We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The norm. seems to be overbooking on the first night.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Valparaiso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Valparaiso
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cala Murada
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“The norm. seems to be overbooking on the first night.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel in June 2013, we arrived and was told that the hotel had been overbooked, we were taken in a taxi to another hotel which was horrendous, we had to climb two sets of steel steps with our suitcases and we are not young anymore. We were told where the restaurant was and this was like a school canteen, all inclusive but we would certainly not of chose it for a holiday. We were taken back to the Valparaiso the morning after, tired and rather annoyed. However the hotel is set in the most beautiful place, surrounded by the sea, the gardens are well tended. The staff are few but aim to do their utmost best to provide the service required.The holiday was enjoyable, lovely and peaceful, however on talking to other guests the overbooking seems to be the norm, so due to this we will not be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms with a sea view are quite noisy due to the noise from the hotel across the sea, we stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    40
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
14
55
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We came back to this hotel as the views are spectacular and it is a small hotel peaceful and quiet. the staff are really helpful and friendly. However this year we arrived and they said they had overbooked the rooms so we were sent in a taxi to the hotel in cala murada. This was a very unpleasand experience. Hotel Valparaise is now a 4* hotel due to the inclusion of a spa, the hotel they sent us to was awful. We were sent to a room at the back of the hotel which was very dark and uninviting we also had to share with thousands of ants. We got talking to other guests the next day when we were taken back to Valparaiso and quite a few had the same experience as us but they were offered an upgrade on their rooms one couple were even given a suite. As we already paid for a sea view we were not offered an upgrade but a bottle of wine with our evening meal.......talking about the meals we paid for half board but could not face the food after three nights so ate at the local restaurants in the square.

On a positive note the hotel is clean and when you walk through the doors to the terrace the views are breath taking. This year they have a new Restaurant Manager Deago who is really lovely, he is very polite and friendly as are all the staff who all accept that the hotel need to improve but the owners are not willing to listen.. With a big improvement on the food and entertainment this would be the ideal relaxing retreat for couples We would have no hesitation in returning again if these improvements were put in place.

Room Tip: The rooms with a sea view are lovely, the top floor is best to take in the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 197charlie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Recently returned from a six night stay at the Valparaiso. The setting is beautiful – wonderful views over the sea and coves, and lovely well tended grounds with plenty of greenery. We paid extra for a sea view room and were upgraded to a suite (apparently – it seemed more like a family room as it had a sofa bed, but it was definitely very spacious) whose balcony looked towards the sea rather than the coves and the ugly hulk that is the Hotel America. Very glad of that, especially on our last three evenings when the Valparaiso did have evening entertainment which was very loud. Part of the attraction of the Valparaiso was the lack of entertainment mentioned in previous reviews so maybe this is a new thing for summer 2013.

Rooms (and hotel generally) very good for the price – black out curtains, air con included in the price, basic toiletries in bathroom. On the downside – our towels were only changed once and our sheets not at all. Room cleaned every day but in a fairly cursory manner.

Plenty of choice at the breakfast buffet – rolls/bread, jam, cheese, meats, cooked stuff (didn’t look very appealing), cereals, yoghurt, fruit, pastries, juice, coffee, etc. We had dinner at the hotel on our first night and didn’t go back - €50 for two of us for three courses and a bottle of wine. Only three things to choose from for each course; food was ok but not worth the price, especially given the other options within a 10 min walk.

Staff friendly when you could find them – hard to get served at the pool bar or inside bar, and seemed like they always needed to go to the other one to get change/get what you’d ordered.

Pool is very small but fine for a refreshing dip. Plenty of loungers and enough parasols that you could generally find a spot. We found the two beaches in front of the hotel too full and noisy so instead walked around the cliffs to Cala Murada which was much quieter (€4 for each lounger and sunshade) and had a nice bar/cafe.

My main hesitation about booking this hotel was whether there would be much nearby, particularly in terms of restaurants. Needn’t have worried at all – seven or so places within a ten min walk. Don Pedro very good value - €10 daily menu includes three courses and half a bottle of (nice) house wine. Halali a bit more upmarket but extremely slow service and dishes were just too big - €50 for two of us including wine. Had thought to try Sol y Vida but mains at €25 each put us off!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms will be noisier - entertainment at this and other hotels can carry on till midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London_UK_member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located at a great spot overlooking the bay. The staff is friendly, and the room was nice and clean. The pool area is nice, and you could buy refreshments in the pool bar, although it was intermittently staffed. Odd thing, they were running out of ice cream and seemed not to attempt to replenish it. Breakfast was good. Supposedly they have a good restaurant here as well, but they messed up the first night so we didn't try that again. They started giving us the wrong food, then not giving us our drinks, then making us wait for one hour before we left without eating the main course.

We chose this hotel to get a quiet vacation, which it mostly was, but the karaoke and music from across the bay carries over making it noisy in the evening to about midnight. The wifi is a bit pricy, and unfortunately locked to only one device.

The entire area seems like German territory, not a bad word about Germans but it gets annoying over time when people automatically speaks to you in German. The beach closest to the hotel is less crowded, but unfortunately the wind brought plastic and garbage so the northern beach was nicer. There is not much to do around the hotel, but cross the beaches to Cales de Mallorca and you'll find a nice centre with restaurants and activities.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ballhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Stayed here for a week in September 2012 with my husband and my parents. The rooms are very basic but clean. The hotel could do with a freshening up, the interior is a bit sad and outdated but OK.
However, the staff is wonderful and the food is just great, best buffé I've had on Mallorca considering what we paid for halfboard , 8 E per person per day.
There are plenty of sun loungers on the hotel grounds to go around, and they are free of charge and in very close proximity to the beach. You do not really need to spend money on renting sun beds at the beach, just take a very short stroll down to the beach from your hotel sun bed if you fancy a swim.
I do not remember our room numbers now, but we stayed on the top floor, and from there the sea-view was fantastic!
The beach is OK, but the sea at Can Pastilla is not as calm as for exemple in Alcudia, and unhappily a man drowned in the sea in front of the hotel during our week at the hotel. We later learned from "our" taxi-driver that the waters at Can Pastilla are a bit more treacherous than in some other locations on Mallorca, but that does not mean that it is unsafe, just that you need to be a bit careful, but you always should be in the sea, like not swim straight out from the beach for exemple, but rather alongside it. If you should happen to find yourself in a situation where you are unable to swim ashore,just follow the streams and slowly drift sideways with the flow until you reach the beach.
Air-condition works fine but is only on limited hours during the night when it is the coolest outside, not that it is cold outside then, but the temperature hits it's lows then during a 24-hour span.
The staff at the hotel is wonderful, very nice and helpful, they get a top grade! If you do not wish to go halfboard at this hotel I do believe do not have any self-catering apartments, there are many restaurants in Can Pastilla and close to the hotel too. I do not know if half-board's only 8 E pp/per day this year as well.All in all I think the hotel is a bargain for the budget-minded traveller, and I particularly recommend the rooms with sea-view and the buffé!

Room Tip: Go for the rooms on the top fllor closest to the water, they have wonderful sea-views. I think they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greasygert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Visited the hotel twice (in 2011 and 2012), Very quiet and relaxing place, nice beaches (Cala Domingos Petits, Cala Domingos Grans and Cala Murada) are within 1-3 minutes. Cala d'Or is 10 mins by car if you need a dinner with a bit of a whoop-de-do. Rooms are clean with nice seaview. Breakfast ok, dinner mediocre (we would have only booked B&B but it was not possible). Staff is always friendly and helpful. The lady running the restaurant and the pool bar is occasionally a bit grumpy but a few spanish (or even better mallorquin) words will do the trick. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Seaview is wonderful, rooms on the seaside are nice and shady practically all day except the early m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GABOR V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

great for peace and quite second time here in a year this time stayed at the back of hotel which is great if you like the sun which sets at the back of hotel

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daveandliz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Murada
0.4 mi away
Palia Maria Eugenia Hotel
Palia Maria Eugenia Hotel
#3 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
35.8 mi away
GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA
GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA
#20 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Globales America
Hotel Globales America
#5 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Blau Punta Reina Resort
Blau Punta Reina Resort
#6 of 11 in Porto Cristo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol Calas de Mallorca
Sol Calas de Mallorca
#2 of 13 in Calas de Majorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel JS Cape Colom
Hotel JS Cape Colom
#2 of 7 in Porto Colom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valparaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valparaiso

Property: Hotel Valparaiso
Address: Calle Arago 28, 07688 Cala Murada, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Murada
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cala Murada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Valparaiso 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Valparaiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valparaiso Cala Murada Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing