We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark and gloomy, warm and friendly”

The Alchemist Bar & Cafe
Ranked #176 of 295 Restaurants in Fitzroy
Neighbourhood: Fitzroy
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Fitzroy
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Dark and gloomy, warm and friendly”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I purchased a voucher on a daily deals website for our anniversary. When we arrived my husband said "You need to be more careful when you buy these". It was more of a bar and catered for people younger than our age group. It was dark and the table we were shown to was coffee table height and size. We were sitting in armchairs. The furniture was not matching although it was comfy. We were brought a degustation of stuffed mushrooms, chicken skewers, seafood wraps, grilled halloumi cheese, pork belly, seafood curry, chocolate pudding and vanilla ice-cream, The food was beautiful and for a degustation, generous portions. Service was prompt and staff friendly. If you phone to make a reservation, don't be put off by the answering machine. There is no mention of the restaurant, but don't hang up because it sounds like a wrong number. It is worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barbante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mornington, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“beautiful food”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Had a pleasant 5 course vegetarian meal for two & the food was unbelievably good with so much flavour & thought was put into the presentation also. The atmosphere was casual,relaxed in a lovely antique lounge setting. l will definately return again!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Best cocktail bar yet!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had dinner here but that was not the highlight. The food was fairly standard restaurant type cuisine that was tasty and served without delay, but the real star of the evening had to be the cocktails! Planning to just have one or two before moving on, we just couldn't leave without sampling more of the tasty concoctions on offer! Great friendly service and a quirky setting and all in all a fantastic spot to visit!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SuperSteph90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Comfortable and gloomy, this is the go to place for a 'mystery' cocktail. Choose your favourite tastes and flavours and let the barman go to work. Great fun

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning Cocktails”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Ever-evolving cocktail list with some theatric bartenders, you'll love your experience here. Check with the bartender for his/her unique concoction..!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NomadsChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Alchemist Bar & Cafe also viewed

 
Fitzroy, Yarra
 

Been to The Alchemist Bar & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing