We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small pitches, expensive but the kids liked it!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camping Les Hautes Coutures

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benouville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Les Hautes Coutures
Twyford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small pitches, expensive but the kids liked it!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We booked this site for four nights July 24/25th and again August 5/6th here because it was convenient for the ferry port at Caen which it was just 10mins down the road, But it was 121 Euro's for each stay roughly £45 per night!!! Child prices only apply up to the age of 7 so we had to pay for four adults for our children 15 & 11, and electric, some pitches needed the European adapter
The Pitches were VERY VERY small about 6m x 7m our caravan only just fittted we were too close to our neighbours....
Toilet/Shower facilities were OK could have been better!! water was too hot in the showers and no way of turning it down.
Swimming pool was the best bit, nice indoor area slides and spa bubbles! that's why the kids liked it.....
Very close to The Pegasus Bridge lovely walk along the river direct from the site JUST WATCH OUT FOR MOSQUITOES!! My daughter & I got eaten alive on the first night we arrived.

Room Tip: If booking ask for pitches 254, 255 & 256 or 271 or 272
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    13
    23
    29
    11
See reviews for
50
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of July. Good location for touring the area and the car ferry. We were in our tourer caravan, the pitches were small and felt rather crammed in, certainly not good if you needed an awning. Toilet and Washing facilities were quite extensive, clean & fresh smelling, but no hand wash facilities in the men's WC block and no rinse water for the chemical toilet emptying point. All the time we were there I did not get any hot water from either shower, basin or pot washing sinks, I think the water in the pool was warmer. Pools were good. Rubbish bins were poorley located the other side of the entrance gate near the road. There were a few better pitches down by the canal and there were several empty while we were there, but we were not offered one. Some friends we went with said they had never been offered one in the several visits they had made there. We found the reception staff friendly..

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Benouville hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our journey was great as the team at the reception is awsome!
The prices for both " chalets and pitch" are reasonable, close to the beach, ww2 sites, medieval towns. Concidering we had spent the budget we thought it would be, we keep a good souvenir and are wheeling to come bakc next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kingnormandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

So here I am in what for all intents is a beautiful rural site located near Pegasus bridge. So I arrive with my mate on the 4th June full of excitement . I had ordered a grand large caravan hell to the expense for 2 of us , luxury a room each. Then I realised it was like living on a David Wilson estate overlooked by every angle my neighbours in my pocket and unable to fart without the far end of the site knowing. So I tried the bar, surly rude and ignored for over 10 minutes then over charged for several drinks. I challenged this received an apology with all the integrity and heart of a child snatching dingo all smiles no sincerity. The chalet ( static caravan) nearly €400 for 3 nights overlooked no welcome pack unless you consider a couple of bin bags n a toilet roll? The wifi I bought for€ 10 useless , as effective as a microwave meal in 1960's London . In short a poor site, poor customer service , arrogance n conceit from the boss and the families of the boss. In short massive room for improvement. X

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Desmodue900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sidmouth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We camped here for two weeks in August 2013, it was a lovely site although out first two placements for our tent were not acceptable due to the size of our tent, we ended up on an edge of a road but we were happy. The showers were clean but with some unruly children and the washing machines a godsend. We thought this was an ideal spot for touring and covered most of the Normandy coastline, cemeteries, museums and forts. We went via the channel tunnel as we took our dog but if you're just a car the ferry to oustrheum would be ideal. One negative the food on site was extremely basic and there is nowhere in the village to get food. Ideal to walk along the canal to Pegasus bridge. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the weather was amazing!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank zimbaSidmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We travelled here for 10 nights in July, it was me my hubby plus 2 kids and sister her husband plus 1 child. We were allocated 2 pitches together, nice and big. We had the toilets, showers etc next to us and we found them really clean, lovely and warm showers, cannot grumble at all!! The pool was lovely, very clean, perfect after a days sightseeing. We had the worst storm whilst there in 36yrs, thank god for the great laundry room!! We ate at the restaurant one night, brilliant set menu for 13€, moules steak fresh cheese, really lovely!! There is a canal walk, one direction to Pegasus bridge and the museum which was amazing, the other walk to ouistreham which takes about 1hr with little ones, nice selection of restaurants and bars. Benouville is very quiet, but you can find supermarkets very easily, a car is a must to see the wonderful sights and beaches close by.We only left early as the weather wasn't on our side, however, we really enjoyed the campsite, as a seasoned camper I found some of the grumbles on here un warranted, having stayed at municipal campsites this really was nice and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank fifitot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Desperately tired, I decided to pay more than usual to camp at this family campsite, the place had all the trimmings that I as a single traveller don't usually use, namely the swimming pool and bar/restaurant. The reception seemed a little disorganised when I arrived, with one girl dealing with all the enquiries and checking in as other staff stood around. The pitch was reasonable, if not a little crammed in at the end of a small lane, alongside a mobile home. Having paid over the odds I used the pool, both the indoor and outdoor sections were open, but the connecting door was closed, the pool seemed clean, but was mainly a fun pool, with slides and fountains and minimum depth. The toilets and showers seemed reasonable, except there was no hand washing facilities in the men's, meaning you had to walk to the washing up room, or shower room to wash your hands. The real negative came when the evenings entertainment started, a bingo game with a stupidly loud tannoy system blasting into the crowd, it was way to noisy and went on til gone 11, and the bar continued to be open til after my earplugged self finally got to sleep after 12. The most stupidly annoying thing was the location of the bins out the main gate, right up by the main road, i was pitched close to the entrance and it was still a 500m walk, other campers drove to it!
The noise was the main negative, with facilities stupidly located, if the pool hadn't of been decent I would have dropped it down to a 1 star, the most positive point is its location only a few hundred metres along a canal path to the pegasus bridge memorial

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marktheevildude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benouville
2.7 mi away
Riva Bella Hotel
Riva Bella Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
2.7 mi away
La Villa Andry
La Villa Andry
#4 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel les bains de Cabourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Glycine
0.2 mi away
Manoir'hastings
Manoir'hastings
#2 of 2 in Benouville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
7.7 mi away
Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Les Hautes Coutures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Les Hautes Coutures

Property: Camping Les Hautes Coutures
Address: Avenue de la Cote de Nacre, 14970 Benouville, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Benouville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Benouville
Hotel Class:4 star — Camping Les Hautes Coutures 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Also Known As:
Camping Les Hautes Coutures Benouville, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing