We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature pure”
Review of Antoniushutte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Antoniushutte
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Balve
Reviewed 25 August 2013

If you love nature, this is the right place. Nestled in the sauerland, the Antoniushuette is a very nice hotel. Just make sure you ask for a nice room. Mine was on the ground floor and somehow it had no good ventilation. Kept the windows open over night but the room never cooled down. Great place for long walks, restaurant food was nice and very good breakfast

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank doritg888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

The hotel is situated in a small town far from main roads. You may need a good map or GPs to find it. Once there you will find a fine country hotel with a pleasing combination of old charm and modern comfort. There is mural in the restaurant that chronicles the development of the hotel by the same family, from a bakery in 1934 to its current form, which consists of the hotel, a conference center, reception facilities for weddings etc. and a fine restaurant. We chose the standard room in the Pfarrhaus which is about 50 yards from the main building and up quite a few steps. There is no lift so maneuvering luggage to the 2nd or 3rd floor could be a slight struggle. We asked for a cool room and received a corner room with a window on the side with good cross ventilation. The upper Pfarrhaus rooms share a terrace which overlooks a peaceful valley with lovely hills in the background. The restaurant is a little upscale, with an ambitious menu and excellent food. There was a note of welcome at our dinner table from the staff which was a nice touch. The room was roomy with lots of closet space and a bathroom that is completely up to date. The town consists of the hotel, another nice hotel, a quaint church, some riding facilities, and little else. There is however an extensive network of trails around the town that provide ample walking, riding and bicycling options. I could not receive WIFI in the Pfarrhaus but had no trouble in the main building. The breakfast was excellent. The receptionist remembered that I look for the morning paper, and brought it especially to my table the next morning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luv2Go2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Arrived as a group early morning, quick check in and the owner offered us to have breakfast although it was not a part of the rental/
All rooms are very spacious and ckean
At the main buildind the rooms are renovated
The staff is very friendly and ready to help

Room Tip: Prefer the main building and chhose according to preferences because each room is different
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DK5179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Rooms are quite large, but I heard it depends on which room you stay in, as some are newly renovated. The hotel is basically made of 3 or 4 different buildings.
Electric plugs are everywhere in the room. Bath room is large with a shower. Lighting was good.
For the negative: the TV had only a very limited choice of channels, no CNN or other English speaking channels. Some light bulbs were broken, but not repaired during the cleaning. The bed was also not too good, I was under the impression that the head side was lower than the feet side and the pillows were extremely soft. Hotel wrote in their brochure that they can change the pillow and the mattress for you, but I guess not at 23:00 - when you want to start sleeping... (at least I did not want to trouble them at that time)

The internet is provided by Deutsche Telekom, hence you will have to purchase online the ticket for it. As I am a customer of Deutsche Telekom, it did not cost me, but if you are not, then the costs can quickly run unto 20 EUR a day or so.

There was also no minibar, only a small 200 ml mineral water bottle. I heard though that you can get more at the reception (which maybe a 150 m walk away from your room)

Breakfast was good and the staff at check-in check-out and breakfast was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel offers a full range of wellness stuff, but I did not make any use of it.

So yes, 4 star, but there are some "but's". So look forward to your stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yogimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ich war in Zimmer 44, welches über zwei Etagen verfügt....schlafen, Fernsehen, entspannen mit Stereo...
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank stephanheggemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wir hatten ein wunderschönes großes Zimmer in der zweiten Etage im Schulhaus, perfekt!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimkoe912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balve
3.7 mi away
Hotel Palatino
Hotel Palatino
#2 of 11 in Sundern
47 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Zur Post
#3 of 3 in Balve
18 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Haus Recke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Sunderland Hotel
Sunderland Hotel
#1 of 11 in Sundern
96 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Seegarten
3.9 mi away
No photo provided
Haus Drei Konige
#1 of 3 in Balve
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antoniushutte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antoniushutte

Address: Eisborner Dorfstr. 10, 58802 Balve, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Balve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Balve
Price Range: £102 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antoniushutte 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Antoniushutte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing