We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SENTIDO Garden Playanatural
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Fuerte el Rompido(El Rompido)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Precise Resort El Rompido - The Hotel(El Rompido)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel San Miguel(El Rompido)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Nuevo Portil Golf(Cartaya)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plaza Chica(Cartaya)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,056)
Filter reviews
1,056 results
Traveller rating
357
356
197
97
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
356
197
97
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool barrelaxing holidayevening entertainmentthomas cookplenty of sunbedsentertainment teamnature reserveshuttle busbalinese bedslovely clean hotelweather was fantasticsea viewjust returned from a weekbottle of cavanearest villagerifle shootinglower pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 1,056 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My girlfriend and I (both 19) have just returned from a week at this lovely hotel and we both feel a week wasn't long enough. On arrival we were greeted with a glass of champagne which was a nice touch, and the receptionist told us opening and closing times for everything, however, none of the reception staff speak English very well, but they get by. The staff in general are very nice and friendly but speak very little English, so it can be hard to communicate at times. The entertainment shows on a night are in Spanish with little bits of English translation thrown in from time to time, but it is still funny to watch. The entertainment is from 10:30pm to 12am and I would highly recommend going to the Karaoke bar after this, however you could be waiting until 12:30-1 ish before people turn up, so be patient because once they do turn up it is very fun. They have entertainment through the day from sports activities; football and aqua gym, to pistol shooting and darts. At first, English people don't get asked to join in with these activities, as the hotel is predominantly Spanish, but once you have joined in they are extremely friendly and will interact with you more so I would recommend to join in the activities from the start.

The beach is full of locals and we couldn't find the ferry to take us to the bigger beach, so we didn't end up going to that, but the hotel was nice enough to stay there, which as good as there is nothing else in the surrounding area of the hotel.

When we arrived on a Thursday morning, there was 4 people, including us. We were told the hotel was quiet but we didn't think it would be this quiet. From Friday to Sunday, the locals come to the hotel and it gets a bit louder, but its nice to have a bit of life in the place

Finally, the food is inedible at times, with meat not cooked properly and food tasteless, we had veal 5 nights in a row and each time it tasted different, even though it was cooked the same, so we pretty much lived on bread and chips for the week. The food is the only bad thing I can say about the hotel, once you get used to the staff and the entertainment in Spanish, its not really a problem. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody it is extremely relaxing and everyone is very friendly. Me and my girlfriend would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Callum N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Garden Hotel El Rompido Spain is a fantastic hotel. Two great pools and plenty of room to sunbathe. Always plenty of sunbeds which are well maintained. Plenty of food choice in the restaurant, suits MOST people but some still think it should be all English cuisine. If you cannot find something to eat that suits you then you are too fussy and should stick to holidays in the UK. Restaurant times will suit everyone, they seem to be open for quite long hours. The entertainment team are very good albeit mainly Spanish speaking but hey this is Spain. The staff are very friendly and when we were there they were really trying to learn a few words in English. This is the first year Thomas Cook have had this hotel in the brochure.
One downfall is the fact that the hotel is a long way out. There is the small town of El Rompido which is a 45 minute walk away and only 2 shops. No Taverna's anywhere near by except in El Rompido.
We went on a couple of trips and we had a tour guide called Lisa who was brilliant. Her knowledge was unbelievable and she had an amazing sense of humour. She made our trips very special and I think Thomas Cook would be advised to hang on to her for dear life.

Room Tip: All rooms are of superior quality.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank RandM51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

a week of relaxation in a lovely hotel food was plentiful and something for everyone. We found that that the food could of been hotter. Room was excellent and very clean. The pools were lovely however the sunbeds could of been better maintained a bit tired. The beach was so beautiful. The hotel is very isolated and the nearest town was unremarkable. If you want peace and quiet then this is for you. The entertainment was different geared for the spanish but they tried to involve the english,and everyone was very polite and helpful. For us a week was enough, Word of warning the mosquitos are brutal and take no prisoners so take plenty of repellent.!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rainybirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My girlfriend and i booked this as a last minute short 4 night all inclusive break and arrived home 3rd July 2014. This is an Adult only hotel and absolutely perfect for a quiet, relaxing break. After check in, which was quick and relaxed, we were given a glass of Champagne. Nice touch. The room was spacious with a large balcony with views over a sprawling forest and the sea. They are air conditioned and contained a fridge with a bottle of wine and soft drinks all free and once drunk aren't topped up.
The food is very varied and excellent and it was nice being able order wine by the bottle to accompany the meal. The beer is San Miguel and all the spirits are top brands e.g. Smirnoff vodka, Johnnie Walker Red Label whisky, Bacardi and Bombay Sapphire gin. The staff who were all very helpful only spoke broken English which we put down to the fact this is the first year that Thomas Cook has used this hotel. Most of the other guests were Spanish with a spattering of English and German but all were friendly. Sports activities (competitions) take place most days but no pressure is put on you to take part. There is a stage outside with entertainment most evenings, which wasn't exactly the best, but hey ho each to their own. We didn't have any of the Spa treatments so can't comment on them. Anyway we would most definately go back.
Thanks to all the staff!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Stan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The hotel was clean and had everything needed for comfort. Never used the boat to the beach as people say not worth going,so stayed around the pool with no problem on any day getting a Sun lounger. The food was ok I am not generally fussy but some days I struggled. Also the food was nearly always cold(a microwave is provided to use). The bars drinks and staff were friendly and appreciated our feeble attempt at the Spanish lingo. The free WiFi was great in room and around the pool area. Word of advice take plenty of repellent and the mosquito love us. The walk into nearest town is approx 40 mins but if you go in the morning before it's too hot it's a nice walk. My only bad thing is I e mailed the hotel before we went about a celebration of our anniversary and mail not even responded to and no effort made also.

Room Tip: We paid for a superior mountain view. Never saw any mountains.but we did get pool and sea view room 2217.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Egyptvirgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews