We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money high on a mountain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Grange aux Marmottes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Viscos
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very good value for money high on a mountain”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The hotel is high on a mountain near Garvanie in the French Pyrennes. The staff are very friendly and the demi pension. Is a very good deal. The food is very good. For a 2 star hotel the place is highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Con_Thai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    76
    26
    11
    5
See reviews for
41
157
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Beautiful spot up a winding narrow road above the valley floor with fantastic views of the Pyrenees. Picturesque hillside village, stone buildings, slate roofs. Very nice restaurant on premises. Lots of flowers. Free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GChad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

We are 3 girlfriends who wanted to spend a night in a very charming and quiet
place. "La Grange aux Marmottes" is the perfect location. Clean, calm, full of
charm. Just one of these tiny French hamlets perched on a mountainside and
overlooking the valley leading to Gavarnie: this mountain lodge has great
character. No luxury but very comfortable rooms with mountain views, excellent bedding. For those who like to escape for a while the noise of the city and commune with
nature, la Grange aux Marmottes is absolutely the perfect place. The hotel is
very comfortable, the pool with a sublime view over the mountains is great, the
food is excellent and being surrounded by mountains returns you to real values.
And then the great circus of Gavarnie is nearby. I cannot wait to come back with
my husband this time and stay over for several nights.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chabichou21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Extremely comfortable hotel and restaurant in a lovely, not too touristic mountain village. The 3 of us stayed in a large and well appointed room for 5 nights. The "demi-pension" rate (which includes dinner and a very generous buffet breakfast) was very fair. The staff can be a tad eccentric and the female owner struck us as extremely shy rather than gruff (compliments about the abundant flowering compositions outside the hotel *will* definitely bring a smile:-)), and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience.
Excellent cook. Try the local specialty, the "garbure". The location is absolutely great for hiking in the surrounding mountains.
Wish we could have stayed longer!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DemainDeslAube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ille-sur-Tet
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Both the web-site and the guides suggested that this hotel and restaurant would be a real treat at the end of a research trip to put together a tour in this beautiful part of the world. It had all the ingredients for the grand finale for my clients next year. I reserved the night before and arrived shortly before 8pm at the end of a long work day.

La patronne 's welcome was "glaciale"; we were shown to our room in stony silence. After a quick shower, we shut our door (the handle came away in our hand) and went through to dinner. As we felt like celebrating, we ordered a bottle of champagne and asked whether it would be possible to have the salade de St Jacques without the foie gras as per the menu. NO was the answer. Why not we wondered? We ordered and were astonished that the waiter thought it hilarious to pretend that he was going to drop each dish or bottle as he arrived at the table. We were scolded like kids and told that if we did not finish every morsel, there would be no dessert... This infantile attitude when you are paying for what was intended to be a romantic dinner was rather irritating.

And so to bed.... But not to much sleep alas as the extractor fans in both the shower and loo droned all night. We got up and had to trudge through 2cm of soapy water to get to the breakfast room: our would be comedian waiter was now washing the floors. His colleague spent most of our breakfast scooping the remnants of other meals into a bin bag as we ate. Great ambiance! It took a full five minutes to find anyone to pay. The chef grumpily appeared and took our €240 without so much as a smile. What a disappointment. On a positive note: I know not to inflict this hotel on my clients.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SafariSud28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2006

This small hotel is located in a tiny hamlet in the Pyrenees. It is rustic and traditional but also comfortable and fairly well equipped. Our family room (1 double and 2 single beds) was airy and bright with a good bathroom, minibar and tv. The restaurant serves hearty regional food and the staff are friendly. There is a very pleasant reception room with a log fire where local aperitifs are served. The hotel has a beautiful mountain setting and is particularly popular with walkers.

Helpful?
3 Thank SarahCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Viscos
3.9 mi away
Hotel & Residence Balneo Aladin
3.3 mi away
Hotel Le Montaigu
Hotel Le Montaigu
#1 of 6 in Luz-Saint-Sauveur
140 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel du Lion d'Or
Hotel du Lion d'Or
#1 of 8 in Cauterets
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Lys
Hotel Residence Le Lys
#2 of 8 in Cauterets
88 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel De Londres
Hotel De Londres
#4 of 6 in Luz-Saint-Sauveur
66 reviews
3.5 mi away
Logis Ardiden
Logis Ardiden
#2 of 6 in Luz-Saint-Sauveur
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grange aux Marmottes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grange aux Marmottes

Property: La Grange aux Marmottes
Address: Village, 65120 Viscos, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Hautes-Pyrenees > Viscos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Viscos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Grange aux Marmottes 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your La Grange aux Marmottes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing