We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cortijo de Salia
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alcaucin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A gem of a place”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

This was purely an accidental discovery. We booked the hotel for a couple of days because we could not get accommodation in Alhama de Granada and so decided to stay here before driving on. Proved to be a great discovery and we wished we could stay longer. Warm host, some of the best food we had in Andalucia, tranquil spot!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
68
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I stayed here with a friend for a weekend in mid July 2011. It was a weekend stay, and at the price we paid, I must be honest and say I wasn't expecting it to be anything to write home about. I was wrong. From the minute we arrived we were shown fantastic hospitality and briefly shown around the small hotel, led to our immaculate room and shown the views from our balcony. We instantly got the impression that nothing would be too much trouble.
In a nutshell....? Spotless, Beautiful location and everything you could possibly want for a week stay or a weekend break. 5stars without a doubt. The only place onthe Costa Del Sol that I would truly recommend.

Room Tip: Beautifully presented with very comfy new beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

This informal family-run hotel had a really welcoming atmosphere, and was an excellent place to stay with my family on a walking trip through Andalucía. Evening meals included locally-produced food, very well prepared and presented.

The rooms are spacious and open onto a lawn with lovely views of the mountains across the valley. The bar, garden and other public spaces are very pleasant and well looked-after.

There are interesting ruins close by - great for an evening's leg-stretch before dinner - and the hotel is well-placed for exploring the region.

The owner and his family clearly wanted to make our visit enjoyable, and they certainly succeeded.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Lancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2009

When you're looking for a nice hotel in a beautifull scenery and you appreciate good andalusian food Cortijo de Salia is the place to be. Juan and his wife are examples of good Spanish hostmanship. We stayed here for four days, explored Nerja, Frigiliana, Alhama Granada with a beautiful canyon and the Montes de Malaga. After our trips in the surroundings we sat on our terrace watching the sun go down and then we enjoyed a very good andalusian meal with vegetables from the garden.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcaucin
1.3 mi away
Hotel Rural Sierra Tejeda
3.8 mi away
Hotel Las Orquideas
Hotel Las Orquideas
#1 of 1 in Los Romanes
77 reviews
10.0 mi away
Balcon de Competa Hotel and Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hotel Palacio Blanco
Hotel Palacio Blanco
#2 of 5 in Velez-Malaga
300 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hotel La Seguiriya
Hotel La Seguiriya
#1 of 3 in Alhama de Granada
149 reviews
20.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Posada del Patio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cortijo de Salia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortijo de Salia

Property: Hotel Cortijo de Salia
Address: Carretera a-402, Km. 53, 5 | Carretera Velez Malaga a Alhama, 29711 Alcaucin, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Alcaucin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alcaucin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cortijo de Salia 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our pretty country house hotel is located in the Axarquia region in Costa del Sol, Malaga, close to the citadel "El Alcazar" and "Sierra de Tejada" Natural Park in the Alcaucin Valley. Guests will be captivated by this green and rural natural site, where they can enjoy its mild and pleasant microclimate during the whole year. Our hotel offers a choice of 9 different rooms. Facilities include a luminous lounge with large windows, a small restaurant, bar, large gardens with charming corners, a swimming-pool and a private parking. Our hotel and its gardens are perfectly fitted into nature. Its architecture merges with the environment, as it is built from a former farmhouse, preserving some of its original elements. Surrounded by a lighting and colourful landscape, the visitors cannot fail to notice the influence of the Arab culture on this land. The environment and warmth atmosphere of our hotel makes this place the ideal spot to get lost at any time during the year. Get away from noise and stress and enjoy a peaceful experience. Our guests are pleasantly surprised when discovering our warmth and informal atmosphere, our familiar customer service combining privacy and style, peace, serenity and nice gestures. In our large and relaxing gardens with gentle slopes, our guests can enjoy a nice walk, sunbathe, have a break reading a book and gaze at the wonderful landscape at sunset. Your senses will be captivated by the colours of the earth, stones, wood and the light contrasts, as it seems that the time stops.Couples, group of friends or family with children are all welcome. We will be delighted to try our best to make your stay here an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cortijo de Salia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing