We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb as always”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Martin Terressus
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau de Ribagnac
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb as always”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We've stayed here 3 times now for a week each time. The rooms are very clean and full of character, the cooking is extremely good, and the whole setup is perfect for families with children.
Patrick and Colette are perfect hosts. I'd be very surprised if anyone was disappointed with their stay at Chateau Ribagnac. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    7
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
31
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This place has to be experienced. No pictures can do it justice. It's a full-body, full-immersion experience that starts with the long drive down a private road through the rolling, fragrant, bee-buzzing and butterfly-(website hidden)ing greenery on either side, and ends, by the time your fate sees you sadly rolling away from this beautiful pile, with a sensation as if your soul itself has been dipped in chlorophyl and morning dew. Yes. It includes exquisite cooking, really world-class grub and grog - eye-wateringly refined stuff that you'd be hard-pressed to reproduce at home, but served simply, without pretension, letting the deliciousness live and breathe for itself if you will. As much as a foodie and architecture and history buff as you might be - as I am - in the end it all pales next to, or rather it only really shines because of, Colette and Patrick and their family and the life they've built here for themselves, for their children, and for us, lucky travellers who by chance or design spend some time with them in this happy place. Two thumbs up, to coin a phrase. I won't forget the one night I spent here in a hurry. I'm plotting my return with my wife and children

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summerafternoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed here for a night en route driving south on holiday with our 2 young children. I had come across the chateau through a recommendation for a family friendly b&b in the region and fell in love with the photos and details on their website. In reality it was even nicer than I had hoped, Patrick & Colette have got it right on every level.

The chateau is beautiful and feels grand, but also like you are being welcomed into their family home. They are such friendly and charming hosts and we very much enjoyed the time we had to chat to them in the evening.

Our room (hydrangea) was lovingly restored, with a luxurious twist and plenty of space for the 4 of us. A proper cot, with nice bedding was provided, which alongside the toys, the guest kitchen where we could make up bottles & the dedicated kids tea time made everything so easy.

My favourite part of the stay was the evening dinner which we enjoyed with the other guests. The food was delicious, home cooked, locally sourced and accompanied by wine to complement. We felt totally spoiled from the aperitif to the digestif by the roaring fire, and the many courses in between. (The giant creme caramel was definitely the stand out dish for me!) It all felt very relaxing, and like we were spending the evening with friends.

This truly is a gem of a place to stay and I sincerely hope we can return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Chateau Ribagnac featured in a Channel 4 programme a few years ago when Patrick and Colette were restoring the Chateau. 'No Going Back' - the first programme was followed some years later as a revisit called 'Chaos at the Chateau'. Well, there was none of that when we visited last week (May 2013) and no doubt there was a lot of television editing for the viewers' entertainment! It is a wonderful place, beautiful setting. We stayed in one of the gites as the Chateau was fully booked and took advantage of having our dinner cooked by Colette and delivered to the gite by Patrick on our first night. Absolutely delicious - three courses eaten in the spacious kitchen in front of the wood burner. We ate in the Chateau on our second (and last) night. Again, food was divine. Patrick and Colette and children were great hosts - giving us ideas of local areas to visit. Having told Patrick and Colette that we had watched them on Channel 4 and had kept them in mind, Patrick very kindly gave us a tour of the Chateau when the guests had all left and we were able to admire all their hard work. They both devote their time to ensure their guests thoroughly enjoy themselves. Would thoroughly recommend Chateau Ribagnac.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We still can't believe how amazing our stay at the chateau was. The surroundings, the chateau itself (So beautiful! It is just fantastic to experience sleeping here!), the wines, the food, everything was just great.

On arrival we had a wine tasting which was by far the best we've ever had. Accompanied by a lot of great little snacks and Patrick's enthusiasm about the wines, followed by a lovely buffet of salads, cheeses and quiches and cake as dessert, our first night was the best kick off of our stay we could've wished for.
The dinner we had the second night was, we couldn't believe it was possible, even better. The effort Colette and Patrick put in to making us feel at home and serving all sorts of delicious local homemade food and serving such great wines was extraordinary. We enjoyed absolutely every second!

Not only of the food and wines by the way, it was the entire experience we enjoyed immensely. We can not stress enough how fabulous it all was and how enthusiastic, kind and hospitable Patrick and Colette are. It was truly one of the best trips we ever had and we would definitely come back. To be honest we actually can't wait!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisengelsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Simply amazing! As others point out, Patrick and Colette are great hosts. We stayed for four days and had a meal in the chateau on two of the nights. The food and service was great and for what you get, fantastic value. Our five year old really enjoyed playing with the other children and it was nice and relaxing that they could all eat together before putting them down before the adults had dinner.

Room was very good and great location. We will return!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PEC69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I cannot speak highly enough of Chateau de Ribagnac and the family that own it. The experience is more like staying with family or friends rather than stopping in a hotel. The building is fabulous, the setting beautiful, but the way the Patrick, Colette and the children make you feel so welcome is extraordinary. As for the food and Colette's cooking - just divine! Do not miss this place, it's a real treasure! We would go out of our way to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martin Terressus
8.9 mi away
Novotel Limoges Le Lac
Novotel Limoges Le Lac
#4 of 44 in Limoges
604 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hotel La Chapelle St-Martin
0.8 mi away
Auberge Saint Martin
Auberge Saint Martin
#2 of 2 in St Martin Terressus
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Ribagnac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Ribagnac

Property: Chateau de Ribagnac
Address: Lieu Dit Ribagnac | Lieu de Ribagnac, 87400 St Martin Terressus, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Haute-Vienne > St Martin Terressus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St Martin Terressus
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau de Ribagnac is a country retreat in a beautiful part of France. The Chateau has been restored to provide modern comforts while retaining the charm of history. All our rooms are different, there are family suites and romantic rooms (one with a balcony) so choose the rooms that suits you. We have only five rooms so everything is friendly and you'll feel at home. We have been called the "fairy tale castle" in the press and have 36 hectares of land for you to explore. We welcome families and couples alike and serve tables d'hotes dinners, with children eating earlier and aperitifs served before dinner once the little ones are tucked in. We can cater for food allergies & most dietary requirements (please let us know in advance). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing