We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High value / low noise hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Etxegana
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Zeanuri
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“High value / low noise hideaway”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights as a base for visiting Bilbao and Azzurmendi restaurant; loved it. Warm and welcoming staff, some with good English. Comfortable rooms looking out on an enormous, silent mountain cirque (if you ignore the single belled cow). Good food for an extremely reasonable 25 euros. Excellent fine wine list at most reasonable prices, plus range of single malt whiskies to enjoy in the comfortable guest lounge. Wifi. Free on site parking. Free bike hire. Didn't visit the spa but it looked fine. Owner generously gave a bottle of wine as we left.
All boxes ticked!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lonnielayabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    53
    14
    9
    6
See reviews for
42
181
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I wouldn't recommend Etxegana to anyone! Please do NOT go here. It will take you 20 minutes of the highway to the middle of some paradise valley. There is absolutely no one around you except the super staff. No casino's, shops, or Macdonalds. Just plain nothing-ness and rest. Sooo boooring...

Also, we booked the suite for a ridiculous price of €200,- a night. For this money you get your own terrace overlooking the valley, a big-@ss jacuzzi, a nice 50m2+ room and a big bed. So, that's not really worth the effort.

Furthermore, when you book the Spa, which only has a sauna, steamer, jacuzzi, waterfall, 2 types of showers and some relax-beds, you get to keep it exclusively for yourself! So no other people around where you have to wait for. Where is the fun in that?

Then the food, well, we had some Foie Micuit, Entrecote, local nice wines, and the likes at a staggering €28,- for a 3 course menu.

So my conclusion, please do not ever ever go here. Because I want to be absolutely sure they have a suite when we book again!
And be sure, if you don't take my advice and you go there, NEVER EVER recommend this hotel to your friends. It has to stay our little secret.

Gracias Luis por todo!

Room Tip: Get the suite. End book the spa. And eat in. And get a massage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johan-Distillery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel en enjoyed it very much. Location is really beautiful in the mountains with excellent views. Rooms are good and tasteful. Staff is friendly and making a good effort however most of them don't speak english. It is sometimes complicated to get your question/message clear.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view or a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marèse O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel is a bit off the beaten track to say the least... However make the effort because the reward for your efforts are more than worth it.
A friendly personal welcome and the individual efforts of the staff to ensure your comfort and every need is catered for, will be the reward you experience at this hotel. The view from your bedroom window is utterly stunning! The hotel is a treasure trove of carvings from Indonesia and is calming and relaxing. The food is great and the hospitality and effort to ensure your every requirement is met can only be described as top class. Go on make the effort.. You will not regret one moment of your stay.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms will not feel second class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is a classic example for travelers not to be fooled by the star rating. By all standards this will meet and beat a four star rating.this picturesque small hotel and spa located in zenauri village near bilbao is ideal for travelers who want peace and just want to relax. Of course one can do lots of trekking with the scenic mountains, waterfalls around this area. From bilbao it's about 40 mts drive or 1 hr by bus . One may find it difficult to locate the hotel but once u reach the hotel u will be overawed by the sheer location. Located with a backdrop of forests and mountains, it's one of the top silent hotels in the world. If you don't know only 300 odd hotels fall in this elite list. This hotel also prominently figures in trip advisors top list and logis which is a elite group of premium hotels in Europe. It's compact and very private. It opens up to the beautiful mountain range and u can spend hours admiring the beauty of the place. Lots of trekking opportunities available. Post trekking if you need a good massage, the spa is there to take care of the needs. The wine collection is one of the best I have ever seen in any hotels. Some top classy ones and some real vintage whiskey s more than 100-150 year old are there in Louis s private cellar. It's a great location for weddings , functions. The food is a classical basque cuisine. Some innovative ones, the lemon sherbet is a not to miss one. The hosts are excellent , friendly and staff are extremely warm. Good internet connection, good food, good wine. A hidden gem truly. A word of caution - since the shops are not near by, it's best to get the basic amenities you may need.

Room Tip: Get the basic amenities you may need . Be prepared for extreme silence and quietness. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashok883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We travelled round spain and therefore stayed in lots of hotels but this was my favorite place. The surroundings are stunning and the staff are really nice, especially the owner. He made us feel very welcome and couldn't fault anything. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katyeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mevasseret Zion, Israel
Level Contributor
147 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Words can not describe the place. Once you arrive- you don't want to leave. Luis- the owner and his family- makes this place home for you. They explain about possible trips around, give u maps, sit with u to discuss history of place, wine, art.... The living rooms, sitting areas, huge rooms- all beautifully decorated with nice views of the surroundings. The outside- huge landscape with places to sit, relax and enjoy the nature which is overwhelming and ever changing.
Dinners cooked by chef in this place- are delicious. Upscale restaurant. Big portions and great selection of wines ( Luis has a cellar full with a variety of very old and new wines and alcohol). Actually, we gave up our restaurant reservations in Bilbao to dine again in the hotel.
As many others that have been to Etxegana and return every year- we will be back!
Thank u Luis and family. We love u and thank u for every thing.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Idit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zeanuri
1.7 mi away
Ellauri Hotela
Ellauri Hotela
#2 of 2 in Zeanuri
148 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Balneario Areatza
18.6 mi away
Hotel Palacio Urgoiti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Hotel Gametxo
Hotel Gametxo
#1 of 2 in Ibarrangelu
111 reviews
15.3 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Gran Bilbao
8.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Durango
Gran Hotel Durango
#1 of 1 in Durango
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Etxegana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Etxegana

Property: Hotel & Spa Etxegana
Address: Ipinaburu 38 | Zeanuri, 48144 Zeanuri, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Zeanuri
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Zeanuri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel & Spa Etxegana 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel & Spa Etxegana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rural Etxegana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing