We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Superb”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canillas de Albaida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Finca el Cerrillo
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were with a Headwater walking group in early March 2014. Everything was as expected for a Headwater holiday in terms of organisation, venue and walking. However it would be remiss of me not to comment on the welcoming, friendly owners and staff at the Finca. Breakfasts were extremely good, lunches substantial, taken either as a tapas in a village or as a packed lunch for the hill. Dinners were excellent and were so good that by the end we were disappointed not to have eaten at the Finca every night. That is not to say the evening meals in three different local restaurants were poor, they were not. it was more that the food at he Finca was better!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoRod_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

Yes I have written about the Finca before but I just had to say that it has not changed. It is still one of the finest breaks you could have. We were here on a walking holiday organised by Gordon and Sue. In the group were some people who were new to the Finca, and at the end of the week, I heard some of them making bookings to return for some of the other breaks the Finca organises. This says it all. You just cannot get enough.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chasmac_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

From the moment we were met at the airport by Maria, and driven up to El Cerrillo, met by David and shown to our room, we had the feeling this was going to be something special, personal.
Later we met up in the cosy lounge, having first acquainted ourselves with the very well-stocked honesty bar, met our fellow guests and were given some information about the walking and the plan for the week. By this time, we felt more like house guests than hotel guests!
And then we had our first taste of the meals offered at the finca, a buffet supper with delicious salads and other hot dishes….everything we tried tasted fantastic, so light and tasty that eating three courses was not as difficult as we had imagined!
The following day we were taken on the 3 Villages walk with Rose and Elaine, both superb guides, full of knowledge about the area, friendly and good fun. This was a brilliant introduction to our immediate area, and a very enjoyable walk.
The week continued in the same vein, with many more interesting walks and a visit to the coast on our free day; all transport was organised, we didn’t have to think of a thing! Even the two visits to local restaurants were taken care of and included in the package.
This was one of the most enjoyable holidays we have ever experienced, and we congratulate Sue and Gordon on their magic formula: friendly, personal service, good food, lovely gardens, nice staff and interesting décor in the rooms…..May they continue to enjoy running Finca El Cerrillo for many years to come - we shall be back.

Room Tip: All rooms different with interesting decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

we booked a week's walking holiday in Andalucia with Headwater. Our base for the week was the Finca el Cerrillo, a small hotel, a renovted olive mill sitting in terraced gardens, with it's own pool and surrounded by Olive terraces also managed by the Finca.Sue and Gordon were our hosts and they gave us a warm welcome, a choice of rooms and a relaxing venue for our holiday.
We were joined by our guide Jenny from Competa for our daily hikes. She was an experienced guide who was encouraging to each of us in the group and had a wealth of knowledge of local history, the villages, flora and fauna and was tirleless in her enthusiasm for the area.
We had dinner in the hotel on alternate nights and the menu including a tapas night was wonderful. On the other nights we were taken to a local restaurants for dinner out together and enjoyed the spanish fare and wine.
Our room was lovely with a little sitting room with bedroom on one side and bathroom on the other. Oultside in the garden there were secluded sittiing areas. The terrace in front of the hotel had an ancient spreading carob tree with tables and chairs underneath, lovely shade and somewhere to sit and reflect on the days walking. A little library provided books of interest including mediterranean flower and tree books, so the list of new flowers seen and indiginous trees grew as the week went by
We had a day trip to the Alhambra palace Granada which was memorable.
Sue and Gordon were always available and nothing was a bother to them.
We loved our holiday here and would recommend the Finca el Cerrillo whether you want an active walking holiday or a good rest in a lovely small hotel and gardens.
r&y

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricdrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. Relaxed atmosphere - amazing food. Sue and Gordon are lovely hosts. The location is rural - so not for people who are looking for a city vacation. But if you want a perfect vacation in the Spanish countryside, this is the place.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CafeSitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel may not be classed as 5 star, but the friendly and relaxing atmosphere about the place I has to make it such. Sue and Gordon who own the Finca, are so welcoming, that you immediately bond and feel good friends with them. The food, which the hotel serves on 4 nights a week, is lovely. On other nights they recommend local restaurants which are also good.
You can totally relax here, whether it's lying by the pool, sitting in many of the secret cosy shady areas about the grounds, or even secreting yourself in the wonderful tree-house with its own bar!
We'll definitely go back - certainly one of the best places I've stayed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cloosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Just back from a great week at the Finca. This must have been at least our tenth visit and every time there is some fabulous addition. This time it was the incredible tree house Gordon has built in the old olive tree and 2 adult sized swings where you can sail serenely over the valley.
We even did a lovely new (to us) walk down the "Secret Valley"
Food and accommodation were excellent as usual and Sybil the new dog has great potential.
It was so good to get away from wet Britain to the warmth and sunshine.
Looking forward to our next visit.....

Room Tip: We have slept in nearly all the rooms and they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canillas de Albaida
1.2 mi away
Balcon de Competa Hotel and Bungalows
7.5 mi away
Hotel Palacio Blanco
Hotel Palacio Blanco
#2 of 5 in Velez-Malaga
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada la Plaza
Posada la Plaza
#1 of 3 in Canillas de Albaida
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mirador de Canillas
Hotel Mirador de Canillas
#3 of 3 in Canillas de Albaida
11 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Finca el Cerrillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Finca el Cerrillo

Address: 29755 Canillas de Albaida, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Canillas de Albaida
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canillas de Albaida
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing