We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It just gets better”
Review of Ladro

Ladro
Ranked #43 of 295 Restaurants in Fitzroy
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It just gets better”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Dropped in for a quick impromptu dinner on Saturday night. Knew it would be busy as always, but being it was latish i was sure we would get spot, even if it was at the bar, which it was.

Ordered the Otto pizza as not tried it before, bufala, speck, anchovies, capers, basil, dressed rocket. It was delicious, washed down with a beer, my new favourite.

All done for about $31, bargain.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PlanToExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    50
    16
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great vino & great people!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Visited this great Italian restaurant while on a work trip and the whole experience was fantastic, with close and attentive wait staff and delicious food we had a great time. I would recommend this place to the more relaxed diner who wants to enjoy the Italian way of life. The open kitchen provides entertainment and atmosphere. I will definitely be coming back soon.... Just need to catch a flight from NZ so maybe soonish!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoortjedeBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good authentic Italian food”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We went here on the recommendation of some locals and weren't disappointed. Loved the gnocchi with oxtail ragu! The patate pizza was authentic in its simplicity. We hadn't planned on having desert but weakened and enjoyed a stylish tiramisu. Staff were friendly and attentive but never overbearing. Looking forward to trying other parts of the menu when we are next in Melbourne.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not good!”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Our party of 16 had dinner here during the week.
We arrived 10 minutes early and we were told they dont open for another 10 minutes.
All we wanted was a drink as it was a hot day. We were left standing at the front of the restaurant for the whole 10 minutes. Bad service.

We had a set menu and nothing was that nice, except the calamari and the mushroom pizza.
The rest of the hot food was cold and the cold food wasnt!
I felt there was too much chilli used. It was on the pizza, in the pasta and on the side of veggies!
The pasta was not cooked through, not good!
The donuts for desert were stodgy but the icecream was nice.

Their wine menu wasnt good either, they only has 2 bottles of Sauvingnon Blanc left, how does that happen?

We had to ask the waitress to turn the lights on as we were stiing in darkness.
I wont be going back and spending my hard earned cash here!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carms2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The pizza was great here - nice base and fresh tasty toppings. Service was average if not a little pushy. I guess they aim to turnover as many tables as possible.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy-444444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ladro also viewed

 

Been to Ladro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing