We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea views and sunsets for all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mogan Princess & Beach Club
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Taurito
Denham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Sea views and sunsets for all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have stayed here before, about 8 years ago, and as such booked a last minute getaway for 11 nights at the end of March because we knew what we were going to get. A good relaxing stay with guaranteed sunshine and warmth in close proximity to Peurto Mogan, one of the prettiest and most unspoilt towns in Gran Canaria. We had planned 10 nights but found booking 11 with First Choice was nearly £300 cheaper ?? (Probably avoiding a weekend flight). We paid £550 pp all inclusive flying from Gatwick so considered this very good value. Especially having met someone who paid £1200 pp for a fortnight. So shop around if your flexible on dates.
The hotel is arranged in four blocks, each of four floors stacked up against the west facing cliff of Taurito. So everyone gets a sea view looking over to the port of Mogan, and the opportunity of some stunning sunsets. The arrangement of the blocks means there are series of lifts steps and walkways to get about. The hotel was clean, the rooms fine with good sized balconies, shower and bath, a safe and good sized wardrobe. No fridge (you could pay extra if you wanted one) and no coffee facilities in the room, but being all inclusive there really wasn't any need for these.
The main pool was heated and was clean and well maintained with very shallow slope to one end, ideal for those with small kids. The adult pool on a higher level is not heated and is freezing.

There were people from every part of Europe staying here.
We found the food here perfectly ok. There was plenty of choice in the international buffet and a section were the chef was cooking two or three fresh dishes in front of you. They even had a regular carvery section. Unlike a previous review there were vegetarian options everyday. There was the odd grumble from other guests about food but none of them were starving. This is a standard hotel international buffet catering for several hundred guests, and they tend to be similar the world over. Wine and beer were on tap and of reasonable quality.
Plenty of choice for breakfast, lunch and dinner but very poor quality snack food at the pool restaurant. Hotdogs and hamburgers left under a hot lamp so the buns just became crispy and dry.

We found the one hours professional evening entertainment was actually of a good variety and standard throughout the stay, but then let down by the animation teams poor attempt to get a disco going. The bar served alcohol that was perfectly fine, you have to pay for branded drinks, but you could try a variety until you found a tipple to your satisfaction. Their cheap label baileys seemed to be popular.

The staff were all excellent.

We took regular trips to Peurto Mogan, a local bus goes about every twenty minutes €1.40 each way, €8 by taxi or there is the free hotel bus that goes at 9am. It is a beautiful town with good restaurants, lovely colonial buildings covered in bougainvillea. It is a very civilised town promotionally known as "little Venice" and wonderful by day or night, occasionally having a jazz band or solo artist in the bandstand in the square. As usual I am often surprised how some people come on holiday and never leave the hotel complex. In town you can get a ferry every half an hour along the coast to Peurto Rico, take the submarine for a 45 minute trip to see a wreck, it's perfectly safe and not claustrophobic, you don't really see a great deal but fish, sand and twisted metal but at least you can tick something off your bucket list! There is a busy market each Friday, loads of stalls and thousands of visitors.
There are a choice of excursions with either your rep or the hotel can organise. We took the day long luxury trip up to the mountains to see the real Gran Canaria which was an amazing trip up winding roads to 1700metres where there are cool pine forests and small hamlets with stunning views, well worth the €61 pp.

There is also a regular free hotel shuttle bus to the beach below us at Taurito and access to the hotels inclusive beach bar.

With this hotel if you are expecting a high end luxurious stay you will be disappointed, but if your looking for a good clean comfortable, uncomplicated and relaxing holiday, with nice pool, stunning sea views and mature atmosphere you won't go wrong here.

Room Tip: The higher you are the better the view, but the further from the main facilities and its several dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank vespa150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio S, Gerente at Mogan Princess & Beach Club, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Mogán Princess for your vacation in Gran Canaria. We are happy to read you returned to our Hotel after so many years and had a nice time with us. We appreciate your nice words regarding your stay with us; as you mentioned the views from our Hotel are very good.

We look forward in welcoming you again in Mogán Princess.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    604
    345
    92
    61
See reviews for
360
805
27
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

My review may seem very negative but read on!!!!!!


International buffet restaurant: food of good quality but repetitive and lukewarm: had to use the microwave to ensure was a safe temperature. No vegetarian options, even salad and pizza contained meat or fish. Gentlemen are asked to wear long trousers for dinner: very few kept to this request and in fact wore the same beachwear they had on all day!! There were several occasions where some very loud (possibly worse for wear) adults and unruly children spoilt lunch for many of the residents, there was no one to speak to about this. So to improve this the hotel could ensure food is hot, provide vegetarian options to be ordered the night before, men and women to wear appropriate clothing and 'dress' for dinner so that it is a dining experience and not just eating and to have a separate family area so that others do not get disturbed.




La Choza snack bar: the website states: Open all day for snacks and refreshments by the pool and a buffet or à la carte lunch is offered here too. La Choza was open for burgers and pre made cheese and ham toasties, there was help yourself beer, wine, soft drinks and coffee. The afternoon tea was left over burgers and toasties and pastries from breakfast!!!! There was no other meal options at La Choza.So to improve this the hotel could make this an adult only area providing a la carte options.


Coco Loco: lovely bar staff especially Maria. Shame that you could not get a coffee in a crockery cup: polystyrene only!!! To improve this the hotel could provide coffee in cups for those in the seating areas only.

Beach club: very nice location, right on the beach. the beach is a 10 mins walk down a very steep hill, there is a free shuttle bus but it is very limited.To improve this the hotel could provide a more regular paid mini bus service to Taurito beach and Puerto Mogan, I am sure lots of residents would have paid a few euros.

Princess lounge bar:The entertainment was dire!!! the animation team need to record themselves to see if there is a sound system issue. The all inclusive drinks package was limited, only three cocktails!!! Bar staff were frosty and not very friendly. You had to pay the full whack if you wanted a branded drink. To improve this the hotel could look at their cocktail menu as there are lots of alcohol choices and make cocktails for individuals, for example I ordered a bloody Mary and was told it was not on the all inclusive list so I ordered a tomato juice and a vodka and asked for tobasco!! Entertainment needs to be looked at so a more structured children's entertainment programme and low key adult entertainment, quality and quantity!!

There is a lovely seating area on the same level as the reception, to improve this the hotel could provide a help yourself bar and appropriate piped music.

Adult only pool: again a lovely area with plenty of sunbeds and an amazing view: to improve this the hotel could heat the pool, it was freezing!!

Now for the absolute positives!!!

Reception staff were very friendly and acted in a professional manner. Thanks Claudia and Tony.

The lobby and public areas were spotless

Our room 1408 was perfect with a sea and pool view, there are a lot of step so beware!!!!

We feel we had value for money as this was a last minute deal.

What to do..... Puerto Mogan is a must, the market was lovely, there is a free bus from the hotel, get your tickets in advance!!! There is a water taxi from Puerto Mogan 6:50 euros each to Puerto Rico. A taxi to Puerto Mogan is 7:50 euros, its worth going there in an evening there is a little square by the harbour with inexpensive restaurants!! The beach is Puerto Mogan is yellow sand, perhaps man made? Loved Puerto Mogan, so quant, and plenty of nice shops!!

Taurito beach is volcanic black sand, it is a lovely area with all inclusive drinks and food at Mogan Princess beach bar, there are a few souvenir shops, a small water park and crazy golf, again free bus from hotel, limited times.

If you did want o go on public transport its 1:40euro per person per journey.

Would we go to this hotel again? Yes we would it was good value for money but could be made a bit 'classier and up market' by doing some tweaking!!

Room Tip: chose a room in block 1, we were in 1408 with an amazing view!!! the hotel is on lots of levels so b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynne5460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio S, Gerente at Mogan Princess & Beach Club, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Lynne,

Thank you very much for haven chosen Mogán Princess for your vacation in Gran Canaria. We are happy to read such a detailed review regarding your stay with us. We are continuously working hard to maintain the high standards of our services. We thank you for you recommendations as our intention is to keep improving the services we offer.

We look forward in welcoming you again in Mogán Princess.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

A beautiful setting in the cliffs of Gran Canaria. We had a sea-view room, and the sunsets were some of the most beautiful I have ever seen. It does take about 15 mins to walk down to the beach and it's a very steep cliff up, but there is a taxi rank there for anyone unable to walk up the cliff. And the hotel runs a daily bus service down to the beach and back up 5 times a day, with a bus twice a day to the neighbouring Mogan Harbour.

This was my first all-inclusive holiday package, and I wasn't sure what to make of it at first. On one hand, all-inclusive is great because you can grab a drink at a moment's notice and not have to put it on your tab, or pay instantly, but one the other hand, it definitely makes you over-indulge.

The hotel entertainment was good, but the girls were not particularly lively, so they had a guy called Danny come over from the sister hotel over the beach and he livened things up on the weekend! On finding out from my mother that it was my 21st birthday, he got me on the dancefloor and everyone sang happy birthday and I was treated to a bottle of Prosecco! Very accommodating

The daily maid service was OK. Not as good as the Princess hotel I went to in Tenerife. As a room service cleaner myself I noticed a half done job sometimes, but this is perhaps understandable in such a large place. It was clean and that was the main thing. Towels changed daily if required.

Food was delicious, but some rather strange options for breakfast! If you're going out there expecting a full English, you'll be a little surprised.

This hotel definitely caters more for Europeans - a lot of Germans and those from the Norway region. Which is all fine and dandy, but an English couple told us the hotel across the beach catered for British more apparently if that's your thing.

The hotel has a Beach Club, where your all-inclusive food and drinks continue, so if you want a day at the beach you don't have to spend extra on food and drink, and there's a toilet in the little beach club, so don't spend 50cents on the public ones. Also, if you're using the sunbeds/umbrellas on the beach, 2 sunbeds and an umbrella costs 9 euro a day. But you can just take towels down and maybe your own umbrella, and lie on the beach itself for free.

We booked with First Choice and went on one of their excursions called Taste of Traditions, and it included a visit and taster at a winery, full guided tour, a trip to Fataga and to the little capital of Tinte. It was an absolutely wonderful little half-day trip!

One little annoying thing - when we arrived at the hotel, there were no water/fridge facilities in our room. It was a very tiny walk away to the nearest all-inclusive water facility, but it was still a little irritating.

Apart from that, a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable holiday!

Room Tip: A sea-view is definitely worth it! Option to get two-adjoining rooms for larger parties travelling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio S, Gerente at Mogan Princess & Beach Club, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for haven chosen Mogán Princess for your vacation. We are happy to read you had a nice time with us, especially during your birthday. We always give our best in order to maintain the high standards our clients demand.

We look forward in welcoming you again in Taurito Princess.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westbury, wiltshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Just spent a week at the Mogan Princess and Beach Club with First Choice.
The staff are all very friendly and helpful which is always a good sign. It was very quiet as there where very few children during the week we stayed. The room was spacious and very clean, bed was very comfortable and great view over the area. It was still very hot sitting on balcony even at 7pm.
The food was plentiful and good for us as nearly everything on offer we liked so it was deciding what to have being the main problem, I liked the house wine on tap when eating which is not always the case.
The main issue we had was with the entertainment in the evening, the main show was at 2130 and it lasted under an hour. no support so it went to music being played which you could dance too or not as it was a dire choice being played most of the time. This was a great shame as overall we had a great week, went for a walk each morning down to the beach, takes about 20mins and you can walk through the park and lagoon area with beautiful plants and some parrots on show. The walk back is up the steep hill but there is a free bus service to and from the hotel but we found it good to stretch the legs after breakfast.
Not sure I would take children to this hotel but would go back for a quiet week.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steve1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio S, Gerente at Mogan Princess & Beach Club, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Steve,

Thank you very much for haven chosen Mogán Princess for your Holiday. We are very happy to read you had a nice stay with us. Our staff will be very happy to read your opinion about; they will have enough motivation to keep up with the hard work.

We look forward in welcoming you again in Mogán Princess.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

This was our 5th time back to the mogan princess but will be our last. This hotel is set at the top of a steep hill with fantastic views and has excellent staff, it has always been a quiet hotel in the past (always visited in January). This year seemed to be chaotic, big queues at the bar in the evening, queuing for a table for dinner in the evening, and all sunbeds reserved with towels ( not necessarily being used). They have now got another bar down at the beach and the hotel runs a shuttle service. The bar at the beach is lovely and clean and serves snacks as well as hot and cold drinks, the only down side is you have to pay for your sunbeds and umbrellas! It was nice to walk down in there in the mornings because the sun does not appear around the pool at the hotel until about 11.30 whereas the beach as it from early on. Although we were all inclusive, because of the very poor entertainment, lack of tables for dinner and the queues for the bar we ate out 12 nights out of the 14 we were there. La bruschetta in Puerto mogan does excellent food in a lovely relaxing atmosphere.

The other gripes about the hotel is the the pool towels they issue you with at the beginning of your stay are to last you for the whole two weeks, if you want clean Howells you have to pay €2 euro each time you want a clean towel. There are no tea making facilities or fridges in the room. The lifts are still continue to break down which means walking up lots of steps!

As returning guests we used to receive fruit etc in the room, this time we were given a voucher for a free cocktail? All inclusives .. Free drink?

We also made enquiries about keeping dour room in as the flight wa not until the evening, we were told we would have to wait until the morning of our departure and ask the. This we did only to be told there were no rooms available but we could have the use of a courtesy room for 30 (for the two of us to shower and change). Luckily some people we met there let us Use their room.

There seemed to be less staff working this year and the ones there were working so hard to try to please the guests. Grateful thanks to all he bar staff/restaurant staff and especially Danny (animation) for making us smile. We will miss the staff there many of whom we got to know quite wel over the years! but will not miss this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frankie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio S, Gerente at Mogan Princess & Beach Club, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Frank,

Thank you very much for haven chosen Mogán Princess for your vacation so many years. We are honoured to have you as a guest and feel very sorry to loose you. We are continuously improving our services to maintain the high standards our guests expect from us.

Thank you very much for your loyalty.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taurito hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We had a one week all inclusive from 24/3/2014, an now wish we had booked 2 weeks.
The hotel was very clean and pleasant, with a wi-fi area in the lobby.
The heated pool was very good, as were the pool bar staff.
The food was very good, as was the choice.
The drinks were freely available on tap in the retaurant, or from the snack bar.
The staff were very friendly and efficient.
The room was clean and very nice.
The massages were good and reasonably priced.
The atmospher was very relaxing.
We Shall return.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view, and are served by lifts, so not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio S, Gerente at Mogan Princess & Beach Club, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear John,

Thank you very much for haven chosen Mogán Princess for your vacation. We appreciate your nice review regarding our services. With your nmice words we will continue with the high standards our guest demand.

Thank you very much for your nice review.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I went with my girlfriend for 7 nights to relax in the sun. we weren't disappointed. we didn't want to be on a party resort as you can just go to Blackpool in summer for that.The pool area is very clean and the barman is friendly and helpful. anamacion team are about all day and there are activities at set Times to join in with (water polo, darts, shuffleboard) to name a few. large selection of drinks including still water. the bar, shop and vending machines all have cold still water despite what other reviews say. the food is great ranging from soup to sushi, duck to veal. the best coffee is the filter coffee which isn't to bad. evening entertainment is variable. if Mr chocolat is around be prepared for a very good evening. He really knows how to entertain. the reception is excellent and our rep Elliot was very helpful and always available to contact.There is a 20 min walk down to the beach but once down there the hotel has an all inclusive bar on the beach, there is also 6 free shuttle buses a day but a taxi is only 3 Euro back up the hill. views of sunset are 2nd to none! would return tomorrow.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhampton88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio S, Gerente at Mogan Princess & Beach Club, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen Mogán Princess for your Holidays. We are happy to read you had a nice time with us. Our staff members will be proud to read they did a great job and will have the courage to continue with the hard work.

We look forward in welcoming you again in Mogán Princess.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taurito
0.8 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,919 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
Hotel THe Puerto de Mogan
#2 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
11.0 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#21 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cala Blanca
Cala Blanca
#9 of 16 in Mogan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
2.8 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
2.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mogan Princess & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mogan Princess & Beach Club

Property: Mogan Princess & Beach Club
Address: C/ Albacin 17, 35138 Taurito, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Mogan Princess Aparthotel)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Taurito
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taurito
#4 Family Hotel in Taurito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mogan Princess & Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic sunsets guaranteed! Located in the valley of Taurito the Mogán Princess offers breathtaking views over the Atlantic and the neighbouring Puerto de Mogán. The 4 star all inclusive hotel in the south of Gran Canaria has three outdoor pools: a main pool (heated in winter), a children's pool and a panoramic swimming pool (only for adults). The all-inclusive offer of Mogan Princess is valid at the buffet restaurant "Princess" the snack-bar "La Choza", the hotel's own Beach Club and 2 bars. Several times a day there is a free shuttle bus down the Beach Club, situated directly at Taurito beach. The hotels entertainment programme includes - next to sporting activities such as Water Aerobis or table tennis - daily shows in the Disco-Bar. WI-FI (€) is available in the Lobby of the Mogán Princess. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Onthebeach, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mogan Princess & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mogan Princess Aparthotel Hotel Taurito
Mogan Princess Aparthotel Grand Canary
Mogan Princess & Beach Club Taurito, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing