We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to attractions”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benouville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Les Hautes Coutures
sidmouth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Close to attractions”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We camped here for two weeks in August 2013, it was a lovely site although out first two placements for our tent were not acceptable due to the size of our tent, we ended up on an edge of a road but we were happy. The showers were clean but with some unruly children and the washing machines a godsend. We thought this was an ideal spot for touring and covered most of the Normandy coastline, cemeteries, museums and forts. We went via the channel tunnel as we took our dog but if you're just a car the ferry to oustrheum would be ideal. One negative the food on site was extremely basic and there is nowhere in the village to get food. Ideal to walk along the canal to Pegasus bridge. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the weather was amazing!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank zimbaSidmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    13
    24
    29
    11
See reviews for
51
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We travelled here for 10 nights in July, it was me my hubby plus 2 kids and sister her husband plus 1 child. We were allocated 2 pitches together, nice and big. We had the toilets, showers etc next to us and we found them really clean, lovely and warm showers, cannot grumble at all!! The pool was lovely, very clean, perfect after a days sightseeing. We had the worst storm whilst there in 36yrs, thank god for the great laundry room!! We ate at the restaurant one night, brilliant set menu for 13€, moules steak fresh cheese, really lovely!! There is a canal walk, one direction to Pegasus bridge and the museum which was amazing, the other walk to ouistreham which takes about 1hr with little ones, nice selection of restaurants and bars. Benouville is very quiet, but you can find supermarkets very easily, a car is a must to see the wonderful sights and beaches close by.We only left early as the weather wasn't on our side, however, we really enjoyed the campsite, as a seasoned camper I found some of the grumbles on here un warranted, having stayed at municipal campsites this really was nice and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank fifitot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Desperately tired, I decided to pay more than usual to camp at this family campsite, the place had all the trimmings that I as a single traveller don't usually use, namely the swimming pool and bar/restaurant. The reception seemed a little disorganised when I arrived, with one girl dealing with all the enquiries and checking in as other staff stood around. The pitch was reasonable, if not a little crammed in at the end of a small lane, alongside a mobile home. Having paid over the odds I used the pool, both the indoor and outdoor sections were open, but the connecting door was closed, the pool seemed clean, but was mainly a fun pool, with slides and fountains and minimum depth. The toilets and showers seemed reasonable, except there was no hand washing facilities in the men's, meaning you had to walk to the washing up room, or shower room to wash your hands. The real negative came when the evenings entertainment started, a bingo game with a stupidly loud tannoy system blasting into the crowd, it was way to noisy and went on til gone 11, and the bar continued to be open til after my earplugged self finally got to sleep after 12. The most stupidly annoying thing was the location of the bins out the main gate, right up by the main road, i was pitched close to the entrance and it was still a 500m walk, other campers drove to it!
The noise was the main negative, with facilities stupidly located, if the pool hadn't of been decent I would have dropped it down to a 1 star, the most positive point is its location only a few hundred metres along a canal path to the pegasus bridge memorial

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marktheevildude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Benouville hotels

Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We booked this site for two nights (the minimum) as a stop over before getting the ferry home. We arrived in the rain, were pointed in the direction of a field at the far end of the site & given little help in finding a pitch. We parked in the only available pitch with electric hook up next to over-flowing bins. The shop and bar were very uninviting and we avoided eating in them. The toilets and showers were dirty and the showers barely worked - a lot of effort was required for a trickle of water. The only advantage of being so far from the main entrance was that we weren't disturbed by the large groups of teenagers late at night. On a positive note the area is beautiful and we had a lovely day away from the site exploring the Normandy coast, also it was very convenient for the ferry. However I would not return, very disappointing.

Room Tip: Don't book this site!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank J0KG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benouville
3.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Caen Herouville
Ibis Budget Caen Herouville
#2 of 5 in Herouville-Saint-Clair
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.7 mi away
La Villa Andry
La Villa Andry
#4 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Glycine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Riva Bella Hotel
Riva Bella Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manoir'hastings
Manoir'hastings
#2 of 2 in Benouville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel les bains de Cabourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Les Hautes Coutures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Les Hautes Coutures

Property: Camping Les Hautes Coutures
Address: Avenue de la Cote de Nacre, 14970 Benouville, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Benouville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Benouville
Hotel Class:4 star — Camping Les Hautes Coutures 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Also Known As:
Camping Les Hautes Coutures Benouville, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing