We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely relaxing week!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suite Princess

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Suite Princess
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Taurito
Certificate of Excellence
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A lovely relaxing week!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We wanted a week of relaxation by the sea and that's exactly what the Suite Princess delivered for us! It's fantastic that every room has a sea view and what a stunning sea view it is...the hotel faces towards Morgan and the sunset, which was just beautiful every single night we were there. We had one of the exec rooms on the top floor that comes with sunbeds on the huge balcony, bath robes and premium drinks as well as the beer, sangria, wine and soft drinks available. I can't comment on how this compare price wise to the other rooms as these were the only ones available when we booked. I can say however we felt happy with what we paid for what we got. The only slight (and it is very slight) difficulty with this option is that it didn't seem terribly easy to order bottles of wine at dinner as no one ever came to take our order. The first night we waited and eventually asked someone who then took another ten minutes to come over to us so at every other meal time we found it easier to help ourselves from the self-service wine options. As I say, it's a very small criticism and the only reason I brought my review down from excellent to very good...possibly a bit mean!

The pool area is lovely and there were always plenty of sunbeds available. Yes people do reserve them from early in the morning; I have no idea why as we never struggled to get a spot. The only thing I can think of is that for some people having those exact sunbeds is a really big deal? The sunset terrace at the far end is a great spot to sit and watch the sunset with a glass of wine, it was especially great on the nights when the hotel's resident guitar duo played as canapes and cava was served. Very chilled out!

More of the guitar duo, the Lone Pepper Duo - they are really, really good! Definitely a cut above the acts that often perform in hotels. Definitely adding to the ambience of the hotel.

The food is served buffet style and was excellent, very fresh and a wide selection at every meal.

All the staff were friendly and welcoming but for me absolutely the best thing about the hotel is the location...a path takes you directly to the beach and the sunset views compare with any in the world... if you're looking for a relaxing, sun-drenched break, it's a great choice!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelGirl1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,415
    986
    385
    92
    43
See reviews for
182
2,359
31
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,195)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

My husband and I went with our two friends. We arrived late at night however there was food available which was lovely. The staff were very welcoming and showed us to our rooms. The rooms were lovely with stunning views over looking the beach.
The restaurant was lovely and there was plenty of choice to suit all tastes. The restaurant manager greeted everyone whether it was breakfast or dinner and was extremely friendly and always managed to make time for a chat. All the staff in the restaurant took pride in their work and were very friendly
Lunch time was in a different restaurant by the pool so you did not have far to go and the standard was exactly the same as the main restaurant. there were drinks available all day and food was always available with a four o'clock tea and cakes.
The pool was well maintained and there were plenty of us beds for everyone. The daytime activities were brilliant which we attended daily and the activities staff were brilliant and made the activities very entertaining. There was evening entertainment every night in three separate areas so there was something for everyone's tastes. We found the piano bar the best and the dance floor always had people dancing. There was other entertainment also which we attended a few and they were equally as enjoyable.
Overall my husband and I had an amazing holiday weather was brilliant and e met some wonderful people. We intend on returning again next year

Room Tip: Rooms on fourth floor and above papered to have excellent views. We were on the first floor where we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Our previous review of this hotel was done last year (2012) and very little has changed at the hotel since.

The bath towels are still awful, small and scratchy, the sunbeds are still packed in around the pool like sardines and Nico is still plonking away on the piano and tra-la-laing through his now tedious routine.

A recent review made the point that none of the main entertainment involved any audience participation and we almost concur with this except for a small amount from the Lone Pepper duo.

In our other review we ended it by saying “Would we go back? We are still thinking about that one, no reason why not but no compelling reason to say yes.”

We returned not because we felt it was the best place on earth but because Thomson neglected to mention that there was building work going on at the hotel we initially booked and we just wanted a hassle free holiday.

Anyway back to the salient points.

This time we upgraded to a Royal suite which we were under the impression was a much better room than our previous Superior Junior Suite, it wasn’t. We would be hard pushed to say what was better about it and despite paying a hefty upgrade fee it definitely was not “Royal” in any way, shape or form. The air-conditioning was worse than useless.

There were many small things about the room which we found nasty and annoying. There were bodged wiring jobs on the bedside lamps not dangerous but unsightly, the main door to the bedroom area was badly chipped, the bathroom door handle not fastened on properly, a piece of the laminated floor near to the patio doors kept slipping out of position, a damp patch above the bed had been touched up in a slightly different shade, the toilet water pipe was out of position and the toilet roll holder was loose.

The very low unit which the television was placed was neither use nor ornament. It was too low to put things in.

None of this is earth shattering and did not spoil our holiday but in a “Royal Suite” which has apparently been recently refurbished it is not really acceptable.

Food good and varied, drink fine, Staff efficient, Weather hot.

We filled in a customer question form at the end of our stay which claimed that the manager read every one. We invited him to email us to discuss our observations but up to now nothing.

Will we go back ?Probably not.

Room Tip: Don't bother with a Royal upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caz3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel in early November 2013 for 1 week.
To start with a tip: Rental cars are not that expensive and considering the roads being very well maintained, they are a great way to travel from airport to hotel, and all around the island.

They gave us a very friendly welcome and yes, staying on the upper floors (I was on 5th floor) does give you very nice sea views.
Even though the standard type rooms are in itself quite big, the upgraded 'deluxe rooms' give you that extra, including fruit and wine.

There are a few kid-friendly hotels in the neighbourhood but you don't even notice except when going to the beach or a stroll on the promenade. The pool area is very quiet: No annoying animation crew sweeping everyone on, no splaying kids; just a bunch of reading or talking adults... occasionally, there was a 2-guy accoustic band playing, giving that extra touch to the sunbathing experience! Thank you for that!

The food was very varied. Lunch often had the same things on the menu but it did not botter me... The restaurant for breakfast and dinner is located on the lowest floor. There is no possibility to eat outside... All sorts of drinks were at all times available.

One negative point would be the surcharges for the use of fridge, safe or WiFi. Especially the WiFi for 19 EUR a week I found very expensive for what seemed a very slow internet connection.

Around the hotel, I would suggest a visit to Puerto de Mogan (lovely little city) and Maspalomas with its dunes.

When visiting Gran Canaria once again, I will certainly consider another stay at this hotel!

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor, located on the left side (sea side)... Great views over the sea, pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brechtdeblaere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Holiday from 4th Nov - 11th Nov. My wife and I had the most relaxing holiday ever.
The hotel is a perfect place for a chilled out holiday.
Staff work very hard and are very friendly.
Food is very good if you can't find something you like I will be very surprised.
Room was very clean and spacious.
Entertainment was fine.
All drinks were excellent and free flowing if you needed them to be.
My wife was lucky to win this holiday and it included the upgrade.
We will come back in the future to do all the trips we did not do this time.
The weather was great and we were able to get a sunbed everyday with ease.
It was our first time in Gran Canaria and it won't be the last.
Thanks everyone at the hotel you did us proud. Steve and Karen Jones

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank steventvbbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coldstream, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was our first trip to the Canaries and we will certainly be returning to this hotel. We sent a most relaxing week and totally chilled out. Food was good, varied choices and fresh. Room was excellent. We were on the 6th floor like reception and had superb views over to Mogan.
Don't know what time some people got up in the morning to lay towels on the sunbeds but we always managed to find suitable beds. Our only complaint about the hotel was people smoking when on the sunbeds especially with them all being so close together. We would be lying relaxing and next thing you would be getting smoked out by someone next to you. I did suggest no smoking zones around the pool. Although this was a couples hotel there did seem to be a party with a few young adults who were creating quite a noise when in the pool and seemed to be annoying some of the other guests.
The entertainment was excellent. We had 2 different Drifter tribute acts ( the second one being better than the first).
We are planning to revisit next year for 2 weeks.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors numbered 1- 12 best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We have just returned from a lovely week at the suite princess. We emailed the hotel before hand and requested a high room, that's what we got and it was stunning, with fruit, wine, honey rum and chocolates on arrival. Only gripe was we were 4th drop off, Thomsons should remove from their brochure that its 1st or 2nd.

Weather was stunning, we never had a problem getting a sun bed - no need to reserve at stupid o'clock like some. Short strole to direct access beach for a change. No children at the pool was amazing, low hum of people talking and the waves on the beach was all you could hear.

We do like to get out and about. We went on the island tour, it was in mini buses so small groups which was much better than a big bus, the tour was enthralling, so interesting to see the island and hear the history. Only downside was the lunch which was very disappointing and not as discribed by the Thompsons reps. We also went to Palmitos park, we went on the bus which was easy changing in Puerto Rico and got a taxi back. Lovely day out. We also took a taxi to Puerto Morgan and got the water taxi to Puerto Rico, fantastic. We went to the market on Friday in Peurto Morgan which was the same as every other tourist market I have been to. We went on the freehotel bus, we needed to book this on the Wednesday it was full so we are glad we did, on return the bus did leave promptly! Beware, you could be left behind if late!

We did upgrade to the black wrist band, the best thing about this was the high room and the sunbeds on the balcony, this gave you some welcome privacy at the end of the day. You can pay for this seperatly so would do this next time instead. You get a bottle of wine with dinner, but my husband doesn't drink wine, we both like brandy but there was no premium brand brandy. The drinks available on tap were more than adequate, especially the cava and slush cocktails! Quite liked being able to change the pool towelks as well, although only 1.50 euro if not upgraded.

The food was good and varied, tried new things and enjoyed the variety. Breakfast in particular was impressive in the choice. You can book in the main restaurant for one night in the waiter service romantic meal this is available on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday, this made a nice change to self service and the wine certainly flowed, the meal was good.

The entertainment started at 10, this fitted in with our timings so was fine. It was not amazing but was certainly entertaining and more than adequate. The lone pepper duo, the resident group were very talented and particularly their acoustic playing was lovely around the pool or listening to from our balcony.

The hotel was very clean, and glasses etc were cleared continuously. All the staff were friendly, we have no complaints at all really. We will go back again in a few years - we like a variety of holidays. Other people have commented on the WiFi, you do have to pay 19 Euros, it was not always easy to access but we said this at reception and it was sorted.

Really enjoyed our holiday, thank you.

Room Tip: We emailed for a high room prior to holiday and requests were met. High floor is good and lower numb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank naianiretak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taurito
0.1 mi away
Mogan Princess & Beach Club
0.8 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,861 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#10 of 16 in Mogan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Lago Taurito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Princess

Property: Suite Princess
Address: C/ Alcazaba, 4 (Urb. de Taurito) | 35138 Mogán, Gran Canaria, Spain, 35138 Taurito, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Taurito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taurito
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Taurito
#1 Family Hotel in Taurito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Suite Princess is a hotel for adults (16 years and above) who want to enjoy an all-inclusive vacation directly at the sea. The 4 star hotel is located in the sunny south of Gran Canaria, the picturesque Puerto de Mogán is just 4 km away. All rooms of the adults only hotel feature sea- or garden view. The Suite Princess in the bay of Taurito boasts two buffet restaurants, a theme restaurant and 3 bars. The main restaurant serves breakfast and dinner. Three times a week there are theme nights featuring food from Italy, Spain or the Canary Islands. The Gala Night offers international specialties. The entertainment programme not only includes sporting activities such as aerobics, aqua aerobics and archery but also culinary delights. Suite Princess guests may look forward to cooking classes (paella, tapas, mojo sauce), wine tasting, cocktail presentations, sunset sessions with cava and canapés and the weekly Black&White night. For those who just want to relax in their holidays may choose between sun-kissed or nice, shady spots in the pool landscape of the hotel. Jet Ski , parasailing, jetboat, flyboard or banana boat - Watersports fans are definitely spoiled for choice. One of Gran Canarias leading Watersports-Centre is located at Taurito Beach. Wi-Fi (chargeable) is available in the public areas of the Princess Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Suite Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Princess Hotel Taurito
Suite Princess Grand Canary
Hotel Suite Princess
Suite Princess Taurito, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing