We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Hail Granny G”
Review of Horse and Groom

Horse and Groom
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$65
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: With all the laidback charm of a true Cotswolds country pub, at the Horse and Groom we pride ourselves on our friendly service, award-winning food and drink and sumptuous B&B accommodation in individually styled bedrooms. Located in the heart of Bourton on the Hill, here you can retreat for a leisurely meal, stop by for a drink and stay over for a relaxing break. Our light and airy bar is well stocked with real ales and wines and the beautifully restored dining room, with its log fire blazing in the winter makes a welcoming setting in which to enjoy our exquisite classic British cuisine with a modern twist.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“All Hail Granny G”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This place is brilliant - situated at the top of a steep hill in a beautiful Georgian building - the staff are very friendly, the service is prompt and the food is nothing short of delicious - everything seems to be locally sourced - they grow a lot of it in the garden out the back.

It's not a place to go expecting a "cheap Sunday lunch" - but if you fancy a treat this is the place, but book ahead.

Make sure you try a slice of Granny G's Toffee Meringue - it's a diabetic coma on a a plate - but YOLO and leave them a decent tip - we need more places like this!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    167
    60
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Another great meal”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We made a special effort to eat at the Horse and Groom once again. It did not disappoint. Again wonderful food and wonderful service. We made our reservations before we left the States because it is such a popular restaurant. The Granny G's Toffee Meringue is worth the international flight. The best!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food and Sservice”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The food was just excellent and the staff were very helpful. Just a great experience all round. Would visit often if I lived near, Will visit again when next in the area. Thanks to all for making it the best part of the holiday!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Always a Treat . . .”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The Horse & Groom remains true to itself. It operates a bit like a regular pub with ordering at the bar and yet is serves scrumptious food in a relaxed setting. Every time I stop in, the food has been a perfect combination of hearty and sophisticated. Their Daphinoise potatoes are ever so tasty. I like to order a green salad in place of the veg, but most diners go for the veg. At my last lunch, I had pan sauteed John Dory that was delicate and perfectly cooked. The bunless burger is always a favorite when it is available. On bank holidays and weekends, the Horse & Groom can get very crowded, so stop by early or later to get a place to park and a table.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank menardjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Bank Holiday Lunch”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had a table booked for 1pm, the staff gave us a warm welcome. The food was served quickly and tasted excellent. We couldn't resist the pudding board. The staff were very friendly. I will certainly be returning when in the area. Fab little pub with a great atmosphere and worth every penny.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophiek1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horse and Groom also viewed

Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
 
Longborough, Moreton-in-Marsh
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
 

Been to Horse and Groom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing