountains. The uphill drive is a challenge the first time but once you get to know the road, it works fine. Village Life is peaceful and enchanting. The atmosphere of the hotel is relaxed and elegant at the same time. I would gladly go back another week!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanochBarbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica P, Direttore at Hotel Relais Al Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear JanochBarbro,
thank you very much for your detailed review: it will be surely helpful to other people who like visiting our area! I am very happy you spent a pleasant stay here at Hotel Al Convento and I hope your journey around Italy was lovely. Thank you again for your kindness and friendliness.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This is a great place! We were a bit suspicious about the hotel when we booked because we thought the name was Hotel Albani (which we could not find on the internet). Had we have known the "real" name we would have seen all of the excellent reviews in TA. In any event, the hotel is located in the tiny village of Vezzano Ligure - way up in the hills. Yes, its a bit of a drive to La Spezia and Cinque Terre but it turned out to be no problem. We absolutely loved walking around the town. The hotel itself was very clean with large bedrooms. The bathrooms were good as well. We were lucky enough to have a door that opened to the back - overlooking the awesome mountains. The staff were all great. Very helpful. They even started breakfast for us at 7AM on the day we departed, instead of the usual 8 AM opening! There is no elevator at the hotel so there are certainly quite a few steps to walk up with heavy bags - but you'll get over it. Breakfast was great with lots of selections. Great coffee too. There is a nice balcony on the main floor that is a great place to enjoy a glass of wine and meet the other guests before dinner. Speaking of dinner, you don't have to go far as the restaurant right next door is fantastic. Authentic local food (great pesto) is served each night. Great prices and quality! If you don't have a car, there is a local La Spezia bus that passes through the town on a regular basis that I'm sure would take you to the train station. We hope to be back in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheOakvillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica P, Direttore at Hotel Relais Al Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear TheOakvillian,
Thank you so much for your lovely review! It’s fantastic to read how you enjoyed your stay, the hotel and the village of Vezzano Ligure. It has been very pleasant for us to have you as our guests: you are so nice! It would be amazing to have you here again in the future… Come back soon!
A hug from the whole staff :)
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We chanced upon this hotel via TripAdvisor, and were very pleased. It's nestled in the heart of a very tiny hilltop village close to the Cinque Terre and made a great base for exploring the surrounding area. The hotel itself was lovely, great location, friendly staff, excellent breakfast, and helpful with all of our needs. I don't think there were many other hotels in this village which meant not many tourists, so the entire experience was wonderfully authentic. My only complaint was that the night manager stepped "outside" to smoke, and "outside" was a door right behind the reception desk, so the lobby always reeked of smoke. Other than that, it was perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creolecruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica P, Direttore at Hotel Relais Al Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear creolecruiser,
thank you very much for your review: we are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and liked our hotel, the staff and the location. I’m sorry for the smoke, we will oblige the nigh porter to smoke somewhere else. We hope to have you as our welcome guests again if you come back to Italy!
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Very nice location, wonderful view both of the village and the surroundings.
Staff welcoming and very kind.
Enjoyed also dinner at the dehors of the restaurant, typical food of this area. Pesto was great, wide choice of good wines as well.
Room was huge and well furnished, although a little bit hot at arrival

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank guidolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

The hotel has a stunning location on top of the hill. Very nicely appointed and spacious rooms. But the best part was having a drink at the local bar and having a meal where the locals eat. So we knew it was all authentic. There also a great little grocery store nearby with friendly owners. It's out of the way, and not really close to Cinque Terra. But the views and the real country atmosphere made it so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bagfromthebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Difficult to find, but once you drive up the narrow winding road its worth it. We found the whole village charming and glad we stayed there on our way to Cinque Terre. The rooms we were given were nicely appointed , warm & comfortable with the only criticisms being the cramped shower recess & the long narrow flights of steps we could not avoid in carrying bags to reception and then to the rooms. Staff were friendly and accomodating while breakfast was fine. Managing your car, especially if a large one can be a challenge around this hotel and village but the views over a glass of wine at the local bar are spectacular.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NosfromMaroubra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vezzano Ligure
3.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Park Hotel - Sarzana
3.9 mi away
NH La Spezia
NH La Spezia
#5 of 21 in La Spezia
1,115 reviews
6.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Portovenere
Grand Hotel Portovenere
#1 of 7 in Porto Venere
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
629 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Birillo
Hotel Birillo
#4 of 21 in La Spezia
580 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Nella
Hotel Nella
#6 of 21 in La Spezia
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Al Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Al Convento

Address: Vezzano Basso Piazza Regina Margherita 1, 19020 Vezzano Ligure, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > Vezzano Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vezzano Ligure
Price Range: £88 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Relais Al Convento 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Relais Al Convento is situated in the medieval village of Vezzano Ligure, on the hills at the back of the Cinque Terre, only few kilometres away from the wonderful maritime villages of Lerici, San Terenzo and Portovenere, pearls of the Gulf of the Poets. Before the accurate restoration the hotel was an ancient cloister dating back to the XVI century. Today it keeps unchanged the charm and the mysticism of its origins. It has 18 rooms where guests can spend unique and exclusive stays at only 8 km from the sea.It has a check-in area, a private garden, Wi-Fi connection in a common area and restaurant with large choice of Ligurian typical dishes from both land and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Relais Al Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Al Convento Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing