We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
143
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
143
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal restaurantsfinca el cerrillosecond visitpainting holidaywalking holidayhonesty barcarob treemalaga airportnothing is too much troublestunning viewsattention to detailmulti levelevening meals areswimming poolexceeded our expectationsexcellent foodfirst class
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We were a family of 19 aged from 10 to 76 stating of 7 nights at the end of July 2013.

Sue and Gordon, and the rest of the Finca team, bent over backwards to make our stay as ideal as possible. Nothing was too much bother and, having taken the entire Finca, they allowed us several extra favours like picnicking on the evenings we weren't dining in and preparing a birthday cake for our youngest who turned ten whilst we were there.

Breakfasts were delicious; whole meal toast, with Marmite against the mosquitoes, freshly prepared fruits and home made jams, tea and coffee.

Lunches were a delightful mix of tapas style jamon, pizza for the kids, salads and watermelon and cake for pudding.

Dinners on alternate nights were quite sumptuous, with no menu per we, but everything quite delightful, Andalician specials with and Anglo twist for the British palate. Every night we ate al fresco in the tastefully furnished an decorated gardens, under the carob tree, by the pool or on the formal tables.

The honesty bar was sensibly priced and worked well for all concerned, including teenagers and undergraduates.

It's useful to have a hire car as the Finca is well away from Canillas, the nearest village and the hills are very steep and extremely twisty. Driving at night is not recommended, nor for those of a vertiginous disposition.

We stayed in Garden room 4 that had its own private roof terrace and was nicely tucked away with breathtaking views of the valley. Air on in each room set at 25c ensured that a restful nights sleep was possible.

There are a range of scenic and rural walks within 30 minutes drive and Grenada's Alhambra in only 90 minutes away. A small gym would be our only suggestion to improve this great hotel.

It's surprising how crowded the local area is with houses spotted all over he countryside. The place is also crawling with Brits that is unattractive but hardly the finca's fault!

Room Tip: Garden room 4 is great for romantic couples
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sm0ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Sue and Gordon have created a wonderful hillside retreat in a beautiful area of Spain. The simply furnished but comfortable rooms are all slightly different, providing superb views over the white villages, old olive grove with wild flower walks and tree house. Formal gardens leading down to the pool (several steps) provide a variety of both shaded and sunny areas for relaxing. The food was excellent, with the evening set meals a delight. An interesting and enjoyable twist was that we were taxied to local restaurants for 3 of the weeks evening meals.

We booked through Headwater for a walking holiday, though Sue and Gordon arranged everything:- Taxi to/from airport, local English walking guides, taxis to start or return from walks where needed, and taxis for the trip to Alhambra in Grenada.

The hiking in the area was fabulous (we had great weather), best taken with a guide as local maps may be insufficient. Be prepared for some steep ups and downs as it is a very hilly area.The pretty villages are not overrun with tourists and provide lunch time tapas stops.

Thank you Sue, Gordon, and all your staff for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmilingSixties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This gem of a hotel is found in a tranquil location with fabulous views of sweeping hills and valleys .Everything about this finca is wonderful so much so I don't really want to spread the word but its only fair to tell you about it .The food is especially delicious and memorable, and Sue and Gordon are the best hosts ever.I guarantee you'll have an awesome time here , and want to return!

Room Tip: All amazing
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 569sezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed at the finca for 3 nights and everything from the location, fab staff, animals, garden, pool, room and food were perfect.

We were in one of the garden rooms under the pool. The room was a good size, tastefully decorated in keeping with the finca, and we were able to lie in bed and look at the fab view across the valley. We also had our own terrace with table, chairs and sun loungers. There is a kettle in the room and you can get fresh milk from the fridge in the bar area. There is an honesty bar with a good selection of alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks.

Breakfast on the terrace was lovely and consisted of fruits, yogurts, cereal, eggs, cheese etc. we had a couple of lunches there and a meal one evening. I am vegetarian and they accommodated me very well including getting me soya milk!

A couple of nights we did the 20 minute walk, up and down the valley, to Canillas to eat, and then got a taxi back - 5 euros.

A lot of people staying there had been before and I totally understand why - we'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

What a fabulous way to celebrate our friendship of Claire - a groups of her friends enjoying laughter and time away in a beautiful place that meant so much to her! Gordon and Sue have created something special here - beyond the physical elements of this Finca there is the unique atmosphere - generated by the hosts and their attitude! The food was fab, the pool area stunning, the views awesome and the tree house something else! We will return!
G&F xx

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews