We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hillside heaven....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cortijo de Salia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cortijo de Salia
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alcaucin
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hillside heaven....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

The Hotel Cortijo de Salia is a typical "rural" hotel in that it sits well away (directions to follow!) from the coastal resorts and offers travellers an opportunity to get up close and personal with the real Spanish countryside. In our experience, these hotels generally have all modern facilities and perhaps most importantly, offer much better value for money than their seaside cousins.
Firstly, as promised, those directions! The easiest approach is to come up from the coast road (A7) at the exit for Velez - Malaga. Take the A356 (A402) towards Alhama de Granada and after a few miles when you start to climb, keep an eye out for the green 53km sign on the side of the road. After a few more bends you will see the (small) hotel sign on your right. Turn off here but be very careful because the track drops quickly to the right. Follow this down, turn left and after passing a dirt section of the track, the hotel entrance is on the right hand side.
This really is a lovely little hotel. The views across the valley to Alcaucin and down towards the lake make your journey more than worthwhile, and the swimming pool and grounds just add more icing to the cake.
The guests' rooms are all in one long block and almost have a Mexican feel about them. Ours (like the rest I presume) had plenty of space, a large comfortable bed, rustic furniture and a good bathroom. Large French windows open out on to a small patio with table and chairs and - you guessed it - that view!
I suppose I would have to say that because of the location, a car is pretty much essential for getting around from here, but if the sun is shining, then lounging by that pool could turn out to be a hard act to follow.
Alfonso, the owner, is a charming chap. He has a pretty good command of English and whenever he spoke to us, he always had a smile and plenty of helpful advice on local places of interest. He also served an excellent breakfast - fresh orange juice, good coffee and a wide selection of breads, meats, cheeses etc. More than enough to keep us going for most of the day. We did not get to try an evening meal as we had arranged to meet friends in Nerja but a glance at the menu revealed some promising dishes.
Sadly the weather during our visit was not all we had hoped for, but nevertheless our stay at the Cortijo de Salia was most enjoyable and we are more than happy to give it a very warm recommendation.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilfPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
66
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Get away from the hustle and bustle of the coast and relax. Perfect base from which to explore the lovely countryside at your leisure or just laze around doing nothing, surrounded by nature. The owner was very welcoming and the food was delicious and different - try it for yourself!

Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank GMGMarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed two nights at the hotel prior to our taking residence in a villa close by for two weeks. It is a beautiful, charming Spanish rural retreat that exudes charm and atmosphere. Ideal for a quiet few days, there is a small garden area with tables and a modest swimming pool to escape the sun's rays and cool off. Bedrooms are tastefully decorated and furnished, each with its own individual balcony and a very good air conditioning unit!. The restaurant has a compact and inviting Spanish menu using local produce and skilfully cooked and prepared by the owner and his family. Breakfasts are cheeful and ample with a selection of bread, cakes, meats and cheese and freshly prepared juice. I would certainly return here and would advise the installation of more lighting in the garden area to allow guests to sit out more comfortably in the evening. Alfonso and his family are charming and generous with their hospitality and I would happily recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a little gem off the beaten track.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpf1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed at the Cortijo de Salia in June for two weeks, and we had a great time. We - a family of two adults and two kids (3 and 6 years old) - enjoyed the calm atmosphere, the nice pool, the beautiful garden and the nice view. At the time of our stay the climate down at the sea was a lot more humid and dizzy than up in the mountains in our hotel, so we preferred often to stay up at the hotel. Alfonso, the host, is a really nice and warm-hearted guy and understands how to make your stay relaxed and extremely pleasant. It was simple to really calm down within two weeks and take speed out of our lives. The food is very nice and we enjoyed the dinners in the little restaurant at the hotel. One can also arrange lunch and Alfonso is able to adapt to the guests. A very nice touch is that the hotel has its own little garden, where they grow salad, tomatoes and onions. It is always nice to know what you eat ;-) The rooms are simple and very clean with a nice little terrace with view to the next hills. So, on the whole, we had a lot of fun and would come back if we would come to the area another time! And our kids loved the cat and the little kittys.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mampito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We booked here really just to break up the drive between Malaga and Granada, and, as you'd expect in this price range, it is a very simple place - 6 rooms, a garden and a dining room.

However, our room was spotless and had a lovely view down the valley, we had the garden & pool to ourselves most days, and we enjoyed the home cooking in the evenings. The neighbouring villages are good spots for lunch, and we took a lovely short walk up the hill behind the hotel to a ruined watchtower, and longer ones in the nearby mountains.

Our stay therefore ended up, somewhat unexpectedly, being one of the highlights of our whole trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ned B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

This was purely an accidental discovery. We booked the hotel for a couple of days because we could not get accommodation in Alhama de Granada and so decided to stay here before driving on. Proved to be a great discovery and we wished we could stay longer. Warm host, some of the best food we had in Andalucia, tranquil spot!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

I stayed here with a friend for a weekend in mid July 2011. It was a weekend stay, and at the price we paid, I must be honest and say I wasn't expecting it to be anything to write home about. I was wrong. From the minute we arrived we were shown fantastic hospitality and briefly shown around the small hotel, led to our immaculate room and shown the views from our balcony. We instantly got the impression that nothing would be too much trouble.
In a nutshell....? Spotless, Beautiful location and everything you could possibly want for a week stay or a weekend break. 5stars without a doubt. The only place onthe Costa Del Sol that I would truly recommend.

Room Tip: Beautifully presented with very comfy new beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank masharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcaucin
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rural Sierra Tejeda
3.8 mi away
Hotel Las Orquideas
Hotel Las Orquideas
#1 of 1 in Los Romanes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Palacio Blanco
Hotel Palacio Blanco
#2 of 5 in Velez-Malaga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hotel Cortijo Bravo
Hotel Cortijo Bravo
#3 of 5 in Velez-Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hotel La Seguiriya
Hotel La Seguiriya
#1 of 3 in Alhama de Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Rural Cortijo Amaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cortijo de Salia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortijo de Salia

Property: Hotel Cortijo de Salia
Address: Carretera a-402, Km. 53, 5 | Carretera Velez Malaga a Alhama, 29711 Alcaucin, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Alcaucin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alcaucin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cortijo de Salia 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our pretty country house hotel is located in the Axarquia region in Costa del Sol, Malaga, close to the citadel "El Alcazar" and "Sierra de Tejada" Natural Park in the Alcaucin Valley. Guests will be captivated by this green and rural natural site, where they can enjoy its mild and pleasant microclimate during the whole year. Our hotel offers a choice of 9 different rooms. Facilities include a luminous lounge with large windows, a small restaurant, bar, large gardens with charming corners, a swimming-pool and a private parking. Our hotel and its gardens are perfectly fitted into nature. Its architecture merges with the environment, as it is built from a former farmhouse, preserving some of its original elements. Surrounded by a lighting and colourful landscape, the visitors cannot fail to notice the influence of the Arab culture on this land. The environment and warmth atmosphere of our hotel makes this place the ideal spot to get lost at any time during the year. Get away from noise and stress and enjoy a peaceful experience. Our guests are pleasantly surprised when discovering our warmth and informal atmosphere, our familiar customer service combining privacy and style, peace, serenity and nice gestures. In our large and relaxing gardens with gentle slopes, our guests can enjoy a nice walk, sunbathe, have a break reading a book and gaze at the wonderful landscape at sunset. Your senses will be captivated by the colours of the earth, stones, wood and the light contrasts, as it seems that the time stops.Couples, group of friends or family with children are all welcome. We will be delighted to try our best to make your stay here an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cortijo de Salia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing