We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms, Great Food!”
Review of Horse and Groom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horse and Groom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2013

And really friendly staff. We stayed two nights over the bank holiday weekend and at booking we already found the staff really helpfull by providing us a list of good eateries in the area. The whole weekend all staff was forecoming, interesting and friendly. Both dinner and breakfast were great. Parking on site and a nice garden to enjoy a drink (and the view).

Room Tip: The rooms at the front are at the street side. It is not a busy street and when the windows are clos...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AMS020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
There are newer reviews for Horse and Groom
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stopped here for an evening meal as we were stopping nearby in Moreton. Excellent meal and would eat here again when in the area. We did book and suggest to be sure of a table best to book as the place was full. The car park is rather small but if you look close some of the cars belong to staff and they have notes on them saying please block me in. So dont be put off if the car park looks full.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank KevinA19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Many previous reviewers have given the Horse and Groom five stars based on the quality of its food. I thoroughly agree the food is indeed worth five stars. So why have I marked this pub/restaurant down to three? Here's why.

Firstly, the older woman who greeted us at the bar was a complete and utter misery. I do not understand why people like this are in the hospitality industry. If you don't like working with the public, please try another job rather than reducing the quality of my life. That's a half-star mark-down.

The next half-star mark-down is for the very disappointing range of quality draught beer. There are some really good quality 'name' beers out there without having to resort to some 'Goat and Hedgehog' style cheap bitter produced by a one-man micro-brewery at the back of a garage.

I have further reduced my rating by one whole star because of something which I regard as an unforgivable sin in any pub, hotel or restaurant.

My wife ordered a small bottle of still water (which cost nearly £2 by the way). What arrived was a glass of water. Yes, a glass which had already been filled with water.

Had it been filled with water from a bottle, the seal of which had just been broken out of sight? Had it been filled with water from a bottle, the seal of which had been broken the day or week before? Had it been filled with water from a kitchen tap?

I will never know the answer to these questions, but since it might just have been tap water, I do resent paying almost £2 for it.

Don't professionals in the hospitality industry know you need to present every type of bottle to a table with its seal unbroken, in order to show to the customer they are receiving exactly what they ordered?

How complicated is this? This is basic stuff. I thought everyone in pub, hotel and restaurant businesses followed this rule.

Others may think my criticisms of this establishment are small and unreasonable. I don't, and for the above reasons I won't be going back to the Horse and Groom any time soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Steve49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Our first thoughts when we were shown to our room at tht Horse and Groom was that we had been upgraded. The standard room was spacious and decorated in sublte neutral shades with rich velvet touches. modern and yet it was all tyhat an old coaching in should be. we were provided with a flask of fresh milk to make tea etc, so much better than the usual plastic cartons and there were homemae flapjacks which were delicious. This was just the start of a delightful weekend, the food is all locally sourced and an excellent menu which seemeb to change throughout the day as populat items were consumed added to that the service must rate with the very best we have encountered for friendliness. we shall certainly visit agai8n and again

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We have eaten at the Horse and Groom twice in the last month, which is a good average as we live an hour's drive away and reflects how worth the bother it is. The food is always excellent with lots of choice, also of wines by glass and bottle. Staff are always welcoming and very efficient. Always a treat. Must note to stay over sometime.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

It is no surprise at all that the Horse and Groom is this year's Good Pub Guide Gloucestershire Dining Pub of the Year. We recently stayed for two nights and really enjoyed the hotel standard service and food, with notable attention to detail throughout our stay. The first thing to say is that the Horse and Groom functions as a pub, with a small range of beers and a separate bar area. That said, it is clearly mostly a dining pub and we found the food very good and reasonably priced. Breakfast (residents only) was of a very high quality and concentrated on excellent local produce. The rooms - though not cheap - were nicely furnished although no one should expect all of the elements of a stay in a modern hotel simply becasue of the constraints imposed by the old building.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here for one night as a belated birthday treat.
Really friendly Manager and staff , soon on first name terms.
Had a quick drink in the bar on arrival , from a great choice of ales and wines.
Lovely , warm comfortable room with fresh milk and home made biscuit.
Dinner was superb all choices on blackboard that varies.
All locally sourced products used ( only the fish travelled more than thirty miles ! )
Breakfast was fantastic.
We had a gorgeous bacon and sausage fry up, with local jersey / guernsey butter and a whole pint of milk in a glass old style bottle.
Hopefully return here for another night in the summer.
Our room faced the main road and was fairly quiet , though one or two heavy goods vehicles use this road through the night and we did wake up a few times.

Room Tip: If there is one at the back .. Ask for that.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skilegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Hill
1.9 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,940 reviews
1.9 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,160 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
246 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,248 reviews
4.3 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horse and Groom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse and Groom

Address: Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 9AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh > Bourton-on-the-Hill
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Hill
Price Range: £108 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Horse and Groom 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With all the laidback charm of a true Cotswolds country pub, at the Horse and Groom we pride ourselves on our friendly service, award-winning food and drink and sumptuous B&B accommodation in individually styled bedrooms. Located in the heart of Bourton on the Hill, here you can retreat for a leisurely meal, stop by for a drink and stay over for a relaxing break. Our light and airy bar is well stocked with real ales and wines and the beautifully restored dining room, with its log fire blazing in the winter makes a welcoming setting in which to enjoy our exquisite classic British cuisine with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Horse and Groom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse & Groom Hotel Bourton-On-The-Hill
Horse And Groom Bourton-On-The-Hill, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing