We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay. Very poor restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Derio
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good place to stay. Very poor restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were very pleased with the staff and the clean room.. The front desk staff were excellent.
The big downside was the food service in the adjoining restaurant. The waitress could not describe the menu offerings, the food was cold, and the chicken was undercooked.
We would definitely stay here again, but would eat outside the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBILBAO, Front Office Manager at Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Ernie C,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our hotel as well as for your kind words about our services and staff.

We are very sorry to know that you got a poor service from the restaurant next door. We will pass on your impressions to the restaurant managers.

We hope to see you again in the hotel!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    300
    114
    14
    6
See reviews for
144
185
36
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here before an early flight from Bilbao. Booked in to the hotel as it's airport adjacent and HIEX are all the same, so you know you'll get a good night's sleep.

Arrived to a very warm welcome from the reception, the receptionist was happy to help in any way. Checked in efficiently and went up to the room. The room was a standard Holiday Inn Express room (though in a much more pleasant blue compared with the red I'm used to). Also happy to see English TV channels. The internet was five euros, but was fast enough.

The restaurant was a separate business, the salad was nice, but the salmon en croute was very average.

Had a short but comfortable sleep in the comfortable bed and the shower was powerful, and woke me up at half 5. Check out was efficient, and very appreciative of the early breakfast, as it had everything I wanted. Before hopping in the shuttle bus for the 5 minute journey to the airport.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who has an early departure or late arrival as the room was comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMed_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBILBAO, Front Office Manager at Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear DMed_12,

Thank you very much for your positive review about your last stay in our hotel! We are really happy to know you enjoyed all the services we have. Our staff appreciate your kind words.

We hope to see you soon!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prudhoe
Level Contributor
160 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

A short shuttle (free) ride from the Airport to the hotel. Had to wait 45 minutes for the shuttle so that spoilt it a bit and then the bar was closed when I got there. There is a vending machine this was the only place to get something to drink.
Check in was swift but no free internet. Room was fantastic, really clean and fresh.
Breakfast was good, shuttle back to the Airport was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimm_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBILBAO, Front Office Manager at Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Clive B,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about the hotel here in Trip Advisor.

Our apologies for the waiting time regarding the shuttle bus. In case of any kind of delay guests can call the hotel and we will send the shuttle bus inmediately to the airport.

We hope to see you again in a near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Good clean large twin room, bathroom large and clean, 5 euro for daily wifi, room with tea/coffee, TV, air con, all other usual stuff.
Express hotel but does have a restaurant and bar.
Staff very good.
2 mins on hotel shuttle bus from Bilbao airport.
Would I return YES.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G3VVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBILBAO, Front Office Manager at Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear G3WW,

Thank you for taking your time to write a revies about the hotel.

We are glad to know you enjoyed all the services we offer.

We hope to see you soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Hotel does not seem to care about its own address. Even the address listed in tripadvisor is wrong. The right address from the website is:

Holiday Inn Express Bilbao
Zarandao Kalea 5 Derio Derio, 48160 Spain

It is Zarandao instead of Zarandoa.
The city is Derio and not Bilbao as the name of the Hotel
(In Hotwire, the listing is wrong including the city)

The wrong address took me to a strange place in Bilbao, 10 KM from the Hotel and made me spent an International mobile roaming call, a few tolls and 30 minutes looking in the wrong place. The interesting thing is; the wrong address is everywhere, in Hotwire, Expedia, Tripadvisor, even in the property's elevator. The Hotel does not seem to care having the wrong address published everywhere. It seems to me that I'm not the first or the last to go to the wrong place. After 10 hours traveling from Portugal it really made me angry to spent 30 minutes lost in the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flavio Eduardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBILBAO, Front Office Manager at Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Flavio Eduardo G,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review here in Trip Advisor.

We apologize for all the inconveniences you had due to the address of the hotel. The correct address is the one we have in our website and every travel webpage must take the address from our place. We will contact them again to see why they are having a wrong address when they should have the correct one.

Once again, sorry for all the inconveniences.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaffney, South Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here one night before departing flight at Bilbao's airport. This hotel is about 3 minutes from airport and they offer a shuttle right to the airport drop off. Check in and out was very easy and the staff here were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very clean and had nice bathrooms with granite and tile. Beds were comfortable and rooms were quiet which made for a very restful night before a day of travel. Was impressed with the breakfast buffet. Will definitely stay here again when traveling through Bilbao.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank memullinax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBILBAO, Front Office Manager at Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear memullinax,

Thank you very much for your review! We are glad to know you enjoyed our hotel and its location by the airport.

We will see you then in a near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Holiday Inn have got all the branding right here. Its exactly what you expect from the chain.clean tidy, international tv, and close to the airport.
It modern and pretty soulless compared to many of the lical hotels but its ideally located for the airport and its exactly what is expected fton HI Ex.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyAsbestos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXBILBAO, Front Office Manager at Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear JohnnyAsbestos,

Thank you very much for your review! We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay in our HIEX Bilbao hotel.

We hope to see you soon!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Derio
Occidental Bilbao
#23 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Abando
Hotel Artetxe
Hotel Artetxe
#4 of 43 in Bilbao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loiu Hotel
#1 of 1 in Loiu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao

Property: Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao
Address: Zarandoa Kalea 5 | (junto al aeropuerto de Bilbao), 48160 Derio, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Derio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Derio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao, 500mts from Bilbao Airport, with transfer (from 05:30 to 23:30), breakfast included, free wi-fi, parking for guests. Brand new rooms, confortable beds, flat tv, envigorating power shower. 5 Minutes away from the airport, no noise at all. Bilbao downtown 10 minutes away by car, beach within 15 minutes by car. Holiday Inn Express Bilbao, enjoy it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Holiday Inn Express Bilbao Spain/Derio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing