We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Horse and Groom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horse and Groom
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We went here for a meal on a Tuesday night in August and it was packed! There aren't many tables, so pre-booking is recommended. The food was delicious and well priced and the service was excellent. The only negative is that the car park is very small with vehicles double parking. Still, as everything else was so good, this wouldnt stop me going back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MB3203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    30
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
136
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We visited this brilliant pub on the way back from the Severn Valley Railway. Despite not having a reservation, the staff bent over backwards to fit us in. It was my brother's birthday so were looking for somewhere a little special.

The food was nothing short of excellent - no complaints from any of us. Plenty of options on pump at the bar and incredibly friendly and attentive staff. I would highly recommend the puddings as well.

Definitely worth a detour!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubawyclef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Choosing a venue for a casual supper for 8, to include three 90yr olds is always going to be a big ask, add wooden floors, wooden tables into the mix and a menu on a chalk board updated faster than orders can be taken, and this could been a difficult evening. However, good natured staff good food, beer and wine made a most enjoyable outing for everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank scotsphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We booked reservations here because of the reviews we'd read on Tripadvisor - and we're happy we did ! Tom and his brother are very friendly, and accommodating. We stayed two nights. The first night we were in room 2, which is in the front of the inn and has a nice large window, so there was a good breeze coming in. It was a very nice room with a comfortable bed. I was surprised how well appointed the rooms were, with a very modern bathroom, and the bathroom had a nice window as well. There was a nice tea set up, with home-made flapjack biscuits in each room. There was a large King size bed in the room, and since there were 3 of us - they put in a blow up mattress in the room as well.
The second night, we moved into two rooms, I was in room 4 - still at the front of the inn, again with a big window for a nice breeze, but my friends were in Room 2, facing the back garden. Their room was very stuffy and warm, with no air circulation. They had a small window in the room and one in the bathroom, but the curtains were very thin, and since meals are served in the back garden, they felt like they had very little privacy. Nevertheless, we loved staying there. I would just recommend staying in the rooms that are in the front of the inn.
As far as the meals - - we had dinner there one night and the food was varied and excellent - all fresh, home-grown vegetables and deliciously prepared. We had breakfast there two mornings and they were also really good. They leave a paper in your room each evening, that you fill out with the choices of food you would like for breakfast, and then it's ready for you when you come down in the morning.
We all liked staying in the Horse and Groom, and would come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jainsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful night's stay at the Horse and Groom, recommended to us by friends. Our room was spacious, clean and beautifully appointed with a large comfortable bed, fresh milk for tea and some scrumptious home made flapjacks to enjoy after a busy day out. Our meal in the evening was delicious, using good quality, locally sourced ingredients to create fresh prepared soups, beautifully cooked steaks and scrumptious puddings. Everything was packed with flavour. The atmosphere in the bar and restaurant was buzzing with happy and contented diners, and Tom and his staff could not have been more friendly and welcoming. A refreshing night's sleep was followed by a delicious breakfast, again using ingredients that supported the local dairy and other producers. If you visit the Cotswolds we would really recommend staying and dining here.

Room Tip: Room 1 is spacious, light and overlooks the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

We recently happened upon this pub after a disappointing visit to another nearby eatery, which we did not stay for food at. The Horse And Groom was perfect, the menu divine and the Toffee Meringue was worth coming back for once more!! Lovely staff, great setting, sat outside with our fog overlooking the veg garden and hills beyond! Will go again the next time we are in the area! Just lovely!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lord_n_lady_weaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Absolutely wonderful pub food in a friendly atmosphere. We've been to the Horse & Groom a few times now and been very impressed every time from Starters through to Desserts. The menu has been different every time we have visited but the results were consistently good. Definitely worth a trip here when in the Cotswolds and, if it's a sunny day, the outdoor tables are set in a lovely garden with views over the rolling hills!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esquila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Hill
1.9 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
1.9 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
5.2 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horse and Groom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse and Groom

Property: Horse and Groom
Address: Bourton on the Hill, Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 9AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh > Bourton-on-the-Hill
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With all the laidback charm of a true Cotswolds country pub, at the Horse and Groom we pride ourselves on our friendly service, award-winning food and drink and sumptuous B&B accommodation in individually styled bedrooms. Located in the heart of Bourton on the Hill, here you can retreat for a leisurely meal, stop by for a drink and stay over for a relaxing break. Our light and airy bar is well stocked with real ales and wines and the beautifully restored dining room, with its log fire blazing in the winter makes a welcoming setting in which to enjoy our exquisite classic British cuisine with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Horse and Groom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse & Groom Hotel Bourton-On-The-Hill
Horse And Groom Bourton-On-The-Hill, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing