We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
144
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
144
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews local restaurants finca el cerrillo second visit painting holiday walking holiday honesty bar carob tree malaga airport nothing is too much trouble stunning views attention to detail multi level evening meals are swimming pool exceeded our expectations excellent food first class
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Just back from a great week at the Finca. This must have been at least our tenth visit and every time there is some fabulous addition. This time it was the incredible tree house Gordon has built in the old olive tree and 2 adult sized swings where you can sail serenely over the valley.
We even did a lovely new (to us) walk down the "Secret Valley"
Food and accommodation were excellent as usual and Sybil the new dog has great potential.
It was so good to get away from wet Britain to the warmth and sunshine.
Looking forward to our next visit.....

Room Tip: We have slept in nearly all the rooms and they are all good
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Just back from another visit to la Finca. The hotel is a piece of paradise set in the Spanish mountains and Sue and Gordon ensured that the hotel feels relaxed and friendly, a perfect place to unwind.

Room Tip: Lots of the rooms have their own terraces. The garden rooms are particular favourite of ours.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stunning location, amazingly well run, you feel more like a house guest than a hotel guest!!! Gorgeous views, so serene. Sue and Gordon make you feel right at home. The food is to die for too! 4 nights was not long enough - my mum has been 5 times!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niamh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We have stayed at the Finca twice now and are looking forward to going again in a couple of weeks' time. Sue and Gordon make everyone feel so welcome, the rooms are comfortable, the location beautiful and the food is delicious. We have been in late summer when it's hot but with the pool and all the lovely shady areas in the gardens, it's always easy to find a peaceful spot to relax, it's absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilbet48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We were a family of 19 aged from 10 to 76 stating of 7 nights at the end of July 2013.

Sue and Gordon, and the rest of the Finca team, bent over backwards to make our stay as ideal as possible. Nothing was too much bother and, having taken the entire Finca, they allowed us several extra favours like picnicking on the evenings we weren't dining in and preparing a birthday cake for our youngest who turned ten whilst we were there.

Breakfasts were delicious; whole meal toast, with Marmite against the mosquitoes, freshly prepared fruits and home made jams, tea and coffee.

Lunches were a delightful mix of tapas style jamon, pizza for the kids, salads and watermelon and cake for pudding.

Dinners on alternate nights were quite sumptuous, with no menu per we, but everything quite delightful, Andalician specials with and Anglo twist for the British palate. Every night we ate al fresco in the tastefully furnished an decorated gardens, under the carob tree, by the pool or on the formal tables.

The honesty bar was sensibly priced and worked well for all concerned, including teenagers and undergraduates.

It's useful to have a hire car as the Finca is well away from Canillas, the nearest village and the hills are very steep and extremely twisty. Driving at night is not recommended, nor for those of a vertiginous disposition.

We stayed in Garden room 4 that had its own private roof terrace and was nicely tucked away with breathtaking views of the valley. Air on in each room set at 25c ensured that a restful nights sleep was possible.

There are a range of scenic and rural walks within 30 minutes drive and Grenada's Alhambra in only 90 minutes away. A small gym would be our only suggestion to improve this great hotel.

It's surprising how crowded the local area is with houses spotted all over he countryside. The place is also crawling with Brits that is unattractive but hardly the finca's fault!

Room Tip: Garden room 4 is great for romantic couples
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sm0ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews