We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dinning revisited”
Review of Horse and Groom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Horse and Groom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Revisited this pub two years after walking into it by chance on a market day nearby. Although it was a Monday, the indoor tables were all taken up and we had to dine near the bar. The pub has gone somewhat upmarket and the prices are a bit higher than our last visit, which is OK as long as it is sustainable with good clients. We had the usual high quality of food and services as for long visit and we will no doubt re-visit this pub again in future tours.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank oscar28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
There are newer reviews for Horse and Groom
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

We spent two nights here and were so impressed by the staff and certainly the food which was wonderful.
It is in the most beautiful location with wonderful surrounding countryside.
We will definitely be going back at some stage.

Room Tip: Our room was over the kitchen......maybe not the perfect choice......still had a brilliant stay.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank angiebabeHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

It's been said before on this site, but I have to agree - we had a truly wonderful lunch at this place. So good that we went back a couple of days later. The staff were so attentive and accommodating. The setting, at the top of Bourton on the Hill was beautiful, the building immaculate, the interior warm and welcoming and genuine, and the food... Wholesome, delicious, well thought-out, superbly cooked, completely without fault. Its so easy to get this sort of thing wrong, or to be sloppy, or just slight hit the wrong notes, but they got it completely right. As simple fish and chips dish was the best fish and chips I've ever had, accompanied by a perfect mint pea mash. The bath chaps starter I had was brilliantly put together, the pork melt in the mouth delicious. I can't help but think that every pub lunch I will ever have from now on will be judged against this amazing place. Keep it up!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is a great pub with lovely rooms and excellent food, much of it sourced locally. The staff are particularly pleasant too. You'll probably need to book for dinner - even on Monday and Tuesday it was very busy.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Took my partner and family here for a meal last night. It is my partners favourite place to eat and bearing in mind we live in the Cotswolds and surrounded by many nice venues this in itself is a compliment to the Horse and Groom.The food as always was excellent, staff all equal to it.
My only slight disappointment was that I had booked a special table which we have had before but arrived to be informed we had been moved to another table, wouldn't have been so bad if someone had called me prior to arrival.

Room Tip: If you pre book a table insist you don't have it changed.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElClassico2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Fantastic find - great setting with fantastic views from the spacious and sunny beer garden. Menu was perfect - something for everyone with a few twists on some classics. Service was friendly and very professional. A definite repeat visit in mind for the future. Well done all concerned.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Oscarholi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This place deserves its high rating. Excellent food, with a great area to eat and drink in the back with views of rolling countryside and it's own little garden where they grow vegetables. I had a 4 hour slow cooked lamb shoulder main at lunch and it was cooked excellently. Service was also good. Would definitely return if I come by again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Hill
1.9 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,940 reviews
1.9 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,155 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
246 reviews
4.3 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,042 reviews
3.1 mi away
Maxwell's Piece Bed and Breakfast
Maxwell's Piece Bed and Breakfas...
#2 of 18 in Moreton-in-Marsh
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horse and Groom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse and Groom

Address: Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 9AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh > Bourton-on-the-Hill
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bourton-on-the-Hill
Price Range: £106 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Horse and Groom 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With all the laidback charm of a true Cotswolds country pub, at the Horse and Groom we pride ourselves on our friendly service, award-winning food and drink and sumptuous B&B accommodation in individually styled bedrooms. Located in the heart of Bourton on the Hill, here you can retreat for a leisurely meal, stop by for a drink and stay over for a relaxing break. Our light and airy bar is well stocked with real ales and wines and the beautifully restored dining room, with its log fire blazing in the winter makes a welcoming setting in which to enjoy our exquisite classic British cuisine with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Horse and Groom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse & Groom Hotel Bourton-On-The-Hill
Horse And Groom Bourton-On-The-Hill, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing