We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem”
Review of Hotel Casa Palacio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Casa Palacio
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Found this hotel on the www.drive-alive.com website and made booking (through Active Hotels) for an overnight stop enroute from Madrid Airport to Alfaix, Almeria. I was worried because there was no mention on extra beds for 2 grandchildren and phoned Active Hotels who checked with the hotel and came back immediately with reply that these would be supplied at no extra charge. This beautiful and charming hotel is in a small town just off the motorway and well worth the detour. It is typically Spanish, no English is spoken but the staff are charming. There is a beautiful pool in the courtyard, right next to the cathedral. The pool was really welcome after a hot drive. The down side was that dinner was not served until 9 pm which was a bit late for the children, but it was most enjoyable and we ate beside the pool. The rooms were charming, bathrooms excellent and extra beds substantial and comfortable as were the double beds. The air con was noisy, but the location was very quiet. Breakfast was buffet style with waitress service for coffee. We loved this hotel and will stay there again if we are ever that way again. The photos on the website are a true reflection of what it is like.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glendaiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    33
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
22
53
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
estonia
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2010

The price was really low. the staff was helpful. Interior was magnificent. It was really romantic. The city was sleepy. It was really hard find the way in hotel. (It is next to the church/cathedral). Had a nutritious breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Signe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2010

We stayed here enroute to Cádiz . Excellent rooms, and sophisticated dinner menu.
We will be staying again in 2010 definately.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aballero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We stayed here as a stop off between Salamanca, where we had been on the parador Toro wine route and our journey home to Guardamar. We had not made a reservation and when we arrived all 14 rooms where full. But to accomodate us one of the directors vacated his room so that we could have it. Lovely clean hotel, very friendly staff and excellent wine selection. So impressed with the wine we went to the local bodega and bought several cases!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

This small historic inn is located 1/2 way between Madrid Barajas Airport and Granada and was an excellent place to stop after a long overseas trip from Canada. While the staff spoke little or no English, with a little phrasebook Spanish, everything went well.

The staff were incredibly hospital, opening the kitchen 3 hours early to accommodate our jetlagged and hungry bodies. The Regional Menu is excellent and is very good value. I would also recommend returning for a late night glass of wine and snack.

The rooms were quiet and comfortable and we all slept in well after breakfast (8:00 am to 10:00 am), but the staff kept the breakfast buffet open just for us.

While the town is small, it is worth taking a stroll to see the cathedral (circa 1496) and an older church as well. The town was supposedly founded in 1212, after the victory of the Christian forces over the Islamic rulers.

While it was too cool to really enjoy the swimming pool and patio, it is a gorgeous area to relax in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiredCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costa del sol
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

A lovely little 4 star hotel in the middle of the village of Santa Cruz.
Free private parking and great pool after a long hot drive from France.
Our double, air conditioned, en suite room on ground level was traditionally decorated & comfortable.
Staff were friendly, and breakfast was hot & cold buffet style, as much as you wanted. great coffee aswell.
We will be back again next year on our trip back from the UK.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doobyCostaDelSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We stayed at the hotel en route from Malaga to Madrid in Mid July, the hotel is only a few minutes from the AutoVia (motorway) and was probably the best 60 Euros (for 1 night incl. cont. brekafast via hotels.com) I've ever spent, especially when compared to the standard UK Travel Inn/Holiday Inn Express etc for similar money . The hotel is absolutely beautiful, the rooms are clean and spacious with real character,. A special thanks to Letitia on reception who was more than helpful over the course of our stay. Didn't have a chance to investigate the town or local countryside but can't speak more highly on all aspects of the hotel and service received - genuine hospitality received. Check out the website http://www.hotelpalaciosantacruz.com/ for more details.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gullers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz De Mudela
0.3 mi away
Hotel Toral
Hotel Toral
#3 of 3 in Santa Cruz De Mudela
30 reviews
9.3 mi away
Veracruz Plaza Hotel & Spa
Veracruz Plaza Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Valdepenas
376 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hotel Rural Palacio Del Gobernador
Hotel Rural Palacio Del Gobernad...
#1 of 1 in Moral de Calatrava
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Hotel El Hidalgo
Hotel El Hidalgo
#3 of 3 in Valdepenas
164 reviews
21.5 mi away
La Casa del Rector
La Casa del Rector
#1 of 7 in Almagro
476 reviews
21.3 mi away
Parador de Almagro
Parador de Almagro
#2 of 7 in Almagro
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Palacio

Property: Hotel Casa Palacio
Address: Calle Maria del Rosario 6, 13730 Santa Cruz De Mudela, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Ciudad Real > Santa Cruz De Mudela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Cruz De Mudela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa Palacio 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing