We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great diving experience”
Review of Geko Dive

Geko Dive
Book In Advance
More Info
US$50.00*
and up
4-Hour Padang Bai Small-Group Snorkeling Tour from Manggis
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Padangbai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Geko Dive first opened in June 1997. It is the longest operating dive centre in Padang Bai. Geko Dive has been a PADI Resort since 1998, and is now a PADI 5 Star Resort and TecRec facility. We are fortunate to have one of Bali's best dive staff. Together, the Geko Dive Team can guide and teach in Balinese, English, French, German, Spanish, Indonesian and Japanese. All of our dive guides are excellent divers, with years of working experience on Bali's dive sites. At the same time, SCUBA remains a passion first and foremost. Diving with Geko Dive has always been fun and serene. To make sure that it stays this way, we are not planning to get any bigger than we already are. Dive factories and diving in large herds are not things that the Geko Dive Team enjoys. Diving should be a personal experience! We therefore keep dive groups small (4 max and often less), with similarly experienced divers together. We believe all our guests deserve the ultimate diving adventure with utmost enjoyment and safety.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Padangbai is massively underrated for diving in the Lonely Planet. We did 4 dives with Geko and would totally recommend them to everybody, whether new to diving or very experienced. We had a lovely morning diving Gili Mimpang and Gili Tepekong followed by a very nice lunch back at Geko. We were meant to dive the Liberty wreck the next day, but unfortunately due to a blocked ear we were unable to do so. A week later, after a trip to Gili Air, we returned and arranged for Geko to pick us up from our hotel in Candidasa and dived the Liberty and did a muck dive nearby. The Liberty is absolutely amazing - a real must! And the lunch box provided by Geko was one of the nicest meals we had on our whole trip!

Thank Ddraig_fawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GekoDiveBali, Manager at Geko Dive, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Hi,

Thanks a lot for the 5 star review! Your compliments means a lot to us.

I completely agree with you that Padang Bai is totally underrated. It is Bali's single most central town to all the dive sites in the Eastern half of the island. On top of that, local diving is great with beautiful corals, turtles, sharks and a plethora of macro critters. I can't get enough of it!

Apparently, I'm not the only one, since many a diver comes back here after having travelled to other destinations that look better according to guide books... Maybe some editing is in order?

Also glad you enjoyed your lunch. Food is definitely a part of the experience and there is nothing like having a warm meal waiting for you when you get back from diving.

See you on your next visit to our tropical island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mola mola"
in 26 reviews
"open water certification"
in 9 reviews
"great diving"
in 19 reviews
"blue lagoon"
in 16 reviews
"these guys"
in 17 reviews
"schooling fish"
in 3 reviews
"laid back"
in 6 reviews
"rental gear"
in 5 reviews
"keep up the good work"
in 5 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 7 reviews
"top notch"
in 7 reviews
"great lunch"
in 3 reviews
"an awesome experience"
in 3 reviews
"making sure"
in 5 reviews
"great staff"
in 8 reviews
"via email"
in 4 reviews
"manta rays"
in 10 reviews
Filter

165 - 169 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

Had a blast diving with Geko at dive sites Bloo Lagoon Tempel & the USS Liberty Wreck.

Kanox was a great dive master pointing out all spots of interest and the more quiet spots. The wreck was stunning and we had perfect conditions for the dive, great visibility.
Have to mention the delicious lunch we had through Gecko.
There are several choices on the menu, we could not stop having the Nasi Campur, it was outstanding.
I bet several divers had food envy when we opened our lunch boxes at Tulamben :)
Can definitely recommend Geko to dive with

1  Thank CEFender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GekoDiveBali, Manager at Geko Dive, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear CEFender,

Thanks for the review.

The Geko Dive Team agrees with you: Kanox is fun. He is not just funny! Whether he imitates a pygmy seahorse, siagiani squat lobster or kangaroo, you just cannot help laughing... To the point that I had to stop typing just thinking about it!

Thanks as well for the compliments on the food. Nasi Campur, mixed rice, is definitely the way to go! There's more where it came from so come back soon...

Safe diving!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This is the place I would come back to anytime I'd be diving in Bali. Friendly staff, good equipment and extensive knowledge and good language skills make this a pleasant dive whether you'd be expanding your training or just going for a recreational dive. I did wreck diving, drift diving and a fantastic trip to see the manta rays. Really nothing to complain about!

1  Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GekoDiveBali, Manager at Geko Dive, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Martin,

Thanks for the Tripadvisor review.

We're glad you had such a great time diving with us and we do look forward to your next visit.

Have you booked a plane ticket to get back yet?

Safe diving!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Before coming to Bali, each dive shop I contacted said we would be going to padangbai to do open water certification, so we opted to stay near padangbai and go with geko; a fantastic choice in hindsight. My brother and I did our open water certification (whch were amazing dives on thir own merit) and subsequent first dive with geko and we were impressed with the great team there. From dealing with them internationally via emai/calls leading up to the trip, having Darta be a thorough, patient, highly knowledgable and skilled dive instructor, diving with the one of the owners (and talking over a beer afterwards), to dealing with the entire team on our open water dive searching for mantas (successful) and mola mola (unsuccessful) - even one of the other patrons sat down and showed us video he had taken and talked about the various do's when looking to get into doing some underwater video/photos, the whole team is great, fun, very knowledgable and great to dive with. Book with geko regardless of expertise - youll be glad you did.

Thank bv0ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GekoDiveBali, Manager at Geko Dive, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear bv0p,

Thanks for the review and congrats on becoming a diver.

It's great to hear that your brother and yourself had a great time diving. Darta is a great instructor. He's taught so many Open Water courses even PADI has lost count. As the same time, he still loves all aspects of his job: from showing colourful new creatures to divers to patiently helping students overcome challenges. I've rarely seen such a dedicated dive professional!

As for seeing the molas, well, eh, you'll have to come back and do your Advanced course. Darta is waiting...

Safe diving!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I just did our first dive ever and it was truly amazing! It was just the two of us plus our instructor which made the whole experiene feel really safe. Our instructor was very professional and easy to understand and after a quick lesson at the shop we were out in the boat. We spent another 10 minutes in the water on the surface going thru signals and dive technique before we submerged. We dove for 45 minutes and to a depth of 12m. We dove through coral reef and saw some awesome fish including trigger fish, lion fish, squid and sharks! It was such an amazing experience and we will be sure to hit Geko dive up again next time we are in Bali!

1  Thank gibboisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GekoDiveBali, Manager at Geko Dive, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear gibboisit,

Thanks you for your review and congratulations on completing your first dive with Geko.

Although the maximum ratio of divers to instructors allowed by PADI is 4 to 1, we choose to reduce it to 2 to 1 in order to increase divers' enjoyment. We find this is a great way to reassure diver and allows them to have a closer interaction with their dive professionals.

Maybe you don't realise, but you were very lily to see animals like squids and sharks on your very first dive. It took me more than 4 years of diving before I had my first such encounter. This is obviously caused by the fact that I had not made the same enlightened choice as you to go diving in Padang Bai... As, well, now I know!

Safe diving!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Geko Dive also viewed

 

Been to Geko Dive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing