We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique!!!”

Terme Stufe di Nerone
Ranked #1 of 1 Spas & Wellness in Bacoli
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Roma
Level Contributor
217 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Unique!!!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Well, if you like thermal baths then this one takes some beating. These baths date back hundreds of years. The water comes in at 70 degrees so the natural rock sauna is sooooo hot you can only stay in for maybe a minute, and the hot bath is at maybe 40 degrees. The outside pool is at 35 degrees ish and hotter in the winter, and you can cover yourself with mud for free!! (ladies like it). The bar inside offers wonderful fresh food at a very reasonable price.A truly amazing experience, best in the winter but also amazing anytime.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    175
    56
    26
    18
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Relax in style .... I fully recommend”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This place is amazing ... it' based on the real ancient personal SPA of Roman Emperor Nero and there are the Roman original sauna rooms with stonewalls. The exterior is full of green, beautiful lawns, flowers and plant. You can swim in the pool, tuck in the huge array of Spa treatments at your disposal, or simply relax. Even the restaurant is excellent with many "healthy" and tasteful choices very reasonably priced as well. I tried the massage, the masseur was really good and extremely professional, I felt rejuvenated. One more thing I particularly liked is the Kneipp treatment: Alternating cold and hot water jets on your feet and legs may be slightly out of your comfort zone at the moment but I felt ten yours younger after that. An amazing place, perfect when you are in need to get easy on yourself or for romantic getaways. I fully recommend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level Contributor
217 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Amazing, truly amazing. A unique experience.”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This area is literally steeped in history going back 2,000 years. The baths use natural water springs and the water enters the sauna at over 50 degrees C and has to be cooled before it can be used. The water is naturally salty and excellent for the skin. Visitors can book a massage from a long list of tastes from face to medical to beauty treatments, and a super cafe/bar is available with decent food at very decent prices. A few hours inside this place are well recommended, super place!!!! See http://www.termestufedinerone.it/en for full details.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, NJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unusual experience of a natural thermal SPA (Salute Per Aqua)”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We visited as guests for a day and were very impressed at this truly unique experience.

The layout is beautiful and the two natural pools are phenomenal. The natural sauna is equally wonderful.

The regular pools are impressive too.

We did not use any of the additional services offered.

There is also a bar for light refreshment, and the salads and grilled vegetables we had were excellent.

The spa experience is very different from a US spa - more rustic and less luxurious - but very authentically Italian and very much in keeping with the ancient concept of Salute Pet Aqua (SPA) which means Health Through Water

The natural thermal waters are the foundation of the healthful and restorative effects which are not just relaxing but therapeutic due to the effect of the varying temperatures, along with the mineral composition.

A really wonderful day at Terme Stufe di Nerone!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“qui se ipsum amat in hunc locum venit”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

If you want to avoid crowded beaches on a Sunday in the Summer months, this place could be the right one. I went there for a Spa day with a friend. I have to say it's expensive (we paid EUR 50) for the whole day + a 20 min massage because we haven't got a membership.
I liked this place although it looked better in the pictures on the website. It could do with a bit more of "structure", it was a bit chaotic, and after lunch time it was more quiet and relaxing. There is space, I loved the baths, the sauna, the thermal swimming pools, the areas to relax and eat, there are also some areas where to sleep. Might go back in the future. It is also not to difficult to reach from Naples via the Metropolitana to Campi Flegrei and the Cumana to Lucrino, although for those with a car it also has a car park for the price of Eur 2.50 per day.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahDntn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Terme Stufe di Nerone also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Terme Stufe di Nerone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing