We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly French”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Restaurant La Glycine
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Benouville
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Truly French”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is a little gem of a hotel close to the Pegasus bridge and a million miles from the accommodation in the Ouistreham chain hotels. The food is fabulous, and the clientele almost exclusively French. No English cars there on 13th July. Oysters and lobsters feature on the menus, as do a range of fishy dishes. The 'protein plate' of beef, lamb cutlet and quail is a carnivores treat - maybe a bit more quail though, since I only had half a bird which doesn't go far. Hotel rooms are freshly modernised and perfectly adequate. Beware of rooms at the front of the hotel, overlooking the crossroads. This is a busy junction, and there is traffic throughout the night. Best to be in the annex across the road, which has it's own parking, and is much quieter. You need to book your room or table beforehand, since turning up on spec will almost certainly result in disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    128
    32
    8
    6
See reviews for
61
132
5
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buckland Newton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely setting ten minutes from ferry. Stayed evening of arrival do missed dinner. However service excellent in bar and rooms very clean although twee! Village calm peaceful and nice welcome back to France. Breakfast adequate.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tony2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I am sure I must rank as one of the Glycine’s most long-standing and committed guests, having stayed there 6 or 7 times since 1995 to visit the many battle sites and museums in the area.

Despite this undoubted illustrious position, whenever I make an enquiry, or even when I check-in, I am met with the same cool indifference I might expect if I had woken them up late one wet Normandy night for a room. There is no “Ah, so good to see Monsieur again. Come to see the battlefields, eh? And you have brought another friend! Excellent! You are most welcome to the Glycine encore”. None of that. Each time I am treated as though we have never met.

However, the rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel is modern, stylish and clearly well cared-for. And its location - a mile or two inland and a short cycle ride from the Docks along the canal – is the perfect spot for a battlefield tour. But the food - the food! – is unparalled. I know as one gets older one is perhaps more prone to hyperbole – but I can honestly say that the Glycene’s cuisine is amongst the finest I have ever tasted. Anywhere. On my last visit (April 2014) we had half-board and my friend pointed out that we had in fact had five courses for dinner – not counting coffee or aperitif. And each one was exquisite. Fantastique value!

Despite a now-expected luke-warm welcome, in all other respects the Glycine is the perfect place for a short séjour to Normandy. I look forward to many more adventures – in the bocage and the dining room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manonabicycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longyearbyen, Svalbard and Jan Mayen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We arrived by ferry late at night and this was just a few minutes drive. Clean bright quiet room, safe off-street parking. Nothing to see or do in the village, and we didn't try the restaurant, but the hotel is perfect for a pit stop. Maybe for longer, but we didn't try.

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex across the (tiny) road from the main restaurant hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were visiting pegasus Bridge, & I had looked up this restaurant before our trip, but didnt book. For some reason i had expected a much more basic restaurant, but was very pleasantly surprised. It was very busy with locals, but we got a table for 2. We shared a dozen oysters to start, and i followed this with a really delicious lamb cutlet with sweet breads in a mushroom sauce. It was excellent.This was followed by a selection of cheeses, all for €28.00. There was a menu for €18, €28, €38, & €55, but we were very happy with ours for €28.
Service was friendly & the waiter very helpful. It is literally 2 minutes from Pegasus bridge, and I would highly reccommend it to visitors, but would also recommend making a reservation, as I think we were lucky to get in.

Room Tip: We didnt overnight, but recommend restaurant reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocky17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WILTSHIRE
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We booked this hotel online through booking.com to stay for one night in Feb 2014.
We had been ski ing in Switzerland for two weeks and wanted to visit Pegasus bridge as my Grand father fought there in the second world war.
The lady who served us breakfast was absolutely lovely and spoke fantastic english which put our French speaking ability to shame!!
The room we had was fabulous and immaculately clean, wonderful comfy bed, fab shower and wi fi.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone as it is superb value for money and the decor in the rooms and hotel is wonderful.

Fab, fab, fab : )

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEVSMRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbles, Wales
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This was our second visit and it turned out to be just as enjoyable after we changed rooms. At first we were shown into a smallish room which would have been alright if it hadn't been for the smell of fresh paint. Rooms were being updated and the workman and his machines were next door. We were then moved into a superior room but we were only charged the price of the smaller one. The village and hotel are very quiet and a short distance from the Pegasus Bridge, a strategic bridge in the second World War.
Dinner was again superb and one of the reasons we returned. The other one is that it is very close to the ferry from Ouistreham ( or Caen ) to Portsmouth. We have now had two good experiences at this hotel (except for the paint) and I'm certain that we will stay here again when using the ferry to Caen.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerjealin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benouville
3.0 mi away
La Villa Andry
La Villa Andry
#4 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western La Mare O Poissons
2.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
#1 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manoir'hastings
Manoir'hastings
#2 of 2 in Benouville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
3.1 mi away
Riva Bella Hotel
Riva Bella Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
8.0 mi away
Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant La Glycine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant La Glycine

Property: Hotel Restaurant La Glycine
Address: 11 Place du Commando 4, 14970 Benouville, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Benouville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Benouville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Restaurant La Glycine 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Restaurant La Glycine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Restaurant La Glycine Benouville, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing