We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Review Highlights
Fun times with friends

We did the ned Kelly room! Very well thought out! Very entertaining! Deffinetly made you think... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
dylano240
,
Cranbourne, Australia
via mobile
Awesome alternative to an afternoon of work!!

It was challenging but so much fun! Thankfully we are all still talking to each other at the end... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Stefanieswan
via mobile
Read all 124 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Fitzroy
from US$49.73
More Info
from US$28.11
More Info
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
118
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
118
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews escape room ned kelly medieval room attention to detail great puzzles an absolute blast group of friends ancient egypt egyptian room can't wait to come back snow queen solving puzzles lovely staff fun night bar area lots of fun challenging
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2018

My family and I have played over a hundred escape rooms in the US and a few around the world. The Mystery Rooms were amongst the very best we've seen. We played the Tomb on a Sunday night and really enjoyed the puzzles. My daughter is fan of all things Egyptian, so she helped make the pick. We were glad she did as we all really liked the unique setting of that room that incorporates sand and the rest of the venue including the bar area.

Josh was an excellent host before and after the game. We thought we couldn't play the rest of the rooms as they were closed on Monday and Tuesday, our last two days in Melbourne. Josh offered to come in on Tuesday midday, allowing us to do the medieval room and the climactic room against the snow queen. That's extraordinarily customer service from a really engaging fellow.

Both of those rooms are huge with great puzzles, excellent staging, and an unique system, different in each room, that allowed for clues/help to be given without disrupting the flow of the game.

I was truly impressed by the rooms and my entire family whole-heartedly recommends them as some of the best and most engaging in the world.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Forrest N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

My family and I all love escape rooms! We only discovered them a year ago and now we are hooked! After completing 20 or so in Sydney we thought we would make the most of the long weekend and venture to Melbourne to try out some different rooms. We discovered the Mystery Rooms on Tripadvisor and we knew we had to try all of the rooms! After checking via email that it was possible (thanks Tom!) we booked all 4 rooms in.

From the moment we arrived we were spellbound. The theming was incredible and so far all I had seen was the bar area and the briefing room!

Our adventures took us to Ancient Egypt, Medieval England, 1880's Victoria before we met with the Snow Queen in the final chapter. Excellent puzzles and fantastic theming again - across all 4 rooms. The way you receive hints is unique to each room and in keeping with the theme of the room. This was actually amazing and quite different to anything we had experienced before.

We managed to escape all 4 rooms - yay! We loved that there was so much to do in each room and we had to remember what we were supposed to be doing as we were so impressed with the attention to detail in all 4 of the rooms. We kept looking around and admiring it all when we were supposed to be solving the puzzles!

Josh, Rachel and Ashley were excellent hosts and game masters. Thank you for the warm welcome guys and for chatting to us all day about escape rooms in general. We loved every minute of it!

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Kirrilee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018

We've just completed our second escape room at The Mystery Rooms. This room had a medieval theme and was definitely more challenging than the first room! It requires lots of focus and teamwork but is also heaps of fun - it really makes you think in different ways! The rooms here are so incredibly well designed - nothing is as it seems! Highly recommended for a group activity that's different! We will be back to do our third room soon!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Ais999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

This is the second of four rooms we have taken on by The Mystery Rooms. It was so much fun, we have done a number of escape rooms now and have found these to be super interesting and engaging. Can't wait to come back and do the final two rooms!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Hayden C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

Rachael was a fabulous host setting the scene perfectly. We did the Egyptian room and found it challenging but we did manage to solve it just in time and loved the array of surprising and varied puzzles.Geat decor...including the bar and waiting area. Very professional feel. We'll be back to try the other rooms.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Loca_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews