We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pen ,paper and heaven”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Canillas de Albaida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Finca el Cerrillo
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Have you always fancied having a go at writing. Life story, memories or just putting pen to paper and seeing what happens. June 20th - 27th 2015 come and join us in the perfect place for inspiration, friendly hospitality, wonderful food and fun. Great friendships have been forged with fellow writers and the lovely staff at the hotel. Once you have stayed at this hotel you just want to go back again and again. It's as near perfection as it gets!
Rosanna Ley, well published authoress leads the writing course and there is plenty of encouragement all round. A group session gets us going in the morning then from 11-30 until lunch is our own time but with help and advice readily on hand if needed. Afternoons are free until a get together about 5-0 to listen to writers work or read your own efforts and have helpful feedback if that is what you want. All this interspersed with delicious food and fantastic views. Don't tell too many people there won't be many places available.

Room Tip: All rooms characterful and comfortable rooms accessed from the gardens will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Lazy by the pool. Wander down the many paths to nearby towns. Take in the view or put your feet up (with a drink) in the tree house. Maybe park off in the shade of secluded sitting areas. Enjoy the delicious food and hospitality on offer. Do none (or all) of the above, the choice is yours, the time your own. And you'll not be bother by what time, it is !

We were part of a birthday gathering and our friends had discovered this place a few years previously. It's quite a find.
The dozen or so rooms (seemed like more) are beautiful, all very individual and unique, as the first thing we did after arriving was a quick tour of everyone else's room to find out.
The owners appear to have thought of everything. And will arrange taxis and meal orders at restaurants in town for you and simple make your stay a memorable one. They also do themed holidays, walking, painting etc.
We were in no rush to leave and will certainly return again.

The Finca is inland from the coast and up in the hills. The road in, is very windy, yet spectacular. The airport an hour by taxi. Alternatively a bus will bring you to nearby Canillas from Malaga for less than €5 (you'll need a taxi from here, to cover the final mile).
The reward is worth every penny.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This beautifully arranged small hotel and garden in the hills is a wonderful place to relax with friends.It is much more like staying in the house of a very tolerant friend. in addition to the style and comfort, delicious lunches are available and Christine's suppers are vastly superior to the offerings available in local restaurants.
The whole experience is just magical

Room Tip: the rooms are all different but the unifying theme is comfort and simplicity, with good bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have just returned from the writing course I lead annually at the finca and thought it was about time I wrote a review. As a course leader this is my perfect venue. As hosts, Sue and Gordon simply can't do enough to make everyone's stay a joy, and theirs and Alison's organisational skills ensure that I get my own me-time without administrative stresses and strains. They think of everything. The food at the finca is prepared and cooked by Christine to an exceptional standard and we eat outside with a magnificent view of the Andalucian mountains. (David and Jennie are excellent maitre d's!). Three nights of the week we get to sample the local restaurants and see a bit more of the surrounding area. The accommodation is very comfortable and the decor tasteful and there is full air-conditioning throughout, including in the white studio where we work. But outside, the delicious pool, the shady nooks and the quirky tree-house and swings will tempt the most devoted writer to taking a break from their writing work. It matters not. This is a writing holiday. We do both. What could be nicer??

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent and all different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our second visit & it didn't disappoint. Had breakfast on a mountain one day & lunch on another mountain another day combined with a walk on each occasion or you could just eat & have transport back to the Finca. Wine tasting & Tapas lunch combined with another walk, walks not too long or strenuous as June is hot here. Dinner on the terrace was excellent with local wines purchased at the honesty bar. This is like being an honoured guest at a good friends house, Sue & Gordon have the concept perfected. All in all a perfect week. Re the Fitness Centre reviewed below, doesn't have one as such but the goat track to Canellas & the swimming pool, together with the walks, give you all the exercise you could want in wonderful surroundings.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is the most fabulous hotel that you relax in from the second you arrive until the second you leave.

There isn't an inch of the Finca that doesn't exude peace, calm, luxury or first class hospitality. Gordon and Sue welcome you like long lost friends and you almost feel as if you are staying in their own home. Nothing is too much trouble and they go that extra mile to make your stay enjoyable and relaxed.

Gordon's artristy really shows in all of the little touches around the Finca but the Tree House is a treat not to be missed. Sitting there at night with the fairy lights on and a glass of sparkling rose in your hand is pure bliss.

The food is fantastic - far better than eating out in the local restaurants, which are all excellent I hasten to add. Christine is a wonderful cook and her husband David, an excellent host.

Do yourselves a favour and book a stay - you will never regret it and I guarantee, you will be back many times.

Room Tip: Every room is first class and individually decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeafoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We last visited the Finca in Oct 2013 through Headwater Holidays. We loved it so much, we wanted to come back for our Wedding anniversary so we booked direct. We were welcomed like old friends by Sue and Gordon (and Sybil, the hound!) and soon settled in to a week of blissful company, great walks and great food. A few weeks before, I asked if flowers could be put into the room for my wife. No trouble ....... and Sue and Gordon even added a card from all the staff! There were walks to some gorgeous hideaway places and we never felt we were walking with a group, but with our 'family' or friends. One day we just decided to chill out at the hotel and it was sublime relaxing under the shade of a carib tree, a relaxing swim in the pool which overlooks the valley, an intimate drink at Basils Bar next to the tree house, and when I played 'Perfect Day' on my iPod, it was just that - the perfect day! We'll definitely be back next year!

Room Tip: They're all good and individual. Just relax knowing you'll get a great room and a quiet slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cloosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canillas de Albaida
1.2 mi away
Balcon de Competa Hotel and Bungalows
6.5 mi away
Hotel La Casa
Hotel La Casa
#2 of 8 in Torrox
282 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Palacio Blanco
Hotel Palacio Blanco
#3 of 5 in Velez-Malaga
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel Rural Sierra Tejeda
11.3 mi away
Hotel Las Orquideas
Hotel Las Orquideas
#1 of 1 in Los Romanes
84 reviews
9.4 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Finca el Cerrillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Finca el Cerrillo

Address: 29755 Canillas de Albaida, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Canillas de Albaida
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canillas de Albaida
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing