We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luigi cooks with the stars”

Ristorante La Cantina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$39
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Luigi cooks with the stars”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The setting of La Cantina is something special: after entering through the main door, go downstairs and arrive in a truly ancient cellar, restored with utmost care and taste. No wonder, owners Luigi and Cristine managed a house construction company before changing their life,to become restaurant owners. Luigi cooks, and does wonderfully so. He collects his ingredients and recipes from all over Italy, again with utmost care and taste. His preparation techniques are modern, but Luigi remains firmly grounded in traditional Italian cuisine in the same time. Do not be surprised to eat ham which was cured for 4 years (one may expect something dry, but one eats the hammiest ham ever), mozarella from Lazio (so sweet and creamy) or ravioli stuffed with capriolo ragout. Do study the wine list, but ask Luigi for advice, and you will discover new, thrilling Italian wines, which perfectly accompany your dishes. Everything served with friendliness and attention to detail by Luigi's wife Cristine.
Compared to what you get, prices are very modest.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hein S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    39
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cantina Revisited”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Dropped in a year after the reopening of the hotel/restaurant. The excellent food & hospitality still improved. A wine list to dazzle at unbelievable low prices. And the setting is still marvelous. If you’re in the neighborhood, pass by. A real Italian experience. Like the Guide Michelin would say: Vaut le detour.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“Such a speacial and gorgeous place to be!”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Today I took a trip in Cerreto di Spoleto with my friends and looked for a place to eat and fortunely found here! When stepped into the restaurant, we were amazed by the atmosphere. The garden was designed so perfectly and so beautiful. We had really good food and service was so great. We enjoyed the vine as well. Certainly i will go back there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yildizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience! made our day.”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Awesome place. great service and treatment from the staff. english speakers.
made the visit to cerreto worth it.
would defiantly come again and recommend it to everyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arnonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
“Excellent food, wonderful terrace”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I would highly recommend eating at La Cantina. The food is delicious, the portions generous and the prices are extremely reasonable. We found the restaurant by chance when planning our wedding in the region, and ended up eating so well, that we planned a large dinner there for our wedding guests after our civil ceremony in the town. Luigi and Cristina are both very welcoming and professional, and they made sure that we had a wonderful evening that we will all remember for many years to come. And the panacotta with strawberries is the best dessert I've ever had!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante La Cantina also viewed

Assisi, Province of Perugia
Montefalco, Province of Perugia
 
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
Trevi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Ristorante La Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing