We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Sunday Lunch”
Review of Horse and Groom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horse and Groom
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A Great Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We visited the Horse & Groom as a last minute decision on a late July Sunday and were we pleased with ourselves or what! We had never visited the Horse & Groom before and arrived at around 1:30pm on a very sunny and busy day, we sat outside in the delightful garden with a splendid view, the service was excellent with plenty of staff, each willing to help which for us makes all the difference. A good selection of beer and wine accompanied the lamb dish of the day, which was superbly cooked it was accompanied with vegetable's and all was well presented and we enjoyed it very much.
We cant wait to visit again maybe early autumn , it is certainly worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelCTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    31
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
137
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have just got back from another 3 day break at the H&G. Nothing has changed and we enjoyed our stay just as much. I have no more to add except that we felt even more relaxed as we now know some of the people that work there which make the feeling even friendlier. I am sure everyone who reads the reviews will agree that this is a " well oiled machine " and everything runs very efficiently from Front of House to even getting your car off the car park!
For us this is just the perfect balance of comfort, price, position and atmosphere. We would never stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: We prefer the rear rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Werlynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I am not keen on eating in hotel restaurants because they often lack character so when we found ourselves staying in Moreton-in-Marsh which is full of hotels with restaurants we turned to TripAdvisor to find an alternative place to eat in the town. The Horse & Groom's reviews looked good. Yes, it does have a few rooms but is primarily a pub not a hotel. So, we phoned to book a table. They were fully booked but suggested we call in because there might be a table free in the bar. There was. The welcome we received was warm and genuine and the service was excellent. The food was superb and obviously fresh because as dishes ran out, they were rubbed off the menu board. This unpretentious pub restaurant is very, very good indeed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SezandElzDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Lovely rooms in a pub/restaurant serving up fabulous local fare. Great beer, great food, wine list was (in my opinion) adequate and reasonably priced for what we had.
Breakfast was as good as I have experienced anywhere in the UK with lovely touches like the local milk and butter.
Really well done.
I am still yet to find out what is in the "green sauce".........

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level Contributor
175 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We came with a larger group of 13 people and received a friendly welcome. The food was delicious and served with fresh vegetables. The menu had something for every taste on it. I especially enjoyed the goats cheese with heritage tomatoe salad.
We definitely recommend it and will visit again, when in the area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Miaw2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Discovered this by accident whilst driving through the Cotswolds looking for a pub lunch. What a find! Excellent quality food and the pie was genuinely full of meat. Staff extremely welcoming-just beware at least on Saturdays lunch finishes at 2pm! Will go back next time in the Cotswolds.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great find that I booked based on tripadvisor reviews. The food and drink really lived up to the posts on this site. In fact, it was even better than expected because of the garden on the hillside behind the building (and the great weather). We were able to sit outside at one of the many tables in beautiful surroundings. The food was equally as good - probably the best meal we had on our 3-day weekend in the countryside. The service was fine - pub service, but friendly and efficient. The bar is small but stocked with a great selection of beer and wine. I hope I have the chance to go back to the Horse & Groom on another sunny day!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dltravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Hill
1.9 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,844 reviews
1.9 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,114 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
314 reviews
5.2 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
955 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horse and Groom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse and Groom

Property: Horse and Groom
Address: Bourton on the Hill, Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 9AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh > Bourton-on-the-Hill
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With all the laidback charm of a true Cotswolds country pub, at the Horse and Groom we pride ourselves on our friendly service, award-winning food and drink and sumptuous B&B accommodation in individually styled bedrooms. Located in the heart of Bourton on the Hill, here you can retreat for a leisurely meal, stop by for a drink and stay over for a relaxing break. Our light and airy bar is well stocked with real ales and wines and the beautifully restored dining room, with its log fire blazing in the winter makes a welcoming setting in which to enjoy our exquisite classic British cuisine with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Horse and Groom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse & Groom Hotel Bourton-On-The-Hill
Horse And Groom Bourton-On-The-Hill, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing