We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The closest hotel to Bilbao's aiport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Derio
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
300 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“The closest hotel to Bilbao's aiport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

This nice hotel is located close to Bilbao airport, less than 3 minutes by car, right off the highway and about 15 minutes by car from the center of town.

Everything was smooth and easy, from check-in to check-out. Our family room was big enough for a couple with 2 children. It was clean and Wi-Fi was provided by free when we showed our fidelity card. Breakfast was more than correct. Parking facilities are available by free.
There is something that might be corrected: you can turn to the left side when you come from the highway and you are obliged to drive until the next turn round to get back to the hotel. Something to raise with the local authorities?
I was impressed by the screen showing flights arrivals and departures at the check-in of the hotel as well as by the hotel airport shuttle which runs every 15 minutes.

Room Tip: Family rooms can host up to 2 children (1 infant & 1 baby).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astur67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBILBAO, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Javier,

Thanks for your kind comments about our hotel and staff. It always very helpful to listen such as good reviews coming for a member of IHG Rewards Club.

We hope to seeyou again with your family in a close future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    295
    111
    14
    6
See reviews for
143
180
36
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
141 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 668 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Hotel is small but very convenient if you take early flights from Bilbao airport . Staff is excellent.Has a shuttle that will take you to the airport almost on demand. At the airport you can take the Bizkaibus into Bilbao (leaves every 30 minutes) and you will be close to the Guggenheim in 15 minutes for less than 5 euros round trip .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 39piloto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBILBAO, Director de Recepción at Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear 39piloto,

Thank you very much for your comment about our hotel. It is good to know that our guests like our facilities even though we are not a city centre hotel. As you could see, getting there is very cheap and easy from here.

We hope to see you in a near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Hello everybody..
Generally in my travels I choose some hotels nearby the airports of course it depends by the flight schedules, unfortunately most of the hotels that located nearby the airports are not suitable as I prefer..
To my surprise the Holiday Inn in Bilbao airport was extraordinary!!!
The hotel was clean… the price was also fair enough and the breakfast was rich.
Only one comment… the bed was not comfortable as it should be … maybe it is good in order to wake up on time..:)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmoorSaleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBILBAO, Front Office Manager at Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear AmoorSaleh,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a comment about our hotel in TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that we were capable of surprise you and make your stay better than you expected. We take note about the mattress in the room and our apologies for not finding it as confortable as it should be.

We hope you could stay with us in a near future.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

The hotel has a shuttle bus to the airport from 5.45 am in the morning till 11pm.
The breakfast is OK, Goldcar rental cars is just on the parking lot of the hotel, so if you are able to rent a goldcar ,return is perfect. the airport is small so any other rental company is fine it takes me 45 min. for the whole procedure. The gas station at the airport is closing at 8 pm. So if you have to return the car full keep it in mind.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeE66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBILBAO, Director de Recepción at Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear MikeE66

Thank you very much for taking your time and write a review about your stay in our hotel.

We appreciate your words and we will keep working in the same way to make all your stays better than the earlier one.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I stayed here for one night as it was close to the airport and I had an early flight home the next morning. Initial impressions were very good, the entrance lobby is spacious and clean, there is a bar with a large seating area just inside and the reception staff were extremely polite, friendly and helpful. My room was located on the second floor and was fairly large and very clean. The second floor is actually the designated smoking floor but you could not tell as there was no smell of smoke in the corridors. The bathroom was large and clean with a bath and shower facilities. The bed was very comfortable with a choice of hard and soft pillows. There was an adjoining restaurant which I believe is not operated by the hotel and despite being a bit pricey was actually very nice, I recommend the anchovy and blue cheese salad starter, it was delicious.
The hotel operated a free shuttle bus service to the airport, it was prompt and the driver was friendly and helpful. Overall as a business customer there is nothing to complain about, I would happily use this hotel again should the need arise.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBILBAO, Director de Recepción at Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Dan P

Thank you very much for your kind words left here in TripAdvisor.

We are very glad to know that we exceeded your expectations about our hotel, that is our goal for all of our new guests.

We hope you could enjoy our facilities in a near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
189 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

When you chose an airport hotel, you usually do not plan to spend more than a night here.
For this purpose this hotel is a good choice, since it provides a free transportation service every 10 to 15 minutes to the airport: driving time 5 minutes.

The hotel is a typical business hotel, no special problems, no fancy extras.
The reception desk is very friendly , but you have to carry your luggage yourself to your room.
At least the elevators are working. The rooms are ok, clean and you will find what you need for a night. The choice of amenities is small, no conditioner, no body lotion.

Since there are not so many flights from Bilbao during the night, it is possible to sleep as long there is no party going on in the parking lot.

The breakfast is included , and the buffet is quite ok.

WIFI is free.

I payed €64,80 for one night which is a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JunM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBILBAO, Director de Recepción at Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear JunM59

Thank you very much for your review about the hotel.

The hotel works everyday to offer the best services we can for a 3* hotel and we really appreciate you enjoyed your stay. Services like free airport shuttle make us convenient for traveller from/to the airport and high speed wifi available for an extra cost make us a good choice for busines travellers.

We hope you could visit us again in a future occasion.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton on Sea
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here for one night, got upgraded as IHG gold member and free wifi, otherwise would have had to pay. staff friendly good selection at breakfast. approx 7 euros in a taxi from the airport. room clean and bathroom very modern, comfortable bed. Only negative was the aircon which was a little noisy. There is also a restaurant attached to the hotel which serves good food!

Room Tip: I was in room 306, which was a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyphersurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBILBAO, Director de Recepción at Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Cyphersurfer

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about the hotel here in TripAdvisor.

As a Gold member of IHG Rewards Club and a loyal guest of the group hotels we appreciate your kind words about the staff and our breakfast.

We hope you stay with us in a near future and could enjoy the rest of our services such as airport shuttle free of cost for the hotel guests.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Derio
Abando
Hotel Artetxe
Hotel Artetxe
#4 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Occidental Bilbao
#24 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loiu Hotel
#1 of 1 in Loiu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao

Property: Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao
Address: Zarandoa Kalea 5 | (junto al aeropuerto de Bilbao), 48160 Derio, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Derio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Derio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao, 500mts from Bilbao Airport, with transfer (from 05:30 to 23:30), breakfast included, free wi-fi, parking for guests. Brand new rooms, confortable beds, flat tv, envigorating power shower. 5 Minutes away from the airport, no noise at all. Bilbao downtown 10 minutes away by car, beach within 15 minutes by car. Holiday Inn Express Bilbao, enjoy it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao Spain/Derio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing