We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel, great in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mamma Santina
Certificate of Excellence
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel, great in every way”
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

For a stay on the beautiful island of Salina, hotel Mamma Santina is a good choice. The staff does everything to make you feel at home and to make your stay perfect. We had a room on the first floor, so we had a splendid view on the seas and on Stromboli and it's regular eruptions. Breakfasts and dinners were very good. The hotel is expensive, but that's what you can expect when visiting the aeolian islands. Pay cash and they offer you 10% discount. We stayed four nights and enjoyed every minute of it. Nice shopping too, in the village of Santa Maria.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WvdP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    58
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
75
153
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough. The staff (and Silvio in particular) are wonderful and couldn't be more helpful. The rooms are very nice and clean. It has a great swimming pool and is 5 mins from the main drag in Santa Marina (which is comfortably the nicest place to base yourself on Salina). It's not cheap (but nowhere on the Aeolian islands is) but it offers good value. The food is great too - a must try is the Mupa (gilthead bream) cooked in 'crazy water'.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This place is amazing, the staff are so friendly and welcoming, there were 7 of us staying here and we got a whole section to ourselves which was fantastic.
The rooms were cleaned daily, the breakfast is perfect, serving you with coffee, tea or drink of your choice.
Beautiful pool area, the whole place in general is perfect, it would have to be one of the best places I've ever stayed at.
Once arriving at the ferry port we were greeted and our bags were put in the car and they took them took them to our room and took them when we were leaving also. Would not hesitate to stay again! I would recommend this for everyone! Perfect location too!
Thank you :):):):)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophielovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We travelled for 2 and half weeks in Italy, and this was the best hotel we stayed at and we actually want to go back again next year! Before going on holiday, we got some really bad news, and coming to this beautiful hotel on an amazing island, helped us really to forget about all the bad and just completely relax and we had such a fun time here, its all we are talking about at the moment!

We had the most incredible room, the best they have, with a very large terrace with sun loungers and a hammock. The view was simply outstanding. I loved the Jacuzzi bath!

There is a pool, which is lovely, but make sure you also walk down to swim in the sea ( about 10 minute walk), take your goggles for all the fish! Hotel is well situated close to town centre ( 5 minute walk down) There is also a restaurant at the hotel, which we ate at on our first night, very good pasta. I enjoyed trying the desserts, which staff were more than happy to bring up to our private terrace.
Make sure to try the mojito cocktail as well, best I ever had!

The staff are all fantastic and really go out of their way to help you enjoy your time there. A big thank you to Alessio, Francesca and Silvio, as well as Mario and the others. A kiss for Maggie ( the dog)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiO
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 8 nights in June and had such a lovely holiday. It was our first time to the island and Alessio and his team made every effort to accommodate us. Our room had a balcony which overlooked the sea, you could see Stromboli which was lovely.
The breakfast was very good each morning. All of the staff were so friendly and polite.
The pool area was also really nice.
We would definitely come back.
Highly recommend hiring scooters to see the island.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaomiO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Warm, colourful and relaxed, Mamma Santina was our home from home for the four nights we spent on Salina island. Our room was comfortable and eclectic, and the view of a smoking Stromboli from balcony and shower dramatic. The food was delicious (the pasta with shrimp sauce particularly memorable) and the warmth and friendliness of the staff entirely faultless. The island itself is a peaceful retreat, with quiet beaches, woodland walks, wild flowers, birds...... We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Thank you to Mario, Alessio, Sylvio and all the Mamma Santina staff for another wonderful stay. Although it has been quite some time between stays nothing has changed at Mamma Santina. The hotel is kept in excellent condition. The staff are very attentive and personable. The food is amazing. We will never tire of the view from the hotel. Every employee goes out of their way to help. No request is a problem for them. It is wonderful to see this kind of enthusiasm for their work. Mamma Santina is highly recommended by my husband and I. Next time it will be for a much longer stay and not such a long gap between visits. The only thing I would add and this is by no means a fault with the hotel is maybe a shaving mirror or a bright light over the mirrors in the bathrooms.

Room Tip: Go for the room above the restaurant with the large balcony. You can lounge around on the terrace i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPEZ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marina Salina
2.3 mi away
Hotel Ravesi
Hotel Ravesi
#1 of 6 in Malfa
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Punta Barone
Punta Barone
#1 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
189 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel - Residence Al Belvedere Salina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arcangelo - Salina
Hotel Arcangelo - Salina
#3 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
215 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Signum
Hotel Signum
#2 of 6 in Malfa
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercanti di Mare
Hotel Mercanti di Mare
#4 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mamma Santina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mamma Santina

Property: Hotel Mamma Santina
Address: Via Sanita' 40, 98050 Santa Marina Salina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Isola di Salina > Santa Marina Salina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Santa Marina Salina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mamma Santina 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel whose rooms are immersed in tree greenness of lemon and jasmine trees, with on enchanting view on the sea, has been completely restored out of the old house of Mamma Santina. Restaurant with traditional cooking, Bar swimming pool and solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Mamma Santina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamma Santina Hotel
Hotel Mamma Santina Isola Di Salina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing