We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mainly an excellent hotel but with some drawbacks”
Review of Taurito Princess

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taurito Princess
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Taurito
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We were on the 11th floor with spectacular views over the sea and bay. Our room was a reasonable size with an old fashioned television which showed Sky News. We had to pay 15 Euros for the week to pay for the safe as this was not included in the all inclusive package. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was quite big and the shower was powerful with no shortage of hot water Soap, shower gel ,shampoo and a hair drier were supplied. Our room was cleaned every day with fresh towels. We encountered no problems with the lifts,only a longer wait occasionally in the mornings. The reception staff were first rate and we could not fault them. The rest of the staff we encountered were all friendly and efficient. Breakfast was great with a wide choice. Lunch was good but perhaps the addition of some cold meats to go with the salads would have been nice. The evening meal varied and we would all round describe it as very average. The food apart from the breakfast was not hot and sometimes it was barely lukewarm and this was probably our major criticism of the hotel itself. Beer,wine soft drinks and water were available on tap at several drinks stations throughout the hotel.The poolside bar during the day was also widely used and good.The piano bar in the evening was a pleasant place to mix with other guests . The pianist who played 6 days a week It became a little boring as it seemed the same every night. The cabaret was average to poor and it did not help because of the low stage and pillars that made it very difficult to see the acts fully, unless you were seated at the front. If you wanted to go out at night there was nowhere to go. The resort had no bars and if you wanted a walk you could not go far, probably about 800 metres which to us was a drawback. There was a daily courtesy shuttle bus service to Puerto Mogan that only operated once a day which was insufficient. We understand from our "Rep" that there were more but the hotel had cut down due to costs. On the plus side there was a regular bus at the top of he hill that went to Puerto Mogan (well worth a visit) and Puerto Rico where you could change to get another bus to Meloneras. Also a small taxi rank Overall we had a lovely holiday but are undecided whether we would return primarily due to the location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio S, Gerente at Taurito Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Richard,

Thank you very much for haven chosen Taurito Princess for your vacation. We are very happy to read you rate our Hotel as excellent. All our staff members work very hard in order to maintain the high standards our guests demand. As you mentioned, our Hotel is located directly near the sea and to the Puerto of Mogán making it ideal for relaxation.

We look forward in welcoming you again in Taurito Princess.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,179 - 1,185 of 2,544 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

I will start off with the positives. Our room on the 7th floor was a good size with great views. It was cleaned daily with fresh towels.The bathroom and shower were very good. The beds were comfortable. The staff throughout were excellent polite and helpful. The breakfast was superb and the lunch had a varied choice. There were plenty of sunbeds available so you did not have to get up at the crack of dawn to reserve them. The average- The evening meal was OK with the starter and desserts being very good whilst we thought the main course was often not up to par. A choice of two restaurants. The Italian was only open for about 1 hour from 7.30. The piano bar in the evening was nice but with the same pianist 6 nights of the week it got very repetitive and could do with more variety. The saxophone player who featured once a week was terrific. The negatives. The cabaret was either average of poor with the emphasis on dance acts. the biggest problem however was the viewing as it was difficult to see unless you were near the front. this was mainly due to the fact the stage was only slightly raised from the floor. During our stay there was a significant number of young children under 2 some of who were quite disruptive. This aspect was unexpected and disappointing, especially as there was no area during the day for adults only which would have gone part of the way to resolving the problem. Also the supposed free shuttle bus service to Puerto Mogan only ran once a day and was very crowded. It should be increased to at least twice a day. The resort itself outside the hotel had little to offer with nowhere to walk and had no other bars if you wanted to "escape". which to us was the major criticism of where we stayed. There was a nice beach here though and there was a bus service which was a 10 minute walk uphill and ran every 20 minutes on weekdays (half hourly at weekends) to both Puerto Mogan and Puerto Rico. We overall enjoyed our holiday but because of the location and having not even a small only adult only section we would not return here again.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor as above the kitchen and subject to generator noise during the nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnthonyMilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio S, Gerente at Taurito Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Anthony,

Thank you very much for haven chosen Taurito Princess for your Holiday. We appreciate your nice words regarding our staff; they always work very hard and give their best. We are continuously in progress to maintain the high standards our guest demands.

Thank you for your review.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

There were so many things wrong with this Horrible Holiday I do not have the time to report them all in detail but I felt I must at least warn fellow travellers, think VERY, VERY carefully before staying here.
We got off to a bad start, having not used Thomson before or been to Gran Canaria,( we have travelled the World and stayed in lots of Hotels/Resorts) I decided to go to a Thomson Shop. Early on, I asked if I booked there and then would I get the same price as me booking on the internet, was told yes but a £10 per head admin fee would be charged, this I agreed to. Having booked 14 days ( first two weeks in March) When I got home ,for peace of mind I checked on the First Choice Website and found to my HORROR it was £164 LESS, after a quick phone call and a "Few Words" they got back to me and said the Manager had agreed to refund £144. No apology, and I had to return to the shop to get the Refund.
Having checked in at the Hotel,( No Welcome Drink) the room was NOT 4 Star standard so requested a move, shown other rooms that were just as BAD. I took an "UPGRADE" to a Junior Suite at a cost of 30 EUROS per night for the room only, I was also given GOLD star banding ( normally 50 EUROS per night in Total)
My advice, if you still RISK going here is, DO NOT PAY for an upgrade, it is NEVER WORTH IT !
There is LESS storage than a standard room, The shower flooded the bathroom floor and the hallway ( they made one attempt to fix it after 10 days,but still leaked)
Tea and Coffee in room ,BUT, ONLY for the FIRST DAY !!!! after that you had to remember to get fresh supplies from downstairs !! One day the cups and saucers DISAPPEARED.
Glasses were only cleaned on day one !!
We had a Blocked Toilet, The towels were mostly rough and thin, one day only left ,one each.
Had to ask for replacement soap. Bath robes like Rough Sandpaper and only fit Dwarfs.
Bathroom door looked as if it was found in a tip !! Balcony, cracks and paint peeling, outside light busted..To think I gave the Maid a tip day one !!!
Some BULLET POINTS, Large WIDE pillars in Theatre and Piano Bar means your view is VERY restricted, Glasses at piano bar had lipstick on them quite often, have to wait for lifts, bar service, reception, far too long on numerous occasions, UNDER STAFFED.
Beach towels cost 1.50 EUROS each if you want a change, Wi -FI 6 EUROS a day and not very good, No bottles of water free,,AT ALL, For two beds and one Parosol on the beach per day is 11 EUROS. If you want A la Carte/waiter service ( Tuesdays Only) in Italian rest, 15 Euros Each.
Gold Band BRANDED Drinks, only brandy is Fundador, Pay for Southern Comfort, Irish coffee and if you don't mention Gold Band often get local brands.
Asked SEVERAL times for Princess Hotels M.D. details to write and complain, told not allowed to give it !!!
Thomson Rep promised to send their details for complaints ( Gave my E-mail address, as requested) to date, not a word. I feel it would be a waste of time anyway, they are only interested in MAXIMUM PROFIT, NOT SERVICE.
I would like to make it clear, this is THANKFULLY, the First Time I have had to write a GHASTLY REVIEW, Sadly, up to now my reviews have been full of praise, after a lifetime of travelling.
I am only too happy to give a whole lot more facts if anyone wishes to contact me .

Room Tip: Lower floors if you do not want to keep waiting for lifts or risk a lift breakdown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ForeSurreyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio S, Gerente at Taurito Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for haven chosen Taurito Princess for your vacation. We take notice of your opinion and thank you for have taken your time to write a review.

We thank you for your opinion.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Went here for a relaxing break in mid March. Travelled with a package from Thomsons. Flight was poor, no tv, no radio, no meals only the hard sell of expensive drinks and snacks. Transfer was 2 hrs and 5 mins from landing, so slow. Hotel check in was quick and efficient from friendly staff. Room was on floor 8, lift was ok when working but normally a long wait in morning and evening. Food was very good with a wide and varied selection, only complaint was the food was not very hot. Different themed nights in restaurants but don't expect s large selection of Chinese or Mexican dishes, just stew variations. All drink was help yourself on tap( beer sangria wines and cava, all soft drinks and tea and coffees.) Entertainment was mediocre to say the least, normal acts but better than animation team entertainment, Elvis, magician,tribute groups, acrobats etc. Animation team were excellent. First class gymnasium in need of air con. Nowhere to walk at night as it is only a small.resort with other hotels. Free bus or public bus service to nearby Puerto Mogan which is worth a visit, lots of restaurants if you feel like a meal out. Lovely tidy gardens and pool area with plenty of sunbeds but don't put your towel down before 10 or it will be removed to reception. Piano bar seemed very popular for older guests who enjoy dancing old time. All bar staff.and waitresses are very efficient and friendly. Courtesy room was available free of charge for late check out. All in all an excellent hotel in a quiet location for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Rooms up to 5 have a pool view, higher floors only a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio S, Gerente at Taurito Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Ray,

Thank you very much for haven chosen Taurito Princess for your relaxing break. We are honoured for you describing our Hotel as: Excellent. We are continuously working hard to improve the services we offer and to achieve the high expectations of our guests.

We look forward in welcoming you again in Taurito Princess.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Like other,s we scan all the reviews prior to booking and hope for the best. We travelled 15/3/14 and stayed for 7 nights. 'We' were two adults and two teenage daughters. We don't like busy / noisy, wanted a place to chill and relax. The first impression of this hotel were good, It looked attractive and was set in a relatively small complex in comparison to the hotels we had seen whilst transferring from the airport. It sits on the front of the cliff with all rooms facing the sea. The beach is clean and is right on the doorstep. This offers water activities if you are interested, but never got manically busy. We were greeted by a friendly gent who booked us in quickly, we were offered a glass of fizzy wine whilst this was happening. The reception was large, clean and quite attractive. We were on the 3rd floor, the good thing about this was we could run up and down the stairs with no problem as the lifts; of which there are three, are busy and quite slow, one wasn't working while we were there. Having said that they are novel, as they enter the outside of the hotel after the 3rd floor and offer stunning views. we had adjoining rooms, both had twin beds; you can push them together, they were comfy, we like a firm mattress, which these were. the room was basic but clean, fresh towels daily. We had a large balcony which had a rail to hand towels. You are supplied with pool towels which you keep for your duration, so you only need your own towel if you use the beach or venture out. The pool was split into 2. A cold side and a heated side, sympathetically 'seasoned' with chlorine, without that awful eye sting that you often get. It was good to note that the staff tested the water at least 6 times a day. The pool area was clean, tidy and the bins emptied almost constantly. AND, no bed saving prior to 10am, and there was a lot of Germans around!!! Anyone leaving items on the bed before this time had them removed and placed in reception for collection.The food was beautifully presented, fresh, clean serving and seating areas and offered a pretty good choice. Our least favourite was the Italian restaurant that you can 'turn up' to at 7.30pm - only because there wasn't such a choice. There were plenty of self service soft and alcoholic drinks and various bars. The self service areas were kept spotlessly clean. I can honestly say that all the staff we encountered were polite, friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The animation team are around in the day - but don't cause too much stress, LOL, the evening entertainment consisted of several acts, but I cant comment too much as hotel entertainment isn't our thing, but others seemed to enjoy it! There are regular buses to and from the area, Mogan port is worth a visit, it is busy on a Friday when they have a market. Not many negatives really to state, except the slow lifts, no kettle in the room for a cuppa; unless you are a premium room, but then they don't seem to object to you taking drinks up to your room, there was a cobweb on our ceiling - thats it!!! We had a fab, quiet, food eating, rest in the sunshine. one of the nicest hotelswe have stayed in!

Room Tip: Floor 3 was great! The top floors have even more stunning views, if you don't mind the lifts I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio S, Gerente at Taurito Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for haven chosen Taurito Princess for your stay in Gran Canaria. We really appreciate your nice review regarding your stay with us. Our staff members will be very happy to know they did a great job during your stay. They always work very hard in order to fulfil the wishes of our clients.

Thank you very much for your nice review.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The whole experience was one of pleasure, the food was excellent with a wide choice for all tastes, a laid back atmosphere catering for a more mature guest, although I suspect that it would attract families in the school breaks, being located close to a water park, the entertainment was fine, it served it purpose well, and karaoke for the braver guests, there are several bars and self service stations, so getting a beer or wine was never a problem, cocktails were on offer as well as all spirits, If you want a holiday that focuses on relaxation, sun and good food, then you would be hard pressed to find a better one, We did make it out to the local harbour town, which was well worth the trip, it has a great vibe and lots of bars and restaurants if one desires sustenance, All the staff were friendly and helpful, there are only 3 lifts but "hey hoe" its a great excuse to burn off those extra calories by taking the stairs on the odd occasion. All of our party enjoyed themselves and all said how nice it was, and great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gib5735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio S, Gerente at Taurito Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for haven chosen Taurito Princess for your winter break vacation. We are very happy to read you had a nice time with us. As you mentioned, our Hotel is perfect to relax from the daily stress.

We look forward in welcoming you again in Taurito Princess.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed at the Taurito Princess at the end of February. We had done our research including looking on Trip Adviser - it seems all hotels have some feedback saying "great" alongside ones saying "poor" (so you have to balance what is important to you) - but Taurito Princess overall had many more positive than negative reports.

The resort area is very small (a small but nice beach with the usual water sports, a small water park with slides etc, tennis courts and a couple of small shops) so there isn't a lot of do outside of the hotel without going by car or local bus service (which is very good) to other nearby towns.

The hotel itself does have great views, the higher the floor the better the view. Rooms vary - some have been refurbished and are a good standard but some others are a little dated and tired. We had booked a suite and got offered what was just two bedrooms where one had the bedroom furniture taken out and a tired settee and chairs put in. We asked to be moved and was offered a junior suite that had been refurbished and this was much better - a very nice room.

yes the lifts are a bit slow sometimes - but hardly a major issue.

Overall, the food was very good, there was lots of it and plenty of choice and always including lots of fresh fruit. I agree that sometimes, some of the food wasn't as hot as we Brits seem to like it but overall the food was as good as most other 4 star hotels abroad we have been to.

The hotel puts on entertainment in the evening and most shows were very good - however the hotel misses an opportunity after the main one hour show as that is mainly it - even the oldies would have liked a bit of music to dance to. There is a separate piano bar and that is good.

We found all the staff friendly and helpful at all times and everyone we spoke to was having a good time.

we wanted a nice hotel, with a bit of sun and to be able to just chill-out - and the hotel was great for that. we had been watching the weather before hand and had been a bit concerned by weather reports - but these are mainly based on the airport area which seems to get caught in cloud a lot of the time. However away from the airport, the weather was different and good - we laid around the pool every day with 22 to 25c. In our 7 days, we had 6 days of sun and one day where it was cloudy in the morning but sunny in the afternoon.

we had a nice stay - and would certainly go back for the same type of quiet, chill-out holiday.

Room Tip: the higher the floor number, the better the view - so the 11th floor has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio S, Gerente at Taurito Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Ian,

Thank you very much for haven chosen Taurito Princess for your Holidays. We appreciate your nice review regarding our services during your stay. We totally agree with you, the location of Taurito Princess is very unique, with very nice views over the ocean and Puerto de Mogán.

We look forward in welcoming you again in Taurito Princess.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taurito
0.5 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4,295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#11 of 16 in Mogan
486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mogan Princess & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Gran Canaria, Mogan
0.5 mi away
Hotel Puerto de Mogan THe Senses Collection
0.2 mi away
Paradise Lago Taurito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taurito Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taurito Princess

Address: C/ Alhambra 8, Urb. de Taurito | Mogán, 35138 Taurito, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Taurito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Taurito
Price Range: £122 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Taurito Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taurito Princess near Puerto de Mogan is an all-inclusive hotel right by the beach. All 405 rooms and suites provide stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean and the bay of Taurito. Located in the south of Gran Canaria the hotel provides services and facilities for both couples and families with children. There are a total of three outdoor pools; 2 for children and a main swimming pool (heated in winter). The all-inclusive offer is available at 2 restaurants (both with live cooking stations) and 4 bars. Several times a week there are themed dinners at the main restaurant “Princess. In addition Taurito Princess guests may enjoy a mix of Italian and Asian dishes once during their stay; then when the La Choza visually and culinary turns into the “La Trattoria”. The daytime and evening entertainment guarantees fun for all ages. The smallest guests can look forward to mini-club, mini-disco and two children's pools (one pool with a giant, colourful dragon). The adults may choose from a whole range of sporting activities, such as tennis, squash, water aerobics and beach volleyball. Wi-Fi (extra charge) is available in the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Idiso Digital, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Taurito Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel Taurito
Taurito Princess Gran Canaria
Hotel Taurito Princess Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing