We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canillas de Albaida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Finca el Cerrillo
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We were on a multi-level walking week - it was quite a large group and so there were quite a few different abilities - David & Sue made sure that we all got to do the sort of walking we wanted to do. The place itself is beautiful with attention to detail everywhere you look. The food was absolutely scrumptious & I have come home with a couple of recipes to try! Eating out a couple of nights at village restaurants was fun & added variety & everything organised for us - we didn't have to think about a thing. Some walks included having tapas lunches in bars & this too was laid on, all we had to do was find a seat & sit down to eat. David & Sue were gracious hosts who looked after everyone. If you don't like walking, it would be easy to spend a week here just relaxing or you would need to either get David & Sue to organise taxis for you or else hire your own car. If I got the chance I would love to return!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen1749179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
66
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We decided to stay at this hotel after the recommendation of a friend and it certainly exceeded our expectations. We were very warmly greeted by the hosts and were impressed by the wonderful location of the hotel. The rooms were spacious, very comfortable and exceptionally clean. We were travelling as a group of four and the remainder of the guests were return visitors and very keen walkers. However we were warmly invited to join their walks and thoroughly enjoyed the the different levels of walking, easy to challenging. It was a wonderful way to explore the area, the stunning views and the gorgeous villages. On the evenings when dinner was available the food was great as was the selection of local wines. The breakfast provided each morning was delicious with a great selection of fresh foods. There was also a very comfortable common lounge area and outdoor area with gorgeous views where drinks were available. We loved staying at the Finca and would highly recommend this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nibor1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Our second visit to this marvellous little hotel was once again a wonderful experience. The excellent reviews of the Finca are well deserved and most of the visitors to the hotel are returning for the second time, and often more frequently, . So what is so good about the hotel? There are so many things - the stunning views, the attention to detail that is evident throughout in the intimate public areas, the individual bedrooms (each one is different), the quite shaded terraces for relaxing, the pool and sun terrace overlooking the the hill villages of Archez and Canillas, the wonderful food and the well-stocked honesty bar to name some features. However, it is the welcome received from owners Sue and Gordon and the staff that makes this a special place. It is in an ideal location for walking in the surrounding hills, even a walk to the nearest village (about 20 minutes for the fit) involves a steep down and up on zig-zag paths. While our second visit, it will not be our last!.

Room Tip: All rooms have wonderful views and none will disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank portsoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speen
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

HI Sue & Gordon,

I don’t know where to start.

I haven't done Trip Advisor yet as I thought I'd like to do a personal one to you both first.

We have been going away as a group of SWALLOWS (Speen Walkers Appreciate Lots of Laughter & Wine & Silliness) and we all agreed that your was one of the best venues ever. We've stayed in manor houses in Burgundy, oh all sorts of places.

First Impressions:
We were very very late as we had to Q for 2 hours for car hire. Had we known how organised you'd be we wouldn't have had hire cars, ( or maybe just one) as the roads are so windy, and you organised taxis for us every time we went out.
You welcomed us at 11pm with delicious home made soup, and freshly made sandwiches and even a pud!. Also a very warm personal welcome.

The rooms. Opened the wardrobe and loads of wooden hangers all facing the same way. WOW!! Thats an absolute first even in 5/6 star hotels you still never have enough hangars and they're attached to the rail (who on earth would steal a coat hanger??)
Loved the walk in wet room and décor, light and very tasteful. The sheets were the loveliest fine lawn, another first for us. The blackout was complete with shutters, and the views in the morning breathtaking. Also lovely absorbent towels. You often get huge towels with the absorption of a tea towel.
We had an upper terrace and a lower terrace, fantastic views from both. We could have spent our holiday there, and great for socialising.
Everybody loved their rooms which were all different and some quite quirky.

Day 1. Sunshine fab! The grounds are glorious, riotous colours, abundant with flowers, shrubs, lemon, orange and grapefruit trees. Terraced down to the pool which had stunning views over the mountains.
The wild flower walk around your property, well we've never see wild flowers like them, and these were on our walks as well.

Sue, you were so organised on day 1 with your briefing! We were sooooh impressed. You had maps for the walkers, activities for the non walkers. You'd thought of everything.
We loved the food and the variety. A lunch in and a dinner in a local village, taken and collected by taxis, organised and paid for in with the room!!! Then a lunch out and dinner in, ringing the changes with lots of variety. All the meals were included, all we had to pay for were our drinks.

We'd asked for a table tennis table. You constructed one specially for us (we have tournaments, yes it is very odd). The studio is lovely, for artists, writers and well being activities.

The walks were great, and the non walkers were able to join us for lunch either in or out in the villages. There were easier options for some of the less adventurous.

The pool was great, although not heated. We understand that is the norm in Spain, but we like it not quite so chilly, although it didn't stop us swimming every day, as it was only getting in that was chilly.

We played bridge in the tree house for those of us who like to play in unusual places! We could have our music in the sitting room and could have bopped if we'd wanted to. We had magic shows from Michael, and were made to feel really at home.

Alison, David his wife, and the other staff too numerous to mention were also terrific.

However, the real 6***** rating comes from you guys. You rescued one of us that got stuck on a walk. On our last day when we should have been long gone, you organised lunch for us, and even homemade cake and tea, as our flight wasn't until late evening. We could have gone to the coast, but we were all so loath to leave! You couldn't do enough for us with all our idiosincracies. You are such a lovely couple, no wonder people come back time after time. Ive never come across anyone so switched on in a hotel (feel odd calling it a hotel). If they could bottle what you've got, the top hotels would pays kings ransom for it.

We loved it, and send our love and very kindest regards to you all,

Irene, Roger, and all the SWALLOWS XXXXX

PS does Cerrillo mean hillock?

Room Tip: We think ours was the best, Garden room 2. I'd go for garden rooms, but all were lovely, some qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We visited in early May as part of a Headwater walking group (8 strong). We had read the reviews before going (both Headwater's and those for Trip Advisor) and the high praise had been influential in our choice of the holiday. They were not mistaken! This is a truly lovely hotel in a stunning setting. The rooms are not 'soft' luxurious, but are spacious, clean and well-equipped with comfortable beds. I would imagine that most have lovely views - ours (Room 9) certainly did. But what really makes the hotel is the setting and the standard of welcome, service and support provided by Sue and Gordon (owners) and their staff. From David and Christine (front of house & chef) to the reception and waiting/room staff they were top rate, without exception. Nothing was too much trouble; and food and facilities were a of a uniformly high standard.

For us, this was backed up by high quality walking guides and an excellent local taxi service that took us to and from those walks that did not start from the hotel. If you want to just enjoy the hotel and its facilities, the grounds have lovely gardens with the most spectacular wild flower 'meadow' that stretches across and tumbles down the hillside. There is a swimming pool and plenty of chairs/tables/loungers on the various patios that overlook the wonderful views.

Many thanks to our hosts for such a memorable stay. We would love to return if we can persuade someone to share the pleasure!

Room Tip: Take your pick! Some of the rooms (eg ours, at the end furthest from reception) have under-floor he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skivacance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

There is little point in adding to and repeating the very full reviews already available about this ideal place. Lovely people, good food, ideal setting, great countryside all make for a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday. What is a little surprising is that the finca is so friendly and welcoming and relaxing yet at the same time so very efficiently organised and run. Certainly hope to return and can recommend without reservation.

One point to note is that the village of Canillas is hidden in the mountains to the west of Malaga. To get there you need a hire car or taxi. The hotel will arrange a taxi at a very competitive rate. We took the taxi option and are glad we did so. Unless you really do need a car this is the more relaxing option.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidMcNBeverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My second visit on a painting holiday: loved it more, discovered more, ate more! Great if you love the sun or shade, resting, creating or activity. The flowers both in the garden and the olive grove are wonderful. You don't need to bring tea./coffee, umbrella, sunhat, book, pool towel - all provided. Everybody friendly, even the cats.

Room Tip: The two I've been in have been calming and spacious. Some are up stairs from the eating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJJJJJJJJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canillas de Albaida
1.2 mi away
Balcon de Competa Hotel and Bungalows
8.1 mi away
Iberostar Malaga Playa
9.6 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
6.5 mi away
Hotel La Casa
Hotel La Casa
#2 of 8 in Torrox
269 reviews
9.4 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Finca el Cerrillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Finca el Cerrillo

Property: Hotel Finca el Cerrillo
Address: 29755 Canillas de Albaida, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Canillas de Albaida
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canillas de Albaida
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing