We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic. Would definitely go back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rural La Paloma
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic. Would definitely go back.”
Reviewed 7 July 2009

You walk into the welcoming reception area and instantly feel at home. Typically Spanish feel to the hotel, but run by a family of Italians. Absolutely lovely people, could not wish for better service or friendlier people. The room my friend and I stayed in was a small twin room which was clean and bright just a little small, but my other friends ( a double and a single) had bigger rooms that were very nice. Free wifi in the hotel also a bonus!

The food is fantastic, as mentioned before, run by Italians so need I say more....

We were all in Spain for a friends wedding, they had a cake disaster the day before (could not buy the ingredients needed in the local supermarket) so Mary - the italian grandmother chef in the hotel saved the day and baked a lovely cake with less than 24 hours notice.

Location - totally in the middle of nowhere, our hire car took a beating when we went out to explore the rural area, but absolutely gorgeous scenery and about an hour from Malaga and Grandana airport so not too far out so that you cant get to it. Nothing much at all to do in the area, the local resteraunts are a bit dismal and dont expect them to speak English, and lots of things were closed where ever we went, but the food was so good at the hotel we were happy to stay there and have a drink around the pool.

We all enjoyed a pampering day at Phillipas - she is a massuse who also lives in the middle of nowhere about 20 mins from the hotel, but we relaxed by her pool and she really does give the best massages at a very reasonable price. Again, beware of the dirt track roads leading to her house (there are business cards at La Paloma reception)

All in all a great long weekend had at the La Paloma and would return mainly because of the lovely people who run the hotel.

word of advise...take a Sat Nav if you intend to hire a car, which is wise!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    20
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
15
49
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

I stayed here recently with 4 friends for a wedding. I have to say my expectations were quite low but were amazingly surpassed. the hotel is run by Italian husband and wife Philippo and Elena with Elean's mum Mary. All speak impeccible English and couldn't be more helpful or friendlier, even giving us a lift to the wedding we went to and organising us a taxi back. prob the most friendly hotel i've ever stayed in - a real home from home

The location of the hotel is on a main road a couple of km from the centre of villa nueva de tapia (itself a small village with not much there), and about 45 mins from malaga, so I wouldn't recommend the hotel for people wanting any nightlife or a wide variety of restaurants. However, the hotel has a great little restaurant (open most of the day) with the best food in the area (spanish/italian) so if you're looking for a place to go and do very little and just have a break you can't do better and can happily eat in the hotel every night. the rooms are a fair size and nicely decorated and the pool is lovely, and there's a relaxing terrace to just sit and chill out and have breakfast or coffee.

overall a bit of a steal - the price doesn't by any means reflect what you get for your money, they should probably charge double what they do

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KitW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2008

Very good value hotel near Granada. Elena, the owner, and her mother could not have been more helpful and charming. Good food, lovely location. Free wi-fi (and loan of their laptop) was a plus.

  • Liked — Charming owners
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gardeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, North Yorks
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

A surprising but delightful find in the middle of rural Andalucia. Wonderful Italian food and excellent service by the very friendly owners. If you're feeling rather hot you are very welcome to have a dip in the pristine pool to cool off, even if you're not a resident!

My family, friends and I visited 3 times in one week and enjoyed the beautiful views,

Ps It doesn't look much from the outside but don't be put off as you won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank tomwaits8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2008

A lovely little hotel - only 8 guest bedrooms - with aircon, ensuites and TV, outside swimming pool surrounded by flowers, fields and mountains. Halfway between Malaga and Rute or Granada (30 minutes to each). Nice continental breakfast, excellent restaurant for lunches and dinners, bilingual menu with good choices. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Liked — Ideal for overnight stay
  • Disliked — Not suitable for a long stay, as pretty isolated
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HardtopleaseSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villanueva de Tapia
7.3 mi away
Hotel Caserio de Iznajar
1.9 mi away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
8.6 mi away
Hotel Rural Llano Pina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlos Astorga
Hotel Carlos Astorga
#3 of 6 in Archidona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
7.5 mi away
Caseria de San Jose
Caseria de San Jose
#4 of 9 in Iznajar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hacienda Mendoza
Hacienda Mendoza
#2 of 6 in Archidona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rural La Paloma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rural La Paloma

Property: Hotel Rural La Paloma
Address: Ctra A-333 Km 63, 29315 Villanueva de Tapia, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Villanueva de Tapia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Villanueva de Tapia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Rural La Paloma 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run hotel in the heart of Andalucia, ideal to relax and visit Malaga, Granada, Cordoba, Sevilla. The restaurant combines the traditional spanish gastronomy with italian touch. When the weather is warm we serve the breakfast on the terrace with lovely view over the countryside. There are plenty of activities in the area such as riding, trekking, mountain bike or just relax by the pool reading a book. We give personal attention to out guests to make them feel home and making their holiday unforgettable!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rural La Paloma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rural La Paloma Spain/Villanueva De Tapia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing