We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Fuerte el Rompido
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Rompido
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Very good hotel for a family holiday.

Pros:
- Clean rooms,
- Excellent food (Cava for breakfast, grill for dinners)
- Very friendly staff
- Indoor swimming pool open also for children
- Microwave in the day restaurant available for heating food for kids
- Located in a quiet village without many others hotels in the area, next to the supermarket, not far from the beach.
- Bike and Segway rental next to the hotel plus a large green area to explore next to the hotel for trips.
- Free tickets for a ferry to the beach which was great attraction for our 2,5 years old son (for some it may be an issue, for us it was extra fun).
- Good location for day trips to Portugal, Sevilla, and Cordoba
- Golf course nearby for those who play

Cons:
- Staff could speak better english but in the end i always got what i needed
- A bit loud at times in the swimming pool (children)
- A bit too far for a day trip to Gibraltar or Alhambra
- Our sea view room was not a proper sea view. I would call it side sea view with a palm tree in front of the room :-). Not a big issue...

Highly recommeded with excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor in the middle part of the hotel have the best direct sea view. Sea is a bit d...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank czesiuradek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomeu R, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte el Rompido, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear czesiuradek,

We truly appreciate the wonderful comments you had about your stay. We strive to make our guests stay with us as enjoyable as possible. We are glad that we were able to do so in your case and hope to do so again in the future. Please for the next visit indicate us your preference room to get your perfect relax.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future,
Hotel Fuerte el Rompido team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,177)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Fuerte el Rompido
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

Wonderful and relaxing really helpful staff especially Pepe who went the extra mile. Beautiful location. Must do the trip over the river by ferry to have a swim in the med gorgeous. Wouldn't go to Huelva again not that impressive.

Room Tip: We had a queen room which had fabulous views overlooking pools and got the early morning sun. great...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenatabbotskerswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomeu R, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte el Rompido, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear guest,
thanks for your comments, we are glad to know that your stay was satisfactory and we hope to see you soon at the hotel.

sincerely,
regards
Fuerte Rompido Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The information in their website is false and misleading, we were recommended the Precise Hotel but we booked this one because the good reviews and also their website advertises “free transfer” from the airport for stays of more than 3 days and if you book it online, we tried to book the transfer online but were unable to since the online booking form doesn't work, the date field is not editable, after several phone calls (they only answer calls from 9 am to 9 pm!?) we were told we have to book the transfer by email (but the website says online!?) by email they informed us that the transfer cost is 25 euro per person and per journey.............
But what about the “free transfer” you advertise?!? they said that’s only if we had booked "our stay directly with them and not through Travel Republic" (the reason why we booked with Travel Republic is because the same room was 200 euro cheaper than booking directly with them) I complained that their website does not state that you have to book the accommodation directly with them to get the "free transfer", they ignored me.

After I insisted about the misleading information they said they had passed my comments to the website administrator…

I complained again when I was presented with the 50 euro cost at checkout but they (literally) looked the other way.

The site also states that all the rooms have nice views to: the garden, swimming pool or El Rompido town, however our room faced a white wall, after we asked to be moved they showed us another room that stank at cigarettes and was also facing a different white wall! when we asked for a non-smoking room they said "all the rooms are non-smoking although some customers ignore the rules and smoke anyway"…why wouldn’t they?? There was not a single “no smoking” sign anywhere to be seen!

Apart from feeling cheated with the whole 50 euro "free transfer", we found the room quite worn out and old, the TVs are from last century, the hairdryers are those completely useless flexible plastic tubes that are not able to dry a single hair, burn your hand and make your hair frizzier than ever before, they have a “normal” hairdryer in reception but you have to go, ask for it and return it every single time you need it….

The only toiletries provided are soap and shower gel in a wall dispenser (from last century also) really poor for a 4 star hotel.

Also the mattress was as hard as the floor and every day we woke up with back pain.

The only good thing about this hotel was breakfast, with plenty of choice although it got very busy at weekends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The location overlooks the sea and a boat is available to take you to the beach. Service was good . Found eating on site a bit limited particularly at lunch time however the food we did eat on site was good. Room we had was very good with side view balcony with a great vista of the sea and the surrounding area. Facilities were good also and we had an enjoyable few days.

Room Tip: We had a side sea view room and was worth the extra cost
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EXPATMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepe_Delgado, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fuerte el Rompido, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Thank you indeed for your stay and your review.

We are very glad to know that you enjoyed our welcoming and friendly team, as well as our location and buffet breakfast. We also appreciate you comment about the room.

We all look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed for two weeks in this hotel. On the first night we noticed hundreds of ants all over the floor. This was reported to reception in the morning and also to the girl cleaning our room. Despite asking many times to have our room treated for this infestation of ants it was NOT done. The rug in our room was ripped at the edges and when we lifted the edge, under the carpet was filthy dirty, crawling with ants, and had not been cleaned for many months. What can I say except no one listened or even cared. The staff in hotel were very good and the gardens were kept in excellent condition. The dining room was always very under staffed at breakfast and especially at dinner. At the Gala dinner it was complete chaos with the staff on duty unable to cope with the number of guests attending. For some reason the management were unable to have more staff. Guests had to clean dirty dishes etc from the tables before they sat down. A total farce and the chefs, waiters, and even the manager agreed and apologised for a very poor evening. Not a good experience.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jack1Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepe_Delgado, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fuerte el Rompido, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us.

I am really sorry that you did not find our hotel convenient.

With kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Just home from a lovely stay here in Hotel Fuerte, and my partner and I agree that we would definitely choose here to stay again!
Initially there was a major set back as we had just arrived at 1am after a delayed flight, only to be told they had no record of a reservation for us. Luckily, lovely Sergio the night porter immediately found us a room and told us not to worry, to sleep well, and someone else would talk to us the following morning. We were given a twin room, but at 1 in the morning I didn't care as long as it was comfy! The next morning we returned to reception and spoke to Macarena, who apologised for the mix-up and told us that the online (external) reservation company had cancelled our reservation a week previously, unbeknownst to the two of us. Thankfully, she understood completely and even upgraded us to a sea view room! Gorgeous!
After staying in two different rooms, I can confirm that they are spacious, comfortable and immaculate.

We got breakfast every morning in the Olivia Restaurant, absolutely gorgeous with a station set up where the chef makes omelettes, crepes and pancakes fresh to order. There is a choice between indoor seating and outdoor seating with a lovely view of the pool and grounds, I'd recommend sitting outdoors to add to that lovely holiday feeling!
The pool was quite busy two days and less so the remainder of our stay, but there was plenty of space and sun loungers available regardless of busy-ness. There are two outdoor adult pools, 1 outdoor kiddy pool, a jacuzzi, two water slides (which are great fun, even for adults!), an indoor pool and a spa. Spoilt for choice!
There are plenty of restaurants in the surrounding area, just get a local map from reception which outlines them all, I would definitely recommend La Espuela Grill just up the road in the grounds of another hotel, they do lovely steaks and cocktails for good prices. Because of all the choice, we didn't eat dinner in the hotel, so I can't speak for the evening meals there.

The location of El Rompido was beautiful also, far enough away from raucous British and Irish holiday towns but close enough to larger towns that if you did crave a Big Mac, it's not a million miles away! Thankfully El Rompido and the Hotel Fuerte are well signposted as Google Maps had us going through roundabouts that didn't exist!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone; young and old couples, families, golfers, luxury spa weekenders, and I would bet that a wedding in this hotel would be absolutely beautiful!
We will definitely consider staying here again, thanks so much to everyone here for making it a wonderful relaxing holiday!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors to get the best view possible!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMogsey89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepe_Delgado, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fuerte el Rompido, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thanks you for your words...

It´s a pleasure to read it!. I am sure may travellers wil find it useful. We are happy to know that you enjoy our buffet breakfast, and that you find our rooms so comfortable that there is nowhere else in the world you sleep as well as you do here.
I will proudly share your comments with the staff (Macarena and Sergio included). We all look forward to welcoming you soon again at Fuerte el Rompido.

Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

this was one of the best hotels we have stayed in. Friendly and helpful staff, Room very comfortable, high standard of cleanliness, with view of golf course. Wifi in room, and something we haven"t come across in Spanish hotels...English tv , great to get programmes not just BBC world. Excellent choice of food. Beautifl grounds. Area around pool very nice with a degree of privacy behind the hedges. Short walk to harbour where boat (free ticket from hotel) took us to the beach. Can"t wait to return. The only minor moan was the noise from the lawn mowers on the golf course

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepe_Delgado, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Fuerte el Rompido, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Thanks for your comments...

is a pleasure to know that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable... that our facilities met their extectations.

We will be pleased to see you again in our hotel.

kindly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Rompido
5.8 mi away
Islantilla Golf Resort Hotel
2.9 mi away
Playacartaya Spa Hotel
5.8 mi away
Puerto Antilla Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Garden Playanatural Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Precise Resort El Rompido - The Apartments
0.6 mi away
Precise Resort El Rompido - The Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fuerte el Rompido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte el Rompido

Address: urbanizacion Marina del Rompido Km. 8 | El Rompido - Cartaya (Huelva), 21459 El Rompido, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > El Rompido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in El Rompido
#1 Green Hotel in El Rompido
#1 Family Hotel in El Rompido
Price Range: £60 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte el Rompido 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique ecological four star hotel in a unique location: spectacular views to a natural area, golf, next to the picturesque village of El Rompido offering boat access to a 12 km long wild beach (boat transfer to this beach, free of charge / once a day*). 300 Twin and family rooms equipped with central climatization (cold in summer and hot in winter), telephone, minibar, safety box (extra), music channel, hairdryer, satellite TV, Internet connection WIFI in 50% of the rooms (extra), baby carriage, cot and baby bath free (depending on availability). Hotel facilities: thematic restaurants (high season), grill restaurant by the pool, show bar (performances 7 times a week), lounges, shop, mini club Forti*, entertainment program (aerobic, archery, beach volleyball, darts, billiards, ping-pong, etc.), Adult manual craft, game room, outdoor pool, heated outdoor pool, outdoor Jacuzzi, children's pool, indoor heated pool, sunbeds (also available on the beach, only summer / extra), TV room, gym, tennis courts (extra), paddle tennis courts (extra), multi-purpose sport ground (extra), football pitch (grass, extra),hairdresser (extra), ciber room (extra), garage (extra), bicycle rent (extra). Fully equipped Hydrotherapy - SPA centre with sauna, Turkish bath, dynamic pool, hydro-massage bath, massages, beauty treatments. Golf course el Rompido next to the hotel. Additional activities: Sailing, horse riding, trekking, beach trekking, karting, water park, etc. Discounted rates at most of the golf courses in the area. *Services not available from October till March.Half board consists in breakfast an dinner in our buffet restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fuerte Hoteles, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fuerte el Rompido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fuerte Rompido El Rompido
Fuerte Hotel El Rompido
El Rompido Fuerte Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing