We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third time back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Fuerte el Rompido
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Rompido
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Third time back”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This my third time back here in a couple of years, I live in Spain and after a very busy summer I really look forward to driving here, everything is so easy from the check in to comfortable rooms with a good tv selection, the buffet breakfast in the morning is a good selection of hot and cold and plenty of coffee fresly brewed, you can even have a nice glass of cava if that takes your fancy, it would be nice to have a paper to read , they did have them on my first visit but not on my second and third, that would top the breakfast off for me. This is a dog friendly hotel and they suppy free boat passes to a fantastic beach where dogs are allowed.

El rompido itself is a lovely little boating village with some great places to eat, there are some amazing walks from the hotel around the nature reserve with lots of wildlife to see.

This hotel is great value for money and I'm already looking forward to booking my next trip.

The only downside is I find the mattresses very hard.

Room Tip: The Sea view rooms are worth the extra on your first visit, it's a real treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    364
    89
    25
    22
See reviews for
526
357
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My husband and I have just arrived back after a wonderful holiday at the Fuerte El Rompido hotel. The friendliness of the staff and the excellent buffet breakfast and dinner were better than expected. There was also great entertainment in the evenings and during the day with activities to suit everyone. The overall experience and atmosphere is most relaxing. They catered very very well for gluten free diets which my husband requires. The main swimming pool is very big and spacious with another two pools, one a circular pool and a very shallow one for little children. The layout is beautiful with terraced sunbed areas and a plentiful supply of sunbeds and umbrellas. There is a small town about 10 minutes walk away where there are many fish restaurants and also a local shopping area close to the hotel with a few shops, a small supermarket and a coffee/ice cream cafe and bars. The receptionist at the door for dinner, Laura, was so pleasant to everyone and especially helpful regarding the gluten free items. The staff in this hotel are marvellous, helpful and patient. We are a mature couple and loved our holiday there, we'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MelmicCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Great location with superb, helpful staff

Great buffet dinner and breakfast

Vast open areas with large pools, children's pool and jacuzzi. Cleverly laid out terraces giving a degree of privacy to the sun beds

Good value for money

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Let me start out by saying that I am going to be as objective about this as I can - this sort of hotel is not my cup of tea but after a few days touring Andalucia (via Gibraltar and Morocco) we booked here (back in March) for 5 days R & R.

Things started off a bit badly with the reception guy telling us three crucial bits of information incorrectly

a) where are room was (completely the opposite side of the hotel - in fairness he did phone and apologise, not many Brit hotel people would do that)

b) that breakfast was until 12:30 (we thought this late even by Spanish standards, and when we arrived at 11:15 saw it finished at 11! But still time to get brekkie, nobody moaned!)

c) the arrangements if you wanted to eat in the hotel. It was so complicated with regard to booking before this time or that, and with or not with reception - the penalty for getting it wrong was a whopping €10 per person (€17 if you got it right, €27 if you didn't).

The first night we arrived at the correct time, or so we thought, and the Maitre D, confirmed this albeit with a puzzled look on her face..........more of that to come later.

So the buffet - enormous choice and it looked and tasted not bad at all - for mass catering it was a brilliant effort, the guy who cooks the fresh meat and does the omelettes in the morning deserves a medal, happy and hard working - and that is a theme that runs through the hotel - the members of staff are excellent, helpful, smiley and busy - we really liked them, but special mention to Luis Jose (I think) very nice bloke indeed. Service in the buffet for drinks it excellent, we did not have any problems at all.

The rooms - spotless as is the hotel, the only criticism is that the A/C in ours was a bit useless (our children's room was fantastic) and there was sometimes a whiff of stale / standing water, not damp I think. But these were minor issues.

Grounds / pool - fantastic, beautifully kept and loads of bins including recycling ones, what a great idea! Of course there were areas on the grass where ignorant selfish lazy smokers had discarded their butts, but it would be something of a Herculean effort to rid the grounds of all of these.

It was easy to get a sunbed, less easy to find a cushion, although we sussed that out by getting one before breakfast (10:30) and doing the old German trick - although there were always plenty.

Pool again very very clean and big. Sometimes a bit crowded but in the afternoon often deserted due to siestas being taken. However you can get away from the noise because the hotel in on a slope and if you take a bed towards the sea it slopes away from the noise.

If you were a couple coming here this really might not be your cup of tea, but I have to say, not sure if it is a class thing or a Spanish thing, but there were very very few kids running around out of control, particularly in the restaurant - perhaps the Spanish (who accounted for 95% of the punters) don't tolerate that, whatever it was, it was much appreciated.

The other thing we liked was the relaxed atmosphere in terms of eating and drinking. Nearby there is a supermarket and the hotel could so easily say that you cannot eat items bought outside, but it doesn't and we even hogged the fridge to cool down our drinks - incidentally the minibar prices were very reasonable.

So all in all fantastic......until I checked out. I had guessed what the bill would be, more or less, and the lovely Macarena confirmed this. When I got back to the pool and had a look I noticed some odd charges which (excuse the pun) didn't add up. So off I went back to see Macarena who, unfortunately, revealed the correct interpretation of the labyrinthine rules of eating in the buffet - oh dear, my inquisitiveness regarding the bill is going to cost me dear. But hang on, marvellous Macarena then says, 'No problem' and alters both bills to suit and everything is hunky dory except that I have gone redder than a watermelon's insides - why? Oh dear, the difference is €4 - oops. I tried to donate it to charity but the system wouldn't allow that.

So a huge thanks to Marvellous Macarena, the most patient hotel receptionist I have ever met and I have stayed in hundreds of hotels. Also generally well done, we all agreed as we drove away that it was a superb hotel, we had a great stay indeed.

Muchas gracias!!!

Room Tip: Sea view is nice and make sure aircon is working well
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank C4LWX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here for four nights end of July, flew into Faro and it's about 100 kilometres east--easy to find. This is a family hotel and 95%+ Spanish, there are a lot of children everywhere but we found them very well behaved so no problem for us. It's a big hotel we had a sea view room 165 euros per night bed and breakfast--rooms overlooking the pool my be noisy during the day. Breakfast was very good with hugh selection and an egg station, there was an offer for dinner of 16 euros per person which we used on 2 nights.
El Rompido town is very small, mostly small restaurants-La Paterna and El Rinconcito stood out, there is not much to do and no major towns to visit. The main beach is reached by boat (hotel gave us tickets) but when you get there there is nothing, beautiful but isolated--take an umbrella for shade. Overall glad we went here but four days was enough for just the two of us--would be different with children. We used it as an extension to our main holiday on the Algarve.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed for a week in July (2 adults and 2 children). The hotel is great for families, super pool, nice rooms, fabulous breakfast (look out for the cava at breakfast... sure you're on your holidays!). There are mostly Spanish families holidaying in the area, so if you are expecting something like Costa del sol then forget about it.

The only bad points for the hotel are;
The drinks service... It is extremely slow, we waited an hour for our drinks one evening. Even when it is quiet the bar staff are very very slow.
Also, if you have children who do not speak Spanish they may feel a bit left out of the children's games/activities.
The evening can lack in entertainment. If you're looking for a relaxing holiday this is perfect, but if you want a few things to do in the evening you may find it a little boring.

There's a supermarket across the road which is handy. We cleared out the mini bar fridge and put a few things there to make lunch each day and have it on the balcony. The village is lovely... it's typical Spanish and full of tapa's bars. The boat over to La Flecha is also worth a trip. The area, unlike most Spanish beaches is unspoilt.

Overall I would really recommend this hotel for families and the area in general... especially if you want a taste of "real Spain".

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We had a week in mid May 2012 and there were 19 of us, not one of us had a bad word to say about the place, it was great from start to finish, the food, staff service, rooms and pools were all fantastic.
The two Golf courses are a good test of golf for all abilities and very well kept. It’s hard to try and please 19 grumpy old men but this place sure did manage it.
We are thinking of going back next year it was that good, going all-inclusive is great value for the money it costs.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Rompido
4.3 mi away
Precise Resort El Rompido - The Apartments
5.8 mi away
Puerto Antilla Grand Hotel
5.8 mi away
Islantilla Golf Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Garden Playanatural Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Playacartaya Spa Hotel
0.6 mi away
Precise Resort El Rompido - The Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fuerte el Rompido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte el Rompido

Property: Hotel Fuerte el Rompido
Address: urbanizacion Marina del Rompido Km. 8 | El Rompido - Cartaya (Huelva), 21459 El Rompido, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > El Rompido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in El Rompido
#1 Family Hotel in El Rompido
#1 Green Hotel in El Rompido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte el Rompido 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique ecological four star hotel in a unique location: spectacular views to a natural area, golf, next to the picturesque village of El Rompido offering boat access to a 12 km long wild beach (boat transfer to this beach, free of charge / once a day*). 300 Twin and family rooms equipped with central climatization (cold in summer and hot in winter), telephone, minibar, safety box (extra), music channel, hairdryer, satellite TV, Internet connection WIFI in 50% of the rooms (extra), baby carriage, cot and baby bath free (depending on availability). Hotel facilities: thematic restaurants (high season), grill restaurant by the pool, show bar (performances 7 times a week), lounges, shop, mini club Forti*, entertainment program (aerobic, archery, beach volleyball, darts, billiards, ping-pong, etc.), Adult manual craft, game room, outdoor pool, heated outdoor pool, outdoor Jacuzzi, children's pool, indoor heated pool, sunbeds (also available on the beach, only summer / extra), TV room, gym, tennis courts (extra), paddle tennis courts (extra), multi-purpose sport ground (extra), football pitch (grass, extra),hairdresser (extra), ciber room (extra), garage (extra), bicycle rent (extra). Fully equipped Hydrotherapy - SPA centre with sauna, Turkish bath, dynamic pool, hydro-massage bath, massages, beauty treatments. Golf course el Rompido next to the hotel. Additional activities: Sailing, horse riding, trekking, beach trekking, karting, water park, etc. Discounted rates at most of the golf courses in the area. *Services not available from October till March.Half board consists in breakfast an dinner in our buffet restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fuerte Hoteles, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fuerte el Rompido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fuerte Rompido El Rompido
Fuerte Hotel El Rompido
El Rompido Fuerte Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing