We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, family friendly accomodation”
Review of Butcombe Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Butcombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butcombe Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Butcombe B&B and Inns
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent, family friendly accomodation”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed here in the Granary Cottage for four nights in April 2012. The cottage was very pretty and well equiped for our family of two adults and two little children (1 and 3). The rooms were comfortable and clean and the cottage was nicely decorated. The staff were really friendly and went out of their way to be helpful to us. I will definitely visit again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet little retreat for a few days. The journey into Bristol is only about 25 mins however you really feel as if you are in the country, as the farm is set in the very pretty Chew Valley.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parrotmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Myself, my husband and our two young children stayed in the Coach House over the bank holiday weekend. It is a very comfy 2 bedroom cottage which is all on one level. It's small but well equipped and was fine for the four of us. Very helpful owners who provided us with an additional key at short notice during our stay, provided us with a travel cot etc.

Location is beautiful and quite remote, about 1.5 miles from Blagdon where there is a shop and pub, so you'd need a car as it's a relatively long uphill walk.

Would suggest that more information is put on the website regarding facilities (what's provided in the properties etc) and pictures as I was expecting something more basic than it was due to the lack of information. Turns out lots was provided so it would have saved us bringing things like a travel iron, hairdryer etc.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emma f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Dot & Dave were very helpful before and during our visit as we were a family of 8 (7 adults)with ages between 70+ and 20 months. We stayed in the Granary and found it comfortable with the three bath/shower rooms and downstairs toilet for the one who slept in the separate lounge on a folding bed. 6 adults would find it extremely comfortable, especially as the kitchen was very well equipped, enabling a "team" of 5 adults to cook a memorable meal(one of several) and all 8 of us to sit down together to eat.
It stayed warm inside despite some inclement weather.
Whilst aiming to have only 2 cars there for the long Easter weekend we had 3 all the time and 4 at one time. Dot was not in the least concerned as there is plenty of space. We would suggest it is not a location to use without means of transport. Taxis from the airport (4 miles) are very expensive and the nearest shop in a good 1/2 hour walk away. We didn't try the local pubs(3) as we were so well fed by family members. As our family is due to grow further we are unlikely to use Butcombe Farm again which will be disappointing although we could consider the Farmhouse itself.(sleeps 14)

The LillKillHills

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawson L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We stayed in the main farm house as we were a large group of 14- when we booked we were originally put into 'Sarahs Barn' but when the Farmhouse became avaliable for rent, Dot the owner transferred our booking to the Farmhouse as it is a huge wonderful building and perfect for a large house party- and at no extra cost!

We felt so welcome throughout our 2 night stay, even though we were a large party of girls. We even did a Tesco delivery which was waiting in the fridge when we arrived, alongside 2 bottles of complimentary local cider. It really felt like nothing was too much trouble, Dot and her husband were kind and helpful throughout. They helped us book a local taxi service and also told us to 'have fun' rather than being told to constantly keep the noise down, which we were expecting!

It was a wonderful stay and although we didnt get the chance to swim in the pool, I would highly recommend Butcombe Farm cottages- especially the Farmhouse! We also got access to the Granary cottage which was also very clean and pretty.

Thanks Dot!! I'll be back!

Room Tip: Book the farmhouse if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evsllewellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2010

We arrived late with my vehicle on a recovery trailer and my daughter well into an extended bout of D&V, prior to a morning flight from Bristol Airport that we eventually had to postpone. Dot and Dave couldn't have been more helpful or flexible, getting us fixed up with a mechanic, breakfast and transport. Against all odds we made it away on holiday. I should add that their accommodation and airport transfer package offers exceptional value. The farm is in a beautiful location and the rooms are well appointed and spotless. I can't recommend them highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

I must say at the outset that we stayed in one of the self-catering cottages, not in the B&B.

The farm is set in a great, scenic location with good access to the main A38 and very close to Bath, Wookey Hole, Longleat and Cheddar.

The cottage we stayed in sleeps 6 in 3 bedrooms (2 doubles and a twin) and all were en-suite, 2 with a toilet/shower, one with toilet/bath, along with a large downstairs cloakroom.

The rooms were spacious and the beds were very comfortable, and the swimming pool was a real bonus however, that is where the plus points finish.

We got off to a bad start when driving to the parking area where the owners let their dog run free, resulting in it running behind one of our cars, and out of sight. meniang that we got shouted at by the owners for 'nearly running over our dog' and also for parking in the wrong place (the sign for our parking was facing the wrong way).

After the tongue lashing we were given the key and left to get on with it, no tour of the cottage or anything.

The cottages were apparently converted around 1986, but do not appear to have been updated since. The kitchen was very shabby and cheap and not the "country cottage" style we have seen in other similar cottages. For a cottage that sleeps 6, you would expect at least 6 matching wine glasses, beer glasses etc (instead of 2 'branded' pint glasses that look like they were nicked from the local pub). There was also a lack of basic kitchen utensils, such as a wooden spoon, for example. Little things but they show a lack of care.

In the bathrooms, both shower heads were so clogged with limescale they were virtually useless. All three bathrooms are fed from one, domestic size, hot water tank so only one person can shower/bath at a time.

A lot of the bulbs had blown and had not been replaced and several of the working lights flickered on and off, as if there was a loose wire in the light.

The wardrobes in the bedroom were old and not deep enough to put hangers in straight, they had to be angled so you could close the door.

The much vaunted games room turned out to be a cold, damp, musty, windowless barn containing a pool table with a ripped cloth, table tennis table, dart board, kids toys and some old, worn chairs that smelt damp and musty, and that's not forgettign the large damp patches on the plasterboard walls. Not the sort of to have some fun and games or to sit and relax.

There is also a gym, which contains a 'multi-gym' a torn fitness mat and not much else.

The cottage seemed clean enough but it was worn enough to feel as if it wasn't, it really needs freshening up.

Some TLC and a bit of investment would make this place so much better but our experience was very disappointing.

Any Q's, just send me a message.

Simon, Colchester, UK

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonWilding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2007

My wife and I recently stayed here for one night before a wedding we were attending.
The couple who run the B&B were very friendly and helpful. They allowed us to have the room late for extra preparation time despite being fully booked for the following day and they made us a pot of tea whilst we waited in the lounge before going to the wedding.

The B&B itself is very nice. The rooms are clean and well appointed. It is situated on a very quiet lane close to blagdon lake and our room had lovely views over the surrounding countryside. We could actually see deer first thing in the morning!

Over all i would thoroughly recommend this hotel to other travellers.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — It was all pretty good really.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_Armstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Butcombe
1.3 mi away
Redhill House
Redhill House
#1 of 2 in Redhill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol Airport
2.7 mi away
Winford Manor
Winford Manor
#1 of 1 in Winford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
School Farm Bed and Breakfast
1.3 mi away
Old Farmhouse B&B
Old Farmhouse B&B
#3 of 6 in Blagdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
1.5 mi away
Seymour Arms Blagdon
Seymour Arms Blagdon
#2 of 6 in Blagdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butcombe Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butcombe Farm

Property: Butcombe Farm
Address: Aldwick Lane, Butcombe BS40 7UW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Butcombe
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Butcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing