We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“return trip - even more relaxing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Finca el Cerrillo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canillas de Albaida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Finca el Cerrillo
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“return trip - even more relaxing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

My second visit on a painting holiday: loved it more, discovered more, ate more! Great if you love the sun or shade, resting, creating or activity. The flowers both in the garden and the olive grove are wonderful. You don't need to bring tea./coffee, umbrella, sunhat, book, pool towel - all provided. Everybody friendly, even the cats.

Room Tip: The two I've been in have been calming and spacious. Some are up stairs from the eating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
61
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

A holiday organised by Headwater. Hard to find anything that could be improved. This is a wonderful welcoming and very comfortable place, no pretensions and everything that matters is catered for. The sense of being in a family is of its essence and if you feel that status (or television) matters more, this is not for you. Respect for and interest in others is an essential part of its charm. Sue and Gordon are constructive and helpful hosts, the food (whether taken in house or in local restaurants) is excellent and regional, the garden a delight. There is lots of space for quiet enjoyment of the place itself, and encouragement to explore the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aljibri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Its difficult to add very much to the other reviews on the Finca: It was our 2nd time and returning was like slipping on a comfortable pair of shoes. Useful as we were enjoying a Walking Week. Sue and Gordon are ably assisted and supported by a professional team and the whole experience is what makes so many people come back for more. A recent review cites 'Nothing is too much trouble': absolutely true and its that which makes everyone who visits the Finca and enjoys the hospitality feel special. We will be back, if its not booked out by other returnees!

Room Tip: Each room is individual. Garden rooms are more secluded than, say main house rooms 2 & 3, and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathIan999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

This was our second visit to the Finca. The first was for a painting holiday in late 2011 and the second in March of this year for a Spring Break organised by the Finca. The welcome is superb and you are made to feel at home from the minute you arrive. The Finca is situated outside the white village of Canillas de Albaida with beautiful views down the valley to the white village of Archez. Sue and Gordon are excellent hosts modifying the planned programme if necessary to adapt to weather reports. The organisation is first class with taxis organised to take you to the beginning of walks, for a tapas lunch or to the local restaurants on the 2 nights we ate out. The meals at the Finca, cooked by Christine and served by husband David, are delicious. All of this, including pick up from Malaga airport, is included in the price. No wonder many of the guests are repeat visitors. We are returning in October for another painting holiday so that says it all!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank athelingvillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

This was a return visit, for a walking holiday, for my sister and myself. Once again I was overwhelmed by the beauty of the setting, the excellence of the cuisine (care was taken to provide interesting alternatives to meet my dietary needs), the comfort and individuality of the rooms, the warmth of the hospitality, and the careful professionalism of the walking guides. I wasn't too well for a couple of days, and Sue and Alison could not have been kinder or more considerate.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Have just ret'd from a week at the Finca with a walking group of 10 - only 2 had not been before. I cannot commend highly enough the organising, the walks & the excellent catering, the latter in conjunction with local bars/restautants or packed lunches when necessary. Everyone's needs were not forgotten (transport, diets); the holiday allowed all to flavour the local interest and the grandeur. Gordon & Sue, & their staff, were wonderful & great company; nothing seemed to be a bother. Wonderful. I will return. jim kennedy

Room Tip: Unnessary; all are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Went with my wife in early Jan. Maybe (probably) we were lucky but the weather was perfect, no clouds seen for 5 days. Made so very welcome, the hosts, as many people have said, couldn't do more for you and made us feel more than at home with a larger group of guests who were travelling together. Great walks at one's own pace and the Finca owners make sure everyone can be picked up at different locations. Food/company brilliant, can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetruthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canillas de Albaida
1.2 mi away
Balcon de Competa Hotel and Bungalows
7.5 mi away
Hotel Palacio Blanco
Hotel Palacio Blanco
#2 of 5 in Velez-Malaga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#8 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel Rural Sierra Tejeda
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mirador de Canillas
Hotel Mirador de Canillas
#3 of 3 in Canillas de Albaida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Vista
La Vista
#1 of 11 in Competa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Finca el Cerrillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Finca el Cerrillo

Property: Hotel Finca el Cerrillo
Address: 29755 Canillas de Albaida, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Canillas de Albaida
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canillas de Albaida
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing