We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to improve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mamma Santina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Despite having been recommended this hotel by a friend, I must say I was not impressed.
The hotel is nice and clean and I loved the fact that each room had the name of a fish, with a little tile painted outside the door and on the keyring.
It has a Moroccan feel about it with hammocks hanging outside the rooms.
But I felt that the service needs to improve. Yes, it is friendly and family led, but it needs to become more professional. Nobody is wearing a uniform, so you never know who to ask for something and I always had the impression I was disturbing them.
The reception area is tired looking and also the small gardens in between rooms, with cigarettes butts sticking out, that obviously nobody bothers to clean.
The location is OK, very close to the main street with bars and shops, but the beach is far.
The restaurant seems to attract a lot of people, it was always very busy. We had dinner there once and personally, I did not find it so amazing.
On the plus side, spacious room and free wifi in the reception.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gullo67, Responsabile reception at Hotel Mamma Santina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear guests,
thank you very much for the review you decided to share, your feedback is very important to us.
I am sad to read that the expectations you had about us have not been completely met leaving you somehow disappointed. Mamma Santina was born as a family run business, with an informal and friendly approach; despite it has evolved since its beginnings we always strive to keep the same atmosphere that contributed to create its unique style. This is the reason why we don't wear uniforms, saying this we will take into considerations your comment looking into a way to be easily identified without appearing too formal. I am deeply sorry you felt uncomfortable in the way you have been assisted by our team, courtesy and friendly professionalism are points of pride for us (proved countless times by previous reviews), we reserve to our customers the outmost attention and cordiality and I am sad this has not been perceived in this way by you especially has we have been recommended by someone that has staid this year with us and was very happy with the quality of our customer service; we are on a continous improvement journey and your feedback will help us in delivering a better service.
Every day we do carry out periodic actions to keep the place clean and tidy, cigarettes butts and other things that shouldn't be left around in the first place, are removed during these operations. In between times we hope in our guests well behavior to respect the place in which they are staying. We will act more frequently in order to reduce this inconvenience.
I cannot comment on your feedback about the reception area style and cuisine, it is very subjective and we are aware that we cannot always please everyone’s taste.
We hope to see you again and to offer an overall better quality for your future stays.
All the best

Alessio and all Mamma Santina's team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

For a stay on the beautiful island of Salina, hotel Mamma Santina is a good choice. The staff does everything to make you feel at home and to make your stay perfect. We had a room on the first floor, so we had a splendid view on the seas and on Stromboli and it's regular eruptions. Breakfasts and dinners were very good. The hotel is expensive, but that's what you can expect when visiting the aeolian islands. Pay cash and they offer you 10% discount. We stayed four nights and enjoyed every minute of it. Nice shopping too, in the village of Santa Maria.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank WvdP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough. The staff (and Silvio in particular) are wonderful and couldn't be more helpful. The rooms are very nice and clean. It has a great swimming pool and is 5 mins from the main drag in Santa Marina (which is comfortably the nicest place to base yourself on Salina). It's not cheap (but nowhere on the Aeolian islands is) but it offers good value. The food is great too - a must try is the Mupa (gilthead bream) cooked in 'crazy water'.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This place is amazing, the staff are so friendly and welcoming, there were 7 of us staying here and we got a whole section to ourselves which was fantastic.
The rooms were cleaned daily, the breakfast is perfect, serving you with coffee, tea or drink of your choice.
Beautiful pool area, the whole place in general is perfect, it would have to be one of the best places I've ever stayed at.
Once arriving at the ferry port we were greeted and our bags were put in the car and they took them took them to our room and took them when we were leaving also. Would not hesitate to stay again! I would recommend this for everyone! Perfect location too!
Thank you :):):):)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophielovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We travelled for 2 and half weeks in Italy, and this was the best hotel we stayed at and we actually want to go back again next year! Before going on holiday, we got some really bad news, and coming to this beautiful hotel on an amazing island, helped us really to forget about all the bad and just completely relax and we had such a fun time here, its all we are talking about at the moment!

We had the most incredible room, the best they have, with a very large terrace with sun loungers and a hammock. The view was simply outstanding. I loved the Jacuzzi bath!

There is a pool, which is lovely, but make sure you also walk down to swim in the sea ( about 10 minute walk), take your goggles for all the fish! Hotel is well situated close to town centre ( 5 minute walk down) There is also a restaurant at the hotel, which we ate at on our first night, very good pasta. I enjoyed trying the desserts, which staff were more than happy to bring up to our private terrace.
Make sure to try the mojito cocktail as well, best I ever had!

The staff are all fantastic and really go out of their way to help you enjoy your time there. A big thank you to Alessio, Francesca and Silvio, as well as Mario and the others. A kiss for Maggie ( the dog)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 8 nights in June and had such a lovely holiday. It was our first time to the island and Alessio and his team made every effort to accommodate us. Our room had a balcony which overlooked the sea, you could see Stromboli which was lovely.
The breakfast was very good each morning. All of the staff were so friendly and polite.
The pool area was also really nice.
We would definitely come back.
Highly recommend hiring scooters to see the island.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaomiO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Warm, colourful and relaxed, Mamma Santina was our home from home for the four nights we spent on Salina island. Our room was comfortable and eclectic, and the view of a smoking Stromboli from balcony and shower dramatic. The food was delicious (the pasta with shrimp sauce particularly memorable) and the warmth and friendliness of the staff entirely faultless. The island itself is a peaceful retreat, with quiet beaches, woodland walks, wild flowers, birds...... We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marina Salina
2.3 mi away
Hotel Ravesi
Hotel Ravesi
#1 of 6 in Malfa
462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Punta Barone
Punta Barone
#2 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
218 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel - Residence Al Belvedere Salina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Signum
Hotel Signum
#2 of 6 in Malfa
413 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arcangelo - Salina
Hotel Arcangelo - Salina
#3 of 7 in Santa Marina Salina
236 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Principe di Salina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mamma Santina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mamma Santina

Address: Via Sanita' 40, 98050, Santa Marina Salina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Isola di Salina > Santa Marina Salina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Santa Marina Salina
Price Range: £89 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mamma Santina 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel whose rooms are immersed in tree greenness of lemon and jasmine trees, with on enchanting view on the sea, has been completely restored out of the old house of Mamma Santina. Restaurant with traditional cooking, Bar swimming pool and solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Mamma Santina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamma Santina Hotel
Hotel Mamma Santina Isola Di Salina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing