We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Horse and Groom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horse and Groom
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We are regular visitors to the Cotswolds and have stayed in a variety of pubs, hotels etc. in the area and for this visit we picked the Horse and Groom - and very pleased we did so. The room (a large double) was indeed large with an extremely comfy king size bed, good size bathroom and a variety of nice little extras - fresh milk for tea & coffee, home made flapjack (amazingly good) and freeview TV. Everywhere was immaculately clean. Although the hotel was on a main road, there was no traffic noise and the only possible criticism I could level is that parking can be a challenge as the car park is not big enough to match the popularity of the restaurant (which they are trying to do something about) so be prepared to double park at times.


The restaurant in the pub is excellent - very top end gastro pub. The menu is relatively short - about 6 choices at each course and regularly changes during the course of the evening. if you want to eat in the pub, make sure you book - this place has an excellent and derserved reputation and gets booked up fast. We ate in the restauant both nights and loved it - the chef can seriously cook!! On top of that, the welcome was friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

Bourton on the Hill isn't as attactive as some of the other villages we have stayed in but the welcome at the Horse and Groom and the overall experience more than makes up for it and I certainly hope that this will be a regular haunt in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    30
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
135
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

On arrival we were very pleasantly surprised by the bedroom, as the standard room was large, had a great view and had all the bits and pieces that many hotels fail to have such as kettle, cups, tea ,coffee and flapjack . Did I mention the flapjack - very tasty! Our evening meal was good but not as special as we had hoped. Sometimes a menu does not grab you and my wife cant take spicy food. It was difficult to choose a starter. My cornish fish soup was very tasty and my wife's chick pea fritters were okay. My wife's plaice was good but the chef was a bit over-enthusiastic on the butter. My steak,ale and mustard pie was very good. However the breakfast was perfect with the food arriving promptly and the quality of the contents and cooking evident. The service was very good both in the evening and the morning from the pleasant staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cotswolds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Short and to the point. My daughter and I had lunch there a few weeks ago. A sunny day in the garden. The food was exquisite! Everything. Will, you and your staff really know how to do things properly. Lovely staff. It's my daughters local so she's a lucky girl!

Room Tip: Only there or lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizziebarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The English Lakes
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed here for one night on the way home from Cornwall and were not disappointed! In fact we will return. We had Room 1 which was large and very well appointed. They have a good sense of humour here - don't be surprised at some leg pulling - it's a very busy and jolly Pub with delicious food - they care about food here: on the breakfast table there is a note saying all the milk served is produced and bottled on a small Cotswold farm where all the cows are known by name. Vegetables are freshly picked from the garden, marmalade and jam is homemade - wonderful selection of local beers on tap - it's different and delightful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herdwicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We went here for a meal on a Tuesday night in August and it was packed! There aren't many tables, so pre-booking is recommended. The food was delicious and well priced and the service was excellent. The only negative is that the car park is very small with vehicles double parking. Still, as everything else was so good, this wouldnt stop me going back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MB3203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We visited this brilliant pub on the way back from the Severn Valley Railway. Despite not having a reservation, the staff bent over backwards to fit us in. It was my brother's birthday so were looking for somewhere a little special.

The food was nothing short of excellent - no complaints from any of us. Plenty of options on pump at the bar and incredibly friendly and attentive staff. I would highly recommend the puddings as well.

Definitely worth a detour!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubawyclef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Choosing a venue for a casual supper for 8, to include three 90yr olds is always going to be a big ask, add wooden floors, wooden tables into the mix and a menu on a chalk board updated faster than orders can be taken, and this could been a difficult evening. However, good natured staff good food, beer and wine made a most enjoyable outing for everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank scotsphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Hill
1.9 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
1.9 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
5.2 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horse and Groom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse and Groom

Property: Horse and Groom
Address: Bourton on the Hill, Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 9AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh > Bourton-on-the-Hill
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With all the laidback charm of a true Cotswolds country pub, at the Horse and Groom we pride ourselves on our friendly service, award-winning food and drink and sumptuous B&B accommodation in individually styled bedrooms. Located in the heart of Bourton on the Hill, here you can retreat for a leisurely meal, stop by for a drink and stay over for a relaxing break. Our light and airy bar is well stocked with real ales and wines and the beautifully restored dining room, with its log fire blazing in the winter makes a welcoming setting in which to enjoy our exquisite classic British cuisine with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Horse and Groom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse & Groom Hotel Bourton-On-The-Hill
Horse And Groom Bourton-On-The-Hill, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing