We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
143
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
143
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal restaurantsfinca el cerrillosecond visitpainting holidaywalking holidayhonesty barcarob treemalaga airportnothing is too much troublestunning viewsattention to detailmulti levelevening meals areswimming poolexceeded our expectationsexcellent foodfirst class
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Everything about this finca is just perfect; the owners and staff are welcoming and friendly, the accommodation is comfortable and the food is delicious. The finca is set in beautiful gardens complete with swimming pool and lots of shady areas to relax in. Everything is quietly and efficiently organised so that guest can relax and enjoy their stay.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lizclewett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

This place is unique. Artistically restored, each room has individual spacious charm. Several shaded seating areas for quietly sitting and enjoying this peaceful hilltop setting and a lovely pool and sun terrace. The food is also exceptional. It is used for many creative workshops and walking holidays. I cannot wait to return.....I know I will!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

This was our first organized walking holiday, and we couldn't have chosen a better place - we were met at Malaga airport by a taxi arranged from the hotel and after a short motorway drive we turned onto a series of narrow winding roads up into the hills, After passing through a few of the beautifully white Andulasian villages we were at Hotel Finca el Cerrillo. The first impression is one of astonishment at the love that has been put into converting an olive mill into a small private hotel. Every corner you turn has something special to see, from the beautiful tree house, the glorious gardens, secluded courtyard and shady sitting out areas, not to mention the welcoming swimming pool. Sue and Gordon (the English owners) and the rest of the staff go the extra mile to make you feel at home. In fact, at the end of the week, we felt we had been staying in someone's private house, it was that personal. The walking exceeded our expectations - you could choose what grade of walk you wanted to do each day, and several of us in our group "mixed and matched" throughout the week. Our guides were so helpful and attentive to our welfare that you felt very safe even walking up some rather narrow mountain paths. The food was delicious, both at the hotel and eating out. On our rest day, we sampled wines at the local Bodega, even trying a wine that was served at the wedding of the King of Spain. My only complaint on this holiday, which has nothing to do with the hotel, was flying home from Malaga airport. The queues were horrendous so do give yourself a good 2 - 3 hours before flying if you don't want to get stressed! This is definitely a corner of heaven and we hope to return before too long.

Room Tip: Every room is good - but don't expect a television in the room - it is not that type of hotel
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bernard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

From the moment you arrive at the Finca you are in paradise! Sue and Gordon and all the staff are most welcoming and attentive in a very genuine way. I have been on many of their walking weeks and recently was lucky enough to spend two weeks there. Everything is seamlessly organised and considered. The walking guides are knowledgeable and supportive. The food is consistently good. The hotel is a delight and there is nothing that can be faulted. You always meet very interesting people there too, many of whom quickly become friends.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BizzyB9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

Over the years I have spent a number of different holidays at the Finca and remain astounded that the high standards established by Sue and Gordon at the start have been maintained year after year. This time I spent the first Level 2 week warming up for a second more challenging walking week both of which met my expectations in full. The amount of effort put in to give everybody a great time is unbelievable and from personal experience I can say that the Finca puts many trendy " boutique " hotels to shame. The volume of repeat business and the fact that the Finca fills up so quickly says it all about this special place as does the effort made to integrate with - and by definition contribute to -the people and businesses in the area. Fantastic!

Room Tip: They are all unique and of a high standard
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MALCOLM R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews