We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, quiet and comfortable rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Schloss Burgellern
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Schesslitz
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Stopped here on our way for business in Bad Staffelstein. Great dinner, quiet and comfortable rooms. Reasonable prices, Very good value. If you have a reason to be in this neck of the woods, stay at Schloss Burgellern.

Room Tip: The ones we had in the annex were fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldboltonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

This place has been slowly restored, and it is almost there. First thing to say is that there is no elevator, so be wary if you have a lot of luggage, or, like us, a 2 year old in tow. The grand staircase walkup gets you fit..!
The hotel is well run, and very peaceful, and the owner could not have been more friendly. His English is perfect. The fields and the yard surrounding the Schloss were perfect for our 2 year old to run around.
The courtyard is also ideal for an evening meal in summer, with kids playing and no cars.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mellowdigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012


The location of the old Castle is in the middle of nowhere on the route from Berlin to Munich. Great for Transit.
We travelled as a couple, both 32yrs, looking for a special place with flair and good food for one night.
We found the place thru a online guide for design/nature hotels. Price was 129 per night for a Doubleroom incl. BF.

The service is very warm and friendly. You can tell the people are locals/family biz.
The rooms are really nicely renovated but you can still feel the historic vibes of the building.
A personal touch you'll never find at chain hotels...
Great bed, super comfy. Sky TV for the latest movies and sport news!
The dinner was of great quality, we had a veal Schnitzel and a tasty mushroom dish.
The breakfast was even better, fresh orange juice included, fresh made eggs included, and yummy bread assortment. In general the quality of breakfast is really good in german Hotels but this place had the extra vibe.

They also offered E-bike rental, if we would have had more time we explore the nature/woods of the area ...
Next time!

B&T

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Bianca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We have stayed in Burgellern several times and just love it as a base for our visits to the Bayreuth Festival.
The hotel consists of a former Manor House and a smaller building, formerly used by the nobels' employees. The setting is spectacular in its wild park and still in the middle of the small franconian village, right opposite church.
The Manor House has been meticoulisly restored and offers few but spacious and very nice rooms. There is no A/C and no mini bar: but who needs the former in Germany and the later at all? They provide free bottled water in the rooms, also tea makers etc. All in all I can recommend the rooms.
The restaurant is very good, the menu not enormous but very well assorted. Service is variable depending on who's on duty. They are all very friendly, though. We love the fact that it is no problem at all to get food after the Bayreuth performances, which is not common in the area! Wines are good, too. Prices are reasonable.
If you like quietness, a stroll in the park or a swim in a fairly cold but very large natural pool, you'll love Burgellern.
I don't understand what's difficult to find here: the hotel is located next to the Autobahn but does not suffer from it.
We will return.

Room Tip: You'll have to choose: the rooms away from the restaurant and the ballroom hear the church bells...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Telramund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The hotel is conveniently located, very close to the Autobahn, about 45 km from Bayreuth and 20 from Bamberg. We used it as a starting point for the Bayreuther Festspiele (35 mins to the Festspielhaus by car). The hotel is relatively new and situated in an old castle. Rooms are clean and spacious but lack facilities (no A/C, no minibar, no safe-deposit box). Service is very slow and not very professional (at breakfast one morning, we were told we could not get coffee, because there were no coffee pots available; coffee arrived at the end of breakfast... ). Overpriced and more 3 start than 4.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PvLAchterveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

This location was very difficult to find. The hotel was pratically empty when we arrived. We found none of the amenities advertised. We did a walkabout to locate them but found nothing. The food was terrific, however, in the restaurant. In the middle of the night, I looked out my window and thought that if there was ever a place the villagers would rise up and murder us all in the night, this was it. Weird and spooky.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CanadianRosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

We spent three nights here. The rooms are large, the beds comfortable, the bathroom was clean and adequate in size. All requests we had from the staff were answered quickly and without problems. Satellite-TV-Receiver in each room was nice. The LCD TV was a little too far from the bed, which made it seem too small to watch. The restaurant was a cut above normal, interesting meal options and good prices. We ate here on all three evenings. If you want things a little quieter, ask for a room in the building away from the restaurant. The woods next to the property were nice for an evening stroll.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoosierinNuremberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schesslitz
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Kurhotel an der Obermaintherme
Best Western Plus Kurhotel an de...
#1 of 4 in Bad Staffelstein
148 reviews
19.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Goldene Traube
5.5 mi away
Zum Loewen
Zum Loewen
#1 of 1 in Staffelstein
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bamberg
9.8 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#3 of 40 in Bamberg
172 reviews
9.8 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schloss Burgellern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schloss Burgellern

Address: Kirchplatz 1, 96110 Schesslitz, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Schesslitz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Schesslitz
Price Range: £114 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Schloss Burgellern 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The former castle of the duke-bishops of Bamberg is located near the city gates of Bamberg in one of the most picturesque regions of Germany, right between the upper river main valley and a mountainous region, called "Franconian Switzerland". In addition to modern equipment and a singular ambiance, one of the regions largest private parks invites our visitors to take a rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Schloss Burgellern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing