We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to the airport and easy transportation to Bilbao.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Derio
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Hotel is small but very convenient if you take early flights from Bilbao airport . Staff is excellent.Has a shuttle that will take you to the airport almost on demand. At the airport you can take the Bizkaibus into Bilbao (leaves every 30 minutes) and you will be close to the Guggenheim in 15 minutes for less than 5 euros round trip .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 39piloto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBILBAO, Director de Recepción at Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear 39piloto,

Thank you very much for your comment about our hotel. It is good to know that our guests like our facilities even though we are not a city centre hotel. As you could see, getting there is very cheap and easy from here.

We hope to see you in a near future.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 624 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Hello everybody..
Generally in my travels I choose some hotels nearby the airports of course it depends by the flight schedules, unfortunately most of the hotels that located nearby the airports are not suitable as I prefer..
To my surprise the Holiday Inn in Bilbao airport was extraordinary!!!
The hotel was clean… the price was also fair enough and the breakfast was rich.
Only one comment… the bed was not comfortable as it should be … maybe it is good in order to wake up on time..:)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmoorSaleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBILBAO, Front Office Manager at Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear AmoorSaleh,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a comment about our hotel in TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that we were capable of surprise you and make your stay better than you expected. We take note about the mattress in the room and our apologies for not finding it as confortable as it should be.

We hope you could stay with us in a near future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The hotel has a shuttle bus to the airport from 5.45 am in the morning till 11pm.
The breakfast is OK, Goldcar rental cars is just on the parking lot of the hotel, so if you are able to rent a goldcar ,return is perfect. the airport is small so any other rental company is fine it takes me 45 min. for the whole procedure. The gas station at the airport is closing at 8 pm. So if you have to return the car full keep it in mind.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeE66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBILBAO, Director de Recepción at Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear MikeE66

Thank you very much for taking your time and write a review about your stay in our hotel.

We appreciate your words and we will keep working in the same way to make all your stays better than the earlier one.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I stayed here for one night as it was close to the airport and I had an early flight home the next morning. Initial impressions were very good, the entrance lobby is spacious and clean, there is a bar with a large seating area just inside and the reception staff were extremely polite, friendly and helpful. My room was located on the second floor and was fairly large and very clean. The second floor is actually the designated smoking floor but you could not tell as there was no smell of smoke in the corridors. The bathroom was large and clean with a bath and shower facilities. The bed was very comfortable with a choice of hard and soft pillows. There was an adjoining restaurant which I believe is not operated by the hotel and despite being a bit pricey was actually very nice, I recommend the anchovy and blue cheese salad starter, it was delicious.
The hotel operated a free shuttle bus service to the airport, it was prompt and the driver was friendly and helpful. Overall as a business customer there is nothing to complain about, I would happily use this hotel again should the need arise.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBILBAO, Director de Recepción at Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Dan P

Thank you very much for your kind words left here in TripAdvisor.

We are very glad to know that we exceeded your expectations about our hotel, that is our goal for all of our new guests.

We hope you could enjoy our facilities in a near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

When you chose an airport hotel, you usually do not plan to spend more than a night here.
For this purpose this hotel is a good choice, since it provides a free transportation service every 10 to 15 minutes to the airport: driving time 5 minutes.

The hotel is a typical business hotel, no special problems, no fancy extras.
The reception desk is very friendly , but you have to carry your luggage yourself to your room.
At least the elevators are working. The rooms are ok, clean and you will find what you need for a night. The choice of amenities is small, no conditioner, no body lotion.

Since there are not so many flights from Bilbao during the night, it is possible to sleep as long there is no party going on in the parking lot.

The breakfast is included , and the buffet is quite ok.

WIFI is free.

I payed €64,80 for one night which is a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JunM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBILBAO, Director de Recepción at Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear JunM59

Thank you very much for your review about the hotel.

The hotel works everyday to offer the best services we can for a 3* hotel and we really appreciate you enjoyed your stay. Services like free airport shuttle make us convenient for traveller from/to the airport and high speed wifi available for an extra cost make us a good choice for busines travellers.

We hope you could visit us again in a future occasion.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here for one night, got upgraded as IHG gold member and free wifi, otherwise would have had to pay. staff friendly good selection at breakfast. approx 7 euros in a taxi from the airport. room clean and bathroom very modern, comfortable bed. Only negative was the aircon which was a little noisy. There is also a restaurant attached to the hotel which serves good food!

Room Tip: I was in room 306, which was a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyphersurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBILBAO, Director de Recepción at Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Cyphersurfer

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about the hotel here in TripAdvisor.

As a Gold member of IHG Rewards Club and a loyal guest of the group hotels we appreciate your kind words about the staff and our breakfast.

We hope you stay with us in a near future and could enjoy the rest of our services such as airport shuttle free of cost for the hotel guests.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I had selected this hotel due to excellent ratings and comments on trip advisor, and was not disappointed. While getting there using a GPS was a bit tricky (FYI you might want to get actually coordinates, because the location "doesn't exist" in GPS due to it being not an actual street), once we arrived everything was smooth sailing. The staff were friendly and welcoming, and spoke flawless English. They were more than happy to help with a bunch of questions we had about stuff, including helping us contact our hire car company to change drop off location, drawing us a map of where we could go in town to by new luggage, and providing extra pillows. There was free car parking directly at the front door, a free shuttle to the airport (from where you could get a direct bus into town). The room was spacious, the beds comfy. Good breakfast which was available early - excellent as we had an early flight. Literally 5 mins from airport. Pay per view movies. Add to that that the meal we had in the on site restaurant was affordable and one of the nicest meals we'd eaten during our 2 weeks in Spain, and you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBILBAO, Director de Recepción at Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Dear ClareAus

Thank you very much for such a good review about your recent stay in our hotel. We are very glad to know that our guests find all of our services appropriate to their interests.

We hope you could visit us in a future trip to the country.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Derio
0.0 mi away
Hotel New Bilbao Airport
2.3 mi away
Loiu Hotel
Loiu Hotel
#1 of 1 in Loiu
156 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Seminario Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Barcelo Bilbao Nervion
4.2 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Gran Bilbao
3.6 mi away
Occidental Bilbao
Occidental Bilbao
#16 of 42 in Bilbao
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao

Address: Zarandoa Kalea 5 | (junto al aeropuerto de Bilbao), 48160 Derio, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Derio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Derio
Price Range: £71 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao, 500mts from Bilbao Airport, with transfer (from 05:30 to 23:30), breakfast included, free wi-fi, parking for guests. Brand new rooms, confortable beds, flat tv, envigorating power shower. 5 Minutes away from the airport, no noise at all. Bilbao downtown 10 minutes away by car, beach within 15 minutes by car. Holiday Inn Express Bilbao, enjoy it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao Spain/Derio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing