We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place”
Review of La vela

La vela
Attraction details
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

came almost every day here for breakfast,staff is very nice and friendly,local foods excellent,only once got a bit cold capuchino but yet came again and again. service is quite fast even if busy plus there is a nice terrace

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Marry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

2 - 6 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

As La Vela was rated #8 out of 16 on TA we spent our first few nights in Santa Marina eating elsewhere, but on what we thought was to be our last night, wanting to try somewhere new we threw caution to the wind and ate there. The restaurant has a commanding view over the harbour and the decor is simple but charming. Handwritten menus in English are a lovely touch and much appreciated, although some dishes like 'Rockfish in Crazy Water' still require a little explanation. Antonio the head chef cooks with real passion and the tastes of his starters and main courses are sublime. His food is also presented with just as much attention to detail and is a picture on the plate. Roasted octopus on cuttlefish ink potato flan, green salad with Caprino cheese, pennette with red shrimp of Salina and asparagus, and tuna steak with grilled vegetables are some of the dishes that we tried and all were delicious. There is a good list of local and regional wines on offer and competent advice to help with selection. Don't miss out on dessert - the warm chocolate and cardamon cake with liquorice ice cream was superb. Prices, whilst at the higher end of the spectrum, are definitely not unreasonable considering the fine dining experience. Overall, this was without doubt our best dining experience in almost 3 weeks travelling around Sicily and the Aeolian Islands. The morning after eating there our ferry back to the mainland was cancelled due to bad weather conditions, so we got to go back and eat there a second time - and if anything were even more impressed. This should be the #1 restaurant in Santa Marina.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank MichaelD536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2014

The location is convenient, so we tried it, with no reviews or any information to go on. We asked what fresh fish they had. The answer was cappone, so we selected a medium-sized one to be prepared all’eoliana. Meanwhile the first course of cozze marinara arrived. They were not the freshest, and some of them were small and tough. The fish came a few minutes later. Our first visual impression of the fish was one of astonishment. Having been on Salina a few days, we had become accustomed to its refined cuisine and elegant presentation, but the presentation of this fish was rustic to the point of being funny: the fish was simply hacked into two large chunks below the head and slapped onto a plate, and the sauce was brought in on a separate plate. However, we must admit that the fish tasted very good and was accompanied by a tasty eolian sauce of tomatoes, capers, and olives.

Date of experience: September 2014
Thank James Norman Re... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La vela also viewed

Santa Marina Salina, Isola di Salina
Santa Marina Salina, Isola di Salina
 
Santa Marina Salina, Isola di Salina
 

Been to La vela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing