We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary nature and culture combined with extraordinary friendship”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Etxegana
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Zeanuri
Certificate of Excellence
bazel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Extraordinary nature and culture combined with extraordinary friendship”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

dear fellow traveller
if you want to escape from the rat race for some time and you want to take some rest, the hotel Etxegana is the place to be. If you want to be enchanted by the astonishing Basque countryside, the view from Etxegana at the Gorbea natural park is uncomparable. If you prefer the cosiness of a family run hotel with a touch of the simpathetic Spanish chaos, above the anonimous perfection of a five star hotel, Etxegana is your place to be. If you are in for the superb Basque kitchen with a local flavour and if you want to discover the exquisite Spanish wines, Etxegana is the place to be. If you want to explore Bilbao, Vitoria, San Sebastian, Pamplona and the richness of the Basque and Spanish culture, Etxegana will be your strategic and restfull headquarters.If you prefer the freedom of the green nature full of pure mountain air above the hot and crowdy costas, you will welcome the famous soft Basque rain from time to time. If you want to dream away at night under the black velvet Basque sky decorated with thousands of stars like twinkling diamonds, Etxegana is your place to be.
Once again, the land of the Basques and the hotel Etxegana have shown us their trust and friendship, for the 5th time in a row now. And there is no doubt in our mind and heart that we will be back.
Yes, of course there is room for improvement. Like with all of us, don't we? But Etxagana is a wonderfull place, full of friendship, with great food and wine, in the very centre of an extraordinary nature. You are very welcome at the hotel Etxegana and in Euskal Herria.

Room Tip: Just call the hotel directly and give them your preferences. They will assist you finding your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vosBazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    53
    14
    9
    6
See reviews for
42
182
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We were a part of the wedding party who stayed at the hotel the end of April. Actually my husband and I photographed the wedding. Luis and his family couldn't be nicer. They bent over backwards to help us all out. It was a four day event with wonderful food and drink for everyone. They would stay up late to wait on the guests and were back up early to serve breakfast. We slept in late and left later then everyone on the last day, yet they made sure we still had breakfast before we made our way out. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable with unbelievable views. Wish we could have stayed longer. I hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamp13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Spent two nights here before getting the ferry back to the UK and despite the problems we had finding it we fell in love with the place . The location is stunning and having a beer on the terrace with that view will stay with us a long time .The food was excellent .....from the abundant breakfast to the set dinner . The decor , with its Indonesian influence , is fabulous and everywhere you look you notice something quirky which prompts another 'Wow ! '
The family who run the hotel have to be some of the friendliest and most helpful people we have come across - thanks for your advice , thanks for the way you welcomed our golden retriever and thanks for getting up very , very early to see that we had a good breakfast before setting off . Highly recommended .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hylas_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This place was amazing and totally worth the travel time of 15 hours to get there. The hotel would work great as a couples get away or as we used it for an entire wedding party. The staff treats you as if you are family. They went out of their way to make sure my hubby and I had vegan food (which is not the easiest thing to do in Spain) for EVERY meal. The rooms are beautiful, clean and well kept. They has several rooms on the main floor in which you could hang out in. They had a huge collection of books and board games to keep you entertained indoors. They has a very well stocked bar and the owner makes some of the best drinks.
We did not have a single complaint except that they would not let me take one of their dogs home :(
We will be returning!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monellelewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed here on the last night of a bike tour of northern Spain in Easter 2011 and absolutely loved it. It's well off the beaten path so the level of luxury was a lovely surprise and the owners were brilliant hosts. Sitting under the extraordinary (and a bit incongruous!) carved wooden roof of the pavillion watching the sunset with a beautiful bottle of rosado was a particular highlight - what a view!

Best (and most expensive - but you only need one) G&T ever, a fantastic meal and hosts that could not do enough for you. Beautiful room, excellent facilities and spectacular views. A real treat, for bikers or anyone else.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We spent one night in this hotel on our way to the South of Spain and we were very satisfied: more than nicely sized rooms, spotlessly clean, above average facilities. The feeling of a personalised touch everywhere, nothing to do with the hotel chains. Very good quality food and outstanding wine selection - the owner is both passionate and knowledgeable. All staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wolfpier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

My wife and I and our Labarador Harry spent only one night at this hotel recently en route to Bilbao. We were all made to feel very welcome including Harry who was also able to enjoy some free running in the attached forest.

The food and service was equally excellent as was the choice of wines. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was well appointed, clean and worked very well. No great long delays for hot water here.

The hotel is ideally suited to catch the morning ferry to Portsmouth or as a first stop when arriving late in Bilbao. The owner even got up an hour early to serve our breakfast.

We will certainly be back and a 2 or 3 day stop would be worth your time.

Room Tip: make sure you know how to find the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank number57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zeanuri
1.7 mi away
Ellauri Hotela
Ellauri Hotela
#2 of 2 in Zeanuri
150 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Balneario Areatza
18.6 mi away
Hotel Palacio Urgoiti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Occidental Bilbao
Occidental Bilbao
#22 of 42 in Bilbao
98 reviews
8.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Durango
Gran Hotel Durango
#1 of 1 in Durango
151 reviews
15.3 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Gran Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Etxegana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Etxegana

Property: Hotel & Spa Etxegana
Address: Ipinaburu 38 | Zeanuri, 48144 Zeanuri, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Zeanuri
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Zeanuri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel & Spa Etxegana 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel & Spa Etxegana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rural Etxegana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing