We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant cheap and cheerful Andaluz food”
Review of Hotel Belen

Hotel Belen
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Colmenar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Belen
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colmenar
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a review of the RESTAURANT and not the accomodation. We are staying in the remote hills outside of Colmenar for Semanasanta and this place is fast becoming our local. Their menu of the day Mon-Fri is only 8 euro and comes with bread, salad, drinks (ask for tinto verano for a bottle of red and a bottle of gaseosa with iced glasses) and coffee/dessert. Their porro (thick type of gazpacho tomato/bread/garlic soup) is EXCELLENT and a meal in itself (only 4euro on the al carte menu) although often served as a primero with a menu. They also do coffee all day (lots of places in Andalucia shut off the coffee machines around 11am). The dining room is always full of locals and there are 4 tables on the street in the sun. The a la carte menu is in Spanish, French and English and although the staff speak very little/no English they are very friendly and accomodating and will explain everything slowly in simple Spanish to you. There's nothing fancy about this place but for simple Andaluz food for a very good price I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank reeneebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

We needed a hotel in the town as we were staying in a villa in the mountains that lost the water supply, hotel belen was the nearest place, so we arrived and asked for a room. The lady who greeted us spoke no english so we used what little spanish we had and she asked us to wait 10 mins for the other staff to arrive, we had a drink at the bar while we waited... and waited, half an hour passed the new staff had started so i approached them and had to do it all again, the previous lady had gone home without a word!
We did get a room in the end, but we felt that we were causing alot of inconvenience.
The room was clean and nice, the air conditioning stopped working in the middle of the night, i tried to explain in the morning but once again the staff seemed very un interested!
Spanish people do come across as rude and ignorant, but thats the way they are.
Unfortunately the staff at Belen were ignorant, rude and just couldnt be bothered.
Rooms are fine and cheap, but good luck getting one!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I have stayed at the Hotel Belen now on a number of occassions. There are around ten rooms in the hotel, all upstairs above the bar/restaurant. They all lead of a central attrium which allows in a lot of natural light. All rooms are basic, but very clean and feature a full bathroom, air conditioning, colour tv, spanish staions only, and a large balcony. The bar/ restaurant is the centre of village life, always busy. and serves good cheap food. Belen (the owner) and her staff speak very little english, but are all very nice and plesant. A nice place to stay in a proper Spanish village.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We stayed here during a week long cycling tour. Unfortunately, when we arrived in town on a Tuesday afternoon, all the reastaurants were closed (including Hotel Belen) so we foraged for food at the nearby market. We tried to go to bed early, but could not sleep due to the paper thin walls (I could hear our neighbor's cell phone ring, and later incessant snoring) and the hotel was quite full, so we heard doors slamming and locking all night long. If you want quiet and ambiance, this is not the place to go.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pdxtallgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2010

We went to a trip to Colmenar and stayed for lunch at the hotel Belen. The food was very good and very cheap, al healthy and tasty 'menú del dia'.
We left a bag with our cellphone, books and other stuff. When I phoned them to ask if they could send it to our place in Torremolinos - at our costs of cause - they asked for our addres and a few days later we found our things in the mailbox!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blijf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2008

This Hotel is one of two in the town of Colmenar and is the one the locals seem to favour. The pricing is extraordinarily good, the rooms very comforable and the food excellent.

There is more info on the their web site http://www.hotel-belen.com

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank colinjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2006

It is one of 2 hotels in Colmenar, about 30 miles north of Malaga. It is popular with cyclists ( which we were ) because of its position on the route between Granada and Antequera. It is one of only 2 restaurants in the town too. It is not a distinctive building from outside, but the rooms are quite large and comfortable and parts of the hotel have real character. The bar/ dining room is locked in the morning until about 9.12am, and there is the amusing sight of guests sat on the pavement terrace waiting for it to open, the signal for which is a diverse group of locals suddenly converging on the place which then suddenly becomes a fascinating hive of activity. A good insight to rural Spain.

Thank Nige and Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colmenar
60.2 mi away
Hotel Rural Buitreras
Hotel Rural Buitreras
#3 of 4 in Gaucin
11 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hotel Arco del Sol
Hotel Arco del Sol
#2 of 7 in Colmenar
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balcon de los Montes
Balcon de los Montes
#4 of 7 in Colmenar
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Casona de los Moriscos
0.0 mi away
Los Barrancos
Los Barrancos
#2 of 3 in Colmenar
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belen

Address: Colemnar, Colmenar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Colmenar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colmenar
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Belen is a modern family run hotel situated in the beautiful pueblo blanco (white village) of Colmenar on the western side of the of the spectacular Axarquia region inland from Malaga. Only recently completed, it provides extremely comfortable accommodation at very reasonable cost. The hotel is approximately 30 minutes drive from Malaga airport, Torre del Mar and Antiquerra - ideally suited for exploring 'Real Spain' and yet only half an hour from the sea. Booking may be made by either telephone or fax. However, as not all the staff speak english, we suggest that non-spanish speakers fax enquiries to avoid misunderstandings! There is currently no email facility in the hotel, but bookings may also be arranged through Rio Estates in Riogordo - email bookings to info@rioestates.com ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing