We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to relax (weekends a bit noisy)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Garden Playanatural Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in El Rompido
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I have just returned from 2 weeks holiday at the Garden Playanatural Hotel & Spa.
We were greeted on arrival with a glass of champagne which was a nice touch.
The hotel is very clean and the staff very friendly and nothing too much trouble even though sometimes their English isn't very good(that said its was miles better than my Spanish).
The food I initially had a problem as it was fish, pork, rabbit or goat which I don't eat, I took this up with the rep and both of us spoke to the head chef who told me if there wasn't anything I could eat to speak to him and he would get his staff to cook me chicken or steak which I did on a few occasions and was really pleased with food I was provided (basically he went the extra mile).
The hotel is about 2miles from the small very Spanish town of El Rompido which cost us 30 euro round trip in a taxi - you may say you could walk it but the temperature was circa 33 -37 degrees.
Car hire is very cheap 155 euro for 3 days inclusive of collision waiver and sat nav.
The only thing I would say May cause some people a problem is the arrival on Fridays of groups of Spanish party people and I am not saying young people (who I always feel get bad press unduly) but middle aged men and women aged between 30 and 60 who were very loud and crowded bars, some people did feel intimidated which I didn't and stood my ground and they quite quickly understood they didn't have free reign that said come Sunday afternoon peace descended yet again.
The wifi is hit and miss we couldn't get it around the pool and had to go to main building, we also couldn't get it in our room but other people could so luck of the draw really.
All in all if you want a place to escape to which is very Spanish and not commercial then this is it and I would go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,046)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just arrived back yesterday (14th June), had a great week in a very Spanish holiday where the Brits make up a small proportion of the guests. Fri-Sun the hotel fills to capacity with weekend Spanish guests and the rest of the week the Brits and a few Germans and Spanish are left. We also got a crowd of guys down for the start of the World Cup - 5-1 Holland - they took it exceptionally well, still full of the joys and just got on with enjoying their weekend.
Staff are brill but very limited with their English. All Inclusive the best yet especially at the Bars. Food very Spanish if your looking for your home comforts forget it, best bring your own tea bags etc. Ate a lot of stuff I never thought I would. My wife requires a Gluten Free diet and presented a GF card to the staff who in turn got the Head Chef who took time to go over all the food stations telling her what ones she could or couldn't touch saying he was at her disposal should she require anything special made, as long as she told him at lunch time for the evening meal.
Lovely big room, but had a dodgy maid, left little tell tale things on floor, never tidied up. But the worst thing regarding the room - MOSQUITOS - by the dozen, take as much protection as possible their brutal.
The village, not worth the bother, not like other resorts where they try to beckon you in.
Sunbeds not a problem, lots of ants though, but great service at pool bar from Tere and Carmen and the entertainment was really pants.
Finally the Holiday Rep awful. Asked about late check-outs "check with reception yourself". As it was told to come back on the day and was then told "sorry hotel full - your room allocated".
All in all was pretty good but so different from other holidays in Spain.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Wills38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The Hotel is good value, the food was ok, we did'nt touch the chicken cooked on the grill as twice it was pink ! The hotel was clean and the staff very helpful although not able to communicate well in English!
The sunbed and tables were not cleaned at night resulting in drink stains etc but once we mentioned this to reception they were cleaned every morning, well done!
The weekend Spanish young guests were a pain, as soon as they arrived the lovely ambience at the Hotel disappeared, they were jumping over balconies, rowdy obviously being let loose and making the most if it! Pushing and shoving in the restaurant, and very very loud round the pool, that was a real shame. The other reason I would not go back is the remoteness, no shops or anywhere to wander in the evenings, but this would suit some folk well, entertainment ok, the team work hard as do all the Hotel staff. The Spa did not entice us, high prices and u have to wear a silly hat which of course you pay for!

Room Tip: It's worth paying for a superior room, they are spacious with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KentWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Lovely clean hotel, we had a sea view with a view over the national park,huge room and balcony.Staff were very friendly very little English spoken.Food choice was excellent but sometimes a little cold but meat was cooked to perfection on the grill.Loads of different fresh fruits.Our room was on the 3rd floor 1322 very quiet.Car hire at the hotel was the best.A 20 min walk into El Rompido lovely little village, Taxi is 14 Euro's bus is 1.38 Euro's.All inc was great, national brand drinks.Weather great a little windy but helped to keep cool.Pools very clean and relaxing plenty of sunbeds.Air con was very quiet. We were there for 10 days on 1st June 2014. would book again, handy to drive into Portugal.Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: High floor side view.Room 1322.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Visited this hotel in June for a weeks holiday.the room was ok overlooking the pool and sea and had a lovely view.
The night entertainment was very loud and also the Spanish guests stayed up till about 3in the morning making a lot of noise.
The food was poor and not kept very hot.
The staff were helpful .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shirley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were suprised to be given a Sea & Pool View 3rd Floor Room when we arrived as we were only allocated a Mount View Room. The room was very pleasant and had a Superb View.
We were informed by other guests that it was very quiet the previous days but then the Hotel was over run with Spanish Saga Guests. They stayed for 2 Nights then all Hell Broke Loose when the Hotel was 'Taken Over' by Very Rowdy 20 to 30 year old Spanish Weekend Visitors.
These Intimidated the Brits who stayed in the Hotel, Pushed in the queues at the Bar and in the Dining Room. (Nothing was done about this by the Hotel Staff. Obviously the Hotel Value their visit more than the Brits).
These Yobs sang Football Songs and 'Mocked the Brits that had complained to Reception about the noise through until nearly 3 O' Clock in the morning keeping other guests awake.
We were very glad that we had hired a car and get away from the hotel during the day.
The Evening Entertainment is as poor as I have seen in any Hotel that had any. It consisted of Mr. Garden Playanatural , Men Versus Women and a Quiz. On the other 4 nights there was nothing on at all.

Room Tip: Rooms that don't overlook the Pool may help you get a better nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mal764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Advantages-hotel only for adults,amazing quiet location in peanea forest,great all-in program,nice architecture,proper 4x hotel,helpfull and always smiling staff,beach is about 500m walking in peanea forest or can use hotel bus,by rented car you can visit all you want to see.
weeknesses-sometimes problems with english,nearest bankomat is cca 5km(in hotel u can pay by card,but on the beach only cash...),nearest restaurant,shop is cca 2km(best way to solve it- all- in),beds are a bit uncomfortable(70%),be prepared on quite loud animation programs everyday in Spanish(but very popular for natives and everydays finished at 24.00 max-started at 22.00)

Room Tip: rooms numbers started from 2000
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Roman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Rompido
1.3 mi away
Playacartaya Spa Hotel
7.3 mi away
Islantilla Golf Resort Hotel
7.3 mi away
Puerto Antilla Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Precise Resort El Rompido - The Apartments
1.5 mi away
Hotel Fuerte el Rompido
Hotel Fuerte el Rompido
#1 of 5 in El Rompido
1,195 reviews
2.1 mi away
Precise Resort El Rompido - The Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Playanatural Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Playanatural Hotel & Spa

Address: Paraje de San Miguel, s/n, 21459 El Rompido, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > El Rompido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in El Rompido
#4 Family Hotel in El Rompido
Price Range: £36 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden Playanatural Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Garden Playanatural Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Spa Cartaya Garden
Hotel Cartaya Garden
Garden Hotel Cartaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing